We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "MUST" for any family visiting Disney World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #31 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was our family's second trip to Disney in two years, the first being the same week, last year, at the Caribbean Beach Resort.
We decided to "upgrade" to a deluxe resort and had received a 35W% off promotional pin from Disney which made the difference from moderate to deluxe level a negligible amount.

If you've made it to this review you've no doubt come across countless others which sing praises about the resort, staff, location and value- this review will do the same, but from the perspective of a 30-something couple with 2 young children in tow under the age of 6.

Location/Transportation- PRIME!!!! I do not care what anyone says about monorail resorts, as they have nothing on the WL and it's quick boat ride across 7 Seas Lagoon. Boat's serving the resort under a red flag arrived approximately every 10-15 minutes, while blue-flagged boats which hit WL, Fort Wilderness and the Contemporary came with the same frequency. There was no greater joy than leaving ML at closing, to see 600 people lined up for the monorail while the red flagged boats within the same walking distance were truly "walk-on." Being so close to the MK meant that the other resorts were no more than 20 minutes away by resort shuttle bus. My only complaint here is that for Hollywood Studios and Animal Kingdom, WL shares a bus with the Grand Floridian, which added an extra 10 minutes to any bus ride, as you went out further to pick up GF guests, only to then turn around and come back past the WL on your way to a park. Again, this is a minor thing but worth mentioning as we were somewhat suprrised. given that both are deluxe-category results.

Room- We had booked a courtyard view with bunk beds and requested an upper-floor so that we could take in the view of the pool, Bay lake, etc. I'm happy to report that the hotel didn't honor that request and we received a first floor room, just steps from the pool. With 2 small kids this particular room couldn't have been any more ideal. Bunk beds worked out great, side rails were provided within 10 minutes or our request, used on the lower bunk. Linens were very fresh, room was immaculate and loved the separate vanity/tub/toilet setup. My only criticism here- with 4 people, the room does feel a bit "small" and "cramped," but we spent so much time outside of the room, whether it was on the property or parks that the size of the room wasn't much on an issue. The only other critique here, again, not a major one- lighting in the room is not the best. I know that Disney was going for a "rustic" look in the rooms, and they've accomplished it, however, lighting could still be improved, since what's provided it fairly basic and doesn't serve to really compliment an otherwise stellar room experience. Setup was a queen bed, bunk beds with twin matresses, desk with 2 chairs, in room fridge, safe (keyed), closet, dresser with limited drawer space (we normally live out of suitcases) and bathroom 2 sinks, storage below vanity, hairdryer, coffee maker, toilet, tub and shower with curtain. This room was considred a "Courtyard with Bunk" in terms of pricing category.

Grounds- Disney hit their mark here as you really do feel as though you're staying at lodge nestled somewhere in the Pacific Northwest. The lobby is truly awe-inspiring and the attention to detail in terms of landscape design (greens, pool) is flawless. Pool is large and seating around the pool is quite ample. You never felt as though you couldn't find a seat near the edge of the pool, even on days where the weather was just perfect. Loved the touch of the geyser and hot springs, and the beach location, while we didn't visit it other than to rent watercraft, was picturesque. From the moment you step onto the property, you're firmly convinced that your hotel is somewhere outside of central Florida.

Food- We have eaten at Whispering Canyon in the past and love the food, along with the service. The place seems to be always packed to the gills and the food is really quite good. We always seem to opt for the skillet and everyone leaves with a full stomach. The Roaring Forks quick-service restaurant is limited both in terms of choices and seating- I suppose that we were spoiled by the Caribbean Beach last year. We did not eat at Artist Pointe during our stay.

Room Tip: Request a ground-view courtyard view if you have small children and see yourselves using the pool wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GK1Impulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,474 - 2,480 of 3,647 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

Spent 7 nights here from Sep 14 - 21, 2011 and had a ball. The only reason we would consider staying outside of a Disney resort is because it's such a challenge to get the kids away from the hotel! No zero-entry pool but our toddlers didn't mind, the little kiddie pool was deep enough (~12") and kept them entertained for hours.

The hotel itself looks awesome from the lobby to the surroundings. The playground on the beach and the beach itself on the seven seas lagoon were a lovely touch and we felt added to the magic, especially every evening when the water parade would come around.We rented a 4-seater "bike" (forgot what they're called) and took the kids for a ride to Fort Wilderness and on the way saw some squirrels and were even lucky enough to see a deer! Plus it was nice to just enjoy a quiet ride away from the business of the parks. The boat rental provided a similar level of relaxation which we enjoyed.

The room was pretty standard, clean and comfortable which was all we wanted/needed. Occasional towel animals waiting for our return to the room were a nice touch. Only one minor problem and that was the internet playing up. Was fixed in minutes and we even got the 24 hour period free! I can see how some people felt the rooms were small because if our kids (aged 3 and 2) were a lot bigger it might start to feel cramped but we'd still feel cozy. Bottom line is don't expect the Waldorf Astoria and you won't be disappointed. Even though there are no Magic Kingdom views, our room (courtyard view) allowed us to watch the fireworks every night over the resort which we thoroughly enjoyed and the kids looked forward to each night.

Whispering Canyon was awesome and is worth experiencing at least once! We loved it and would love to do it again but our location makes it a little difficult! Roaring Forks was good enough to keep us satisfied when we were too tired to venture anywhere else to eat with its standard fast food fare.

Can't fault the transport system as it was always prompt but we'll probably rent a car next time just to make things more convenient. Plus you get free parking anywhere in Disney and no need to get up extra early to catch the bus for a breakfast reservation!

Overall it was a great stay and we can't wait to go back. We've stayed at the Polynesian, Animal Kingdom Lodge and Grand Floridian but there was something special about this resort that we fell in love with and can't wait to go back to.

Room Tip: Courtyard views can provide a view of the lagoon and its water parade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank potosalinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My wife and I have stayed all over Walt Disney World. This was our second stay at the Wilderness Lodge. The hotel is very picturesque, with the theming exceptionally well done. It feels secluded from the rest of the property, while still being very accessible. Staff were great, as always. My only issue involved the actual room itself. It was obvious that the bathroom hasn't been remodeled since the hotel was built. Caulking was coming apart, the shower fixture was outdated and leaked if it wasn't turned extra tight, lighting was very poor, etc. At these prices, comparable hotels outside of Disney property would pay attention to these kinds of details. Also, food court felt very crowded/small for such a large hotel. Breakfast tables were sometimes tricky to secure at the counter-service restaurant.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, don't select a room facing the pool or the boat launch. Boats honk their hor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPMato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Amazing place to stay. Location is perfect! Short boat ride to Magic Kingdom and bus ride to Epcot, Typhoon Lagoon and Animal Kingdom! Would certainly stay again! Everyone was so nice and made our first trip there truly magical. Wilderness Loge has a nice beach area where you can rent little boats to cruise around the waters past the Magic Kingdom. Movies every night on the beach and the boat parade each night at 9:35. The pool was awesome (open 8:00 am - Midnight!) and the water slide was a ton of fun!

The Lobby in itself is a sight to see! Lots to do for the family at the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steinhaus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My wife and I decided to take our family to this hotel for my daughter's third birthday. We stayed for a week, and can't wait to go back.

This Hotel is convenient to the Magic Kingdom, as you are just a short boat ride away. There are a couple of dining options on site, and the Dining plan is a must, as the cost of the meals adds up quickly.

We had a room with a bunk bed in it, which was wonderful because the children didn't have to share a bed. The Three year old was happy to have the bottom bunk.

The only thing that we would like to see improved is an adult's only hot tub. They used to be adult's only, but that has changed in the last couple of years. It's not relaxing having children cannonball into them right next to you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

WE went to Disney for the Labor day weekend. It was a last minute trip...fabulous!! This was our first trip there with our 4 and 6 year old. everything was very convenient and getting to Magic Kingdom couldn't have been easier. NO lines and multiple stops. The rooms were clean but not plush and the food was acceptable at the restaurants you can feel comfortable bring your kids. The grounds are immaculate and the pool was a great resting and relaxing place! All and all we will go back there for sure!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This was our third trip to Disney staying at one of their hotels (previously Contemporary and Animal Kingdom Lodge). We loved the west coast design of the Wilderness Lodge and grand lobby complete with totem poles. The team on the concierge floor was excellent - attentive, informative and wonderful with the kids. Morning breakfasts, snacks and evening treats were ideal for our family, especially wine for weary adults post longs days at the park. Very convenient and great for kids looking for snacks. Pool is terrific - toddler area, hot tubs and pool with waterslide for older kids and adults. Would definitely stay concierge again. Expensive but worth it! We had an amazing time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie-MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £275 - £613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing