We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orlando's Sunshine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orlando's Sunshine Resort
Ranked #196 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Manquin, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We can't really speak much about the resort itself except to say the rooms were very spacious, clean, quiet and well-equipped. The staff was extremely helpful in helping us out with some local attractions, tickets, etc. and were not obligated to do so. It is ideally located just off of International Blvd. and near a trolley stop. We had to drive to Disney and Universal but they were not that far.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    84
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
120
27
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Park, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here on a family trip just last weekend. It's not nearly as nice as The Fountains , but I found it to be clean and comfy. The pool area was very nice and clean -complete with bbq grills, loungers to sun on, and tables. There is also a nice hot tub. The only complaint I had was with the parking. My husband and I agreed that there seemed to be very tight parking lots and not much space at all. Sunshine Resort is very conveniently located next to The Fun Spot as well (which my kids very much enjoyed !It is within walking distance from a Buger Kind and Red Lobster,McDonalds and Sonic are right around the corner. Also not far at all from the Bass Pro Shops ! I would certainly recommend this place to a friend & stay there again as well !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The neighborhood and parking situation is terrible. The parking spots are not big enough for a minivan and fill fast. The luggage carts are broke. The neighborhood is the slums. Walmart takes about 20 minutes to find. WDW is 40 minutes away. The pool is like those found in your back yard. They rent rooms nightly for less than most maintenance fees. You can do much better! This is the second Blue/Green and both are subpar. The staff is friendly and the rooms are nice. Nothing else positive comes to mind.

Room Tip: Find another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelor97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We booked this trip back in December (2011) and I read many of the reviews and wasn't sure what to expect when we arrived. From the time that we checked in until the time we checked out we were treated very nice by all of the staff. The room was large, we had 1 king, 2 double and a sofa that pulled out into a double bed (we didn't use this). There was a full sized kitchen with full sized appliances and enough dishes for 8 people. With a washer and dryer, we could have packed less. While the pool is not large, it was clean and well kept. We (I) really like the screened in balcony with celing fan, great to have your coffee there each morning as the others were getting ready. This is very close to Universal, but if you don't ride roller coasters, don't go. We did 1 day at Universal, 4 days at the Disney Parks and a day shopping at the Outlet Center that is also very close. They do have events scheduled like a Pool Party on Sunday (ours was rescheduled due to Tropical Storm Debby). The only drawbacks are no free internet, which from my business travels is not a "perk" any more, just expected, the parking is VERY limited and you have to go to The Fountains to purchase your discount tickets to the Parks.

Room Tip: View of the pool is nice and it shuts down at 11 PM so not much noise that we heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferty03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We are 2 older people, so it did not matter to us that the pool was small and there ween't 2 of them. the grounds are non-existence and there is not even a chair in the lobby. there really isn't any lobby. But the staff was friendlier and the rooms larger than the Fountains. I just liked the style of it all better. It was very quiet and clean and well appointed. It was so relaxing. Our kids found the rooms wonderfully large and the lanai nice to enjoy and watch the kids in the pool. I will warn you it is not in a good location and much farther to WDW and Disney downtown. We did go into the park one day and stayed there all day because unlike the fountains, it was too much of a time loss to try and return for a nap or rest. We just stayed all day and until we were ready to give it up for the evening. It is closer to Universal if that is your destination. But I gotta tell you, for the difference in points, we would choose the phase 1 instead of 2 and be able to stay longer. If you are short on points, you need to check this place out. I would return here again in a heatbeat. enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emptywallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, AL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

This was our favorite lodgIng on this trip. The beds were comfortable , the pool area wasn't fancy but it was well kept and the staff was great.

And it was about 2 miles from universal studios.

They also let us get a day pass to use the facilities at The Fountains which is definitely the best pool area I have ever seen at a blue green resort. I don't know if they always do that, but it was fun.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klee7312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This trip to Orlando we decided we were not going to do Disney. Instead we visited Universal, Sea World and other Orlando attraction. This resort had the perfect location for non-Disney travel. It is right in the heart of Orlando, walking distance to outlet malls, attractions and dining. We got a week pass for the I-trolley which stops right outside the resort which took us to shopping, most attractions and Sea world and aquatic for very little money (I think we payed less than $10 an adult for a week and kids under 12 were free). Cab rides to Universal (the only destination we wanted not in the trolley route) was less than it costs to park.
The resort is nice and clean. The rooms are spacious and the finishes are nice - the room we got had nice furniture, comfortable beds and stainless steel appliances. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The pool was nice and they have nightly activities (movie night by the pool, karaoke party, etc). There are tennis courts, a hot tub and a life-size chess set my kids loved. You can borrow tennis balls and rackets for free.
Be aware that this is a time share. We booked this as part of my mother's time share and got daily messages in our phone to sign up for a time share presentation at a neighbouring resort. They were not too pushy and we explained that we simply did not have time in our busy park-visiting schedule.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
La Quinta Inn Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando Near Universal Blv / International Dr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orlando's Sunshine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando's Sunshine Resort

Property: Orlando's Sunshine Resort
Address: 5473 Del Verde Way, Orlando, FL 32819-8503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#144 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Orlando's Sunshine Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Orlando's Sunshine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando`s Sunshine Hotel Orlando
Orlandos Sunshine Hotel
Orlando Sunshine Resort
Orlandos Sunshine Resort
Orlando's Sunshine Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing