We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as bad as i thought”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel
Ranked #296 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 29 June 2010

came back this morning i was a bit worried about this hotel reading the reviews but our rooms were fine beds nice and clean maids in every day dident eat the breakfast there went to sizzalers fab filled you up for the day hotel not good for disney but for universal 15 mins walk or taxi for 5.00 dollers we went to the parks at night around 5.30 it was cooler and the waiting times for the rides was not as long the mexicans did take over the pool at night never saw them in the day and its only going to get worse there holidays are in a few weeks i was told pizza place over the road was good and the chinese was good was a bit expensive but order one lot will feed two i would go back and hi to everyone we meet clare dave and girls

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetsamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2010

It's cheap, it's handy for Wet and Wild and Universal (get hotel reception staff to phone a taxi for you unless you like walking 15 mins to Universal in 100 degree heat - only $5-$8 each way) it's somewhere to return to at the end of the day to sleep, other than that got nothing good to say about the place.
Overrun with Hispanics who are loud, noisy and take over the swimming pool between 7pm and midnight (even tho' the pool closes at 11pm!) The Hispanic kids play hide and seek up and down all the corridors and scream at each other up the stairwells until the late hours. There must have been numerous complaints about this from families with younger kids. All in all we thought we were Gringo extras in a remake of The Alamo!
Breakfast - don't bother. Go to Sizzlers up from Wet and Wild at have their $3.99 all you can eat breakfast (brilliant choice and friendly waiting staff). This saw us through until our evening meal.
We were out and about all day every day so the obvious down points in this motel didn't affect us that much. Beds a joke - even our 16yr old had backache! Toilet flushed and shower worked okay, we could also hear our neighbours flushing and turning on their showers, so theirs worked as well!! Air conditioning unit noisy, but worked - wouldnt want to be without it really! Reception staff okay, but even they looked exasperated at times!
If you are going to this place to sit round the pool and stay near the accommodation DO NOT BOOK it, if you are wanting a cheap place to stay close to I-Drive, Wet and Wild and Universal it will do the job.
Some handy tips:
I-Ride bus $1.25 flat fare per adult (exact amount) runs from Prime Outlets in the North to Premium Outlets in the South. Personally preferred Prime Outlets (closer) as it seemed to have better layout and bargains. If you're into fishing, hunting, etc visit Festival Bay Mall and take a look at their Outdoor store - it is amazing, everything from flies for fly fishing to motor boats, kayaks, tents, guns, chairs up trees, etc. You got to see this to believe it!
Lynx bus (No 42) to Florida Malls. $2 per adult each way, $1 per 16-18yrs and under 16yrs FREE. Expect to spend best part of a day here as it is amazing. JC Penneys and much more! Brilliant.
Fleamarket up from Denny's on I-Drive not worth a visit - load of old tat!
Walgreen across the road from the motel is good for bottled water, beer, wine, snacks, ciggies, etc. Note that supermarkets do not sell liquor, you need to buy this at a liquor store - nearest one ABC up near Cicis Pizza (I-Ride stop 15)
Wet and Wild - open til 9pm. Go in after 5pm after a hectic day shopping (or whatever) and get in half price. We pre-purchased our 3 park tickets so had unlimited access for 14days. It's easier to get on the rides after 6pm when a lot of folk head home, otherwise the queues are really long. We were never out of this place. Amazing!
Cici's Pizza offers cheap all you can eat pizza, pasta and salad (limited choice) and is canteen style. Only $5.99 per person but it is cheap and cheerful and okay to do once or twice.
China Asian Buffet was good at $10.99 all you can eat and included green mussels, cockles as well as all the usual - great choice and good variety. Friendly staff and never overly busy.
Black Angus Steak House was the best. Beer served in pints and a good choice of different draft beers. Try the Red Angus beer - it was delicious. Waiter service and a bit more more upmarket. The steaks are amazing and the portions ample.
Trien Yien Chinese Restaurant across from the motel is very expensive. We ordered the family menu for 3 persons and paid over the odds for a mediochre meal. Set menu, nothing wildly exciting but nice restaurant inside with good service. Overpriced for what it was though!
Cheapest burgers were at Checkers (crossroads I-Ride stop 15 across from Macdonalds) 2 double cheeseburgers for $3. Good service, nice fast food place.

Now where is my chiropractor's telephone number???

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghGeomcewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

No clocks,bibles, pens, coffee makers, irons. Couldn't find a shuttle that would fit into our time schedule. Not visible from main street, very hard to find. This hotel looks like it isn't very well maintained. Was told that there were waffle makers in the breakfast room, but there was none.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolphinchic39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

have just stayed at the motel for 2 weeks was very worried about staying after reading all the reviews arrived about 4/5pm had to pay $21 resort fee joke or what only good things was that we got the $15 deposit back. we stayed on the fourth floor 423 only had a king size bed and a couch that turned into a bed which we didnt use. room was cleaned everyday towels were rubbish so used our own. air con was fine didnt bother us at all the room didnt smell at all which was a nice surprise as it seems alot of people had problems with that. breakfast was toast, ceral and juice and coffee. if you got in early enough it was ok one morning we went down there was a football team in the breakfast room so couldnt have anything. the breakfast room needs to be bigger, pool is alright but lots of bugs and leaves in it. motel is in a good location as it only took us 15 mins to walk to universal and you could get the free shuttle bus which twice didnt show up or was late one morning the motel had to pay for a taxi for us to get to disney. if you missed the 6pm shuttle home the next one was 8:45pm which was always packed some days they sent a really small bus or mini van to do serveral hotels which was rubbish as some days they missed some hotels out. the motel is in a good location on i drive and would recommmend getting the i trolley which is really good. staff were not helpful unless you spoke spanish as there were a lot of mexicans staying there . everywhere in the motel needs updating wouldnt stay here again going to stay in a disney resort. only positive was that we didnt pay much about £200 for both of us to stay

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairebear30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

I paid just £449 pp for 7 days in Orlando including flight & a car so at an absolute maximum (looking at flight costs at the time) I reckon this hotel cost me about £42 per room per night (there were 3 of us including my 3 year old daughter) including breakfast and free parking.

The room was basic and I guess a little tired but was cleaned everyday with ice cold aircon, fridge & 2 huge beds! The pool was small but clean, quiet and refreshing with a small pool bar with a well priced happy hour. The staff were friendly and polite when you had a query. Breakfast was very basic but had toast, jam, cereal, coffee and orange juice. But hey, if you're really hungry why don't you walk 2 minutes and have an 'all you can eat' Ponderosa breakfast for $3,99? Then of course there is the location which was just off International Drive opposite Wet n Wild and 2 minutes from Universal Studios. If you were heading further afield the hotel was serviced by FREE shuttles to all the major parks.

Frankly I can't understand all the moans on this page. What were you expecting at the price? I had a great holiday in Orlando and this hotel kept me cool, dry, fed and watered at a rock bottom price. If you go to Orlando to sit in your room don't book this hotel. If you go to Orlando to enjoy it's endless attractions, restaurants and bars this hotel will do you just fine as a base.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smull_n_didit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Location, location, location. This is the main reason this hotel stays in business. We
had the best vacation in our 8 days in Orlando, and the hotel room was the only thing
that did not work out for us. The price was low, and we got what we paid for.

We were recommended this hotel by a travel agent based in Orlando, who told us that the Days Inn we were looking at was disgusting. We did not expect the Ritz, but the photos on the hotel website are at least 15 years old and taken from the best possible angles. It is in a great location, it took us 21 minutes to walk to Universal, and it is a beautiful walk with wide sidewalks the whole way.

At check in we were assigned room 211. When we entered, the carpets had wet spots, and smelled like urine. The front desk immediately gave us a key for a room on the third
floor. This room did not smell, and we did stay in it. It was not clean enough for our
standards, so we purchased cleaner and paper towels and spent an hour cleaning the
bathroom and vanity ourselves. Toilet ran- had to giggle the handle every time to stop
water flow. Shower was moldy, pipes were loud, and pressure/temperature would vary
greatly during your shower.

The bed sheets are too small for the bed, and completely threadbare. At least they seemed clean. The bath towels were rough and the size of large hand towels. We had 5 people in the room, but most days got only 3 towels and had to ask for more at the front desk. Rugs were nasty- we kept on our shoes in the room. Only one door key was assigned, and the plastic key would get stuck in the lock every time.

On the positive side, the kids loved the pool, and it was cleaned daily. The pool area is
a bit old, and the chairs are cheap, but the pool bar is adequate and serves decent food.
You can use your laptop near the pool. Pool towels are available at the front desk if you
ask for them- but they do not let anyone know this, and most of the other families were
using their bath towels.

Breakfast was spartan, none of the fruit or muffins they show on the website. Bread for
toast, milk, OJ, and frosted flakes were the only options for the kids. Coffee was
TERRIBLE. There is an IHOP within a block and about 20 breakfast buffets within 1 mile-
use them if you want a good breakfast.

From this location you can walk to so many restaurants, and can catch a bus to anywhere in Orlando. Try eating @ O'Charleys on Turkey Lake Road (1 mile away). They had great food and prices. Lots of great spots for ice cream nearby.

Our family is planning to return to Orlando in 2011 and have found much, much nicer
properties for only a slightly higher cost. Look at the trip advisor ratings and try to
find a higher rated hotel. It's worth the extra cost, especially with the low rates that
hotels charge in Orlando.

Good luck, and enjoy your time in this spectacular city!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaddyWhalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We have just returned from this hotel and was shocked at the quality and standards, although we didn't expect Hilton quality for what we paid the minimum we expected was clean, comfortable and safe especially when you have children
and in my opinion this hotel offered none of the above.
To cut a long story short the rooms are in desperate need of a refurb with loose taps, sockets away from the Walls and an aircon unit that makes the room feel damp as the hotel have a notice on top of the unit asking you to leave the aircon on at all times to help with humidity
on top of that the free breakfast is a nightmare as you will be queing for approx 20 mins to make your toast or you can have serial in a polystyrene cup, the breakfast room is far too small and ill equiped to cope with the ammount of guests
we took this hotel thinking the free transfers to the parks would be a godsend but it's actually a waste of time as the driver picks you up on a very old rickety bus and then stops at a further 6-7 hotels and cramms people onuntil it's very awkward and uncomfortable let alone the possibility of standing 40-45 mins before you get to the parks. Another downside of the transfer bus is the time it returns the last two are at 8.45-10.00 the last one at 10pm sounds great however the hotel will advise the 8.45 as you probably won't get on the 10pm as it will be full, leaving to find your own way home.
This next reason is the main reason why I would never return or recommend anyone stay there.
Just after a week my wife came out in bite marks on various parts of her body, we originally put this down to the bugs that were outside during the evenings etc , however one evening we were laying on the bed watching tv when my wife turned over from laying on her side and there was a trail of bites down her side and leg, as a test I asked to lay with the backs of her legs against the mattress and after a few mins sure enough one or two bites appeared.
The following day I also came out in them and so did my six year old son so we had bed bugs in our room, before going in to see the manager I googled bed bugs in continental plaza and up it cone with reviews with similar stories (wish I had looked before booking)
I seen a lady at the front desk who was quick to give us another room, this room still had loose taps and poor conditions but seemed dryer and as we only had a few days left we decided to take this room.
The following day I went to see the manager and he was completely unphased and to be honest didn't seem to grasp the seriousness of the situation.
He blames it on the layout of the hotel as you don't have to go through the lobby to get to your room, so they can't control what guests do with the rooms and even give me an example of a recent guest that even though was told no pets was keeping her dog in her room.
I also reported it to the first choice rep that said in there the 3mths she had been there no complaints of this kind had arisen which I seriously doubt as there were numerous guests complaining daily of different things.
To sum it up in my opinion it's no better than a bedsit that is totally unsuited for families.
I am going to write a letter of complaint to first choice as I think they should stop recommending this to famillies until it's refurbed and raises it's standards.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Heart of I-Drive
#291 of 340 in Orlando
828 reviews
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#243 of 340 in Orlando
1,517 reviews
Florida Center
Floridian Express
Floridian Express
#293 of 340 in Orlando
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Orlando
#199 of 340 in Orlando
425 reviews
Econo Lodge International
#222 of 340 in Orlando
685 reviews
Rosen Inn
#103 of 340 in Orlando
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel

Address: 6825 Visitors Cir, Orlando, FL 32819-8227 (Formerly Riande Continental Plaza)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range: £25 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi located only in lobby and pool areas. Free shuttle to theme parks Close to several attractions and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Plaza Orlando
Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing