We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not deluxe in our eyes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #37 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not deluxe in our eyes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Last Christmas we stayed at The Grand Floridian and found The Wilderness Lodge to be lacking behind even the moderate resorts never mind the GF.
The Whispering Canyons restaurant is so unbelievably noisy, yet quite plain, boring and bland inside. The Artist point restaurant is too posh and you simply cant relax with those type of prices and lack of atmopshere. They miss a trick with not having a view of the fabulous woodlands or pool areas from the restaurant. I also find it hard to believe that hotels that cost this much dont have a bar in the lobby or main area to sit and relax in. If there was one, we certainly couldnt find it.
A woodland view room can get quite tedious after several days, and a standard view room can leave you overlooking delivery lorries day and night. However online it is impossible to book any club level rooms so goodness knows how you do that.
The pool was unuseable in December due to the cold weather and Disney really need to consider indoor pools at their hotels. The health club had minimal and often broken equipment.
I find it incredible to believe that a hotel in 2011 does not have wifi access in rooms and room service stops at midnight. What are you supposed to do at 1am for food when you return from your extra magic hours? Especially when most food outlets are closed in the parks by that time. Even a sandwich would suffice but you wont get anything here. The room does not have a stocked mini bar. I cant remembert the last time I paid £300 per night for a hotel room without a stocked mini bar, no wifi, a small room, and no room service after midnight.
I think the improvements to customer relations need to be looked at at this hotel more than any other. Staff walk past you without aknowledging you and the check in staff can be very rude. I had to ask for our honeymoon badges and she then didnt even congratulate us. She just looked as if to say "how old are you". It was very embarrassing. Especially after we had queued for 45 minutes to check in. It was so slow and the room we had requested (woods view) was not what we were given. It was the reason we spent so much money on a deluxe resort, to get deluxe treatment, but the staff at the wilderness lodge really fall behind the Coronado Springs resort whos staff were extremely friendly when we stayed there.
We also had huge problems booking online and Disney would not allow us to carry our Dining plan accross from The Coronado Springs Resort where we had spent our first 6 nights and bought 14 day park tickets, into the Wilderness Lodge where we moved to for Christmas Eve and our final 7 nights. Its disgraceful and Disney really need to close this loophole with the disney dining plan booking problems. I find booking with Disney so restrictive in that you can not contact the hotel directly and ask for a bottle of champagne on arrival for your wife etc. You send email after email that goes unanswered and telephone operators, apart from Dsiney Dining operators, can be extremely rude.
We wont be staying in a disney property again. Extraordinary prices for below ordinary service and facilities.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOGETHER_WE_TRAVEL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,070
    932
    295
    127
    41
See reviews for
2,332
468
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was our third stay at this property. It is a wonderful property for families. Housekeeping always leaves towels in shapes of various animals and the kids love it. Pool has a nice slide for smaller childre and they love the totem poles. Our Disney experience is always great. I recommend getting the dining plan also. Having everything paid for in advance is great. We have been able to take advantage of their free dining periods the last two trips and that is even better.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelKing76689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Disney's Wilderness Lodge gets the job done, in that they have the free transport to the parks like everywhere else, they have 2 swimming pools, and they have clean beds.

Our initial arrival went very badly though, as the check-in person gave us the wrong directions to the elevator, they didn't offer anyone to help us or at least walk us to the elevator, and when I went back to speak to management they were incredibly rude. Not a good start.

Our first room smelled like someone had thrown up, and we had two double beds even though we promised a queen-sized bed. We complained, they gave us another room, it smelled fine but the beds were the same. We asked for a bigger bed, and the staff insisted they were dual queens and the bigger bed is only for special needs individuals.

The food... nothing special here at all. And Whispering Pines gets old VERY quickly. All you can hear is people yelling at the top of their lungs when you're in the lobby and main restaurant. Pretty aggravating considering how much they charge for such a limited selection too.

Fitness center had a lot of broken equipment, really not what I expected.

Next time I'd sooner stay at Saratoga Springs or the Floridian.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

The Wilderness Lodge has the key things for a great Disney holiday. It has great location on the lake at Magic Kingdom and the transport system gets you to anywhere else quickly. The theming is fantastic, our two girls of 6 and 9 lived in a real National Park lodge for a fortnight!! The restaurants are good fun, just ask for the ketchup at Whispering Canyon Cafe. Roaring Fork also provides good quality quick service meals and snacks.

The rooms aren't the biggest in Disney but the theming takes you away from the normal corporate feel of large hotels. The pools and gym are large and well laid out and there is never a long walk to anything.

We had a great time, the staff are fantastic, we'll be back!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phod10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

I have stayed at the Wilderness Lodge repeatedly now and couldn't be more pleased. The theme pulls you in as soon as you walk in the door, you are surrounded by sights, sounds and scents that all work together to welcome you.

To get to the parks you can step out back and take a a short boat ride or take one of the many buses that stop on a regular basis. (note: this is the one resort on the lagoon that is not connected with the monorail, mind you that wouldn't fit in very well with the theme, but you can always take a boat to the Contemporary and then use the monorail if you like).

Every hour during the day "Old Faithful" erupts out back next to the pool. And if you find you are at the hotel in the evening instead of one of the parks, make sure you take a stroll down by the docks. Each night they have a light parade on the water that is not to be missed (ask the front desk for the time they are scheduled to come by).

As with Disney in general, that cast members go above and beyond for you. They will check you in and hold your luggage while you go to the park if your room isn't ready yet. They can help mail gift items home for you. And they are always friendly and welcoming.

When deciding on my rating I was torn between "Excellent" and "Very Good" only because of the expense. I mean it's not everyday that I would spend hundreds of dollars on a room at a hotel. But then I thought I had to be more fair and objective about it, the only way to do that is to compare it to the other hotels that are of the same level of service and in the same area. Those hotels are The Contemporary, The Grand Floridian and the Polynesian. Out of those hotels on the same lagoon, the Wilderness Lodge does indeed have the lowest rates, hence me leaving it at an "Excellent" rating.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMatryona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

When we arrived we kept oohing and ahhing over the lobby. It is very dramatic and definitely
looks like a Rocky Mountain lodge. We loved the river running through the resort and the pool was amazing. The kids loved the geyser and the restaurant is also very good. We used the boat shuttle and it was much more relaxing than driving and parking the car.
The room was okay, we had a balcony overlooking the pool. The kids thought it was great because of the bunk beds.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_L0ve_Travel_Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The Artist's Point in the hotel is an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#56 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing