We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous honeymoon spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #24 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I spent 7 nights at the Wilderness Lodge in June 2013 for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved it. The grounds were beautiful, the boat to the Magic Kingdom was SO convenient, and the cast members were as polite and helpful as they come.
We were in a standard view room with a king-sized bed on the 1st floor. Disney does not guarantee bed sizes, so we were happy to get a king-size rather than two queens. However, we were a little disappointed being on the 1st floor. The advertised "balcony" was just an unenclosed cement patio. So, if possible, I would suggest requesting *not* 1st floor, if that's important to you.
We ate most of our meals in parks or restaurants at other hotels, but we did have breakfast at Whispering Canyon and some late night snacks at Roaring Fork. The Whispering Canyon breakfast was quick, delicious, and WAY more food than we could eat. But it was reasonably priced by Disney standards, so we have no complaints there. We didn't eat a full meal at Roaring Fork, but they always had a good late-night selection. We particularly enjoyed the chili and smores cupcake as bedtime snacks.
If you are looking for a great value, think twice about staying at the Wilderness Lodge. Compared to luxury hotels off of Disney property, the rooms at the Wilderness will fall short. But if you want the magic of Disney with more luxurious Disney details (and don't mind spending the money for it), you will LOVE the Wilderness Lodge.
The lobby is spectacular and the pool is expertly themed without feeling childish. We will certainly stay at the Wilderness again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamiek1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,561)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Wilderness Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,796 - 1,802 of 3,561 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Had a great stay here middle of July. Beautiful reception area themed throughout with a Wild West feel. Five storeys high with lovely touches, for example the lights are made from indian teepes. Great breakfast at the whispering fork cafe- but beware if you ask for ketchup as you may get more than you bargained for, it's all good fun. A more adult orientated hotel than others available at disney. That suited us fine as we were an all adult party, but might be less attractive to you if you have smaller children. Lovely surroundings, very quiet. Bedrooms nicely spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shell1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Disney World is the best! We have stayed in Disney World around 4 times in different Resorts and they all are outstanding. Wilderness Lodge was fantastic. Loved that it did have children but not as much as the other Resorts. We are an older couple who wanted to have fun and peace and quiet. Wilderness Lodge provided that. Boat ride to Magic Kingdom was convenient. Rooms were fresh smelling and clean. Service is outstanding. Food was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I am so happy we selected this hotel! I don't think I will stay anywhere else when visiting Disney! The entire facility and grounds is breathtaking! From the drive pulling up to the hotel to the grand 7-story lobby, you will be "wowed".

Service - Amazing! Barely off the Magical Express and had a Cast Member walking with me and assisting with check in.

Lobby - honestly, this speaks for itself! It was gorgeous and filled with totem poles, nooks and seating, floor to ceiling views to the pool and lake outside.

Pool - Peaceful and beautiful. There is not a lot of noise at the pool and you really feel as if you are in another world. The landscaping is stunning. It can get crowded but never overly noisy. Very relaxing.

Grounds - My son and I walked on the trails every morning before heading to the bus stop. There are so many walking trails as well as beach, it was worth taking the time to "smell the roses" before a busy day at the parks.

Rooms - Impeccable! Always cleaned and well taken care of. We stayed Club Level and that was a highlight of our stay too. This was great to supplement our dining plan. We ate a "free" continental breakfast each day, thus, not wasting our counter service meal on breakfast. The free access to the lounge refrigerator allowed us to put water, juice boxes and cans of pop along with chips, apples, bananas, etc. into our bags to take to the parks with us so we never had to purchase snacks or beverages at the parks. It is such a waste to use your snack point on the dining plan on pop or water. Save it for the fun snacks like the Dole Whips or the Mickey Ice Cream Bars! Before dinner, we always stopped in for our complementary happy hour and had some wine and/or beer, again cutting down on what we may have ordered at dinner which alcohol is not included in the dining plan.

Transportation - staying at this resort you have your typical bus transportation to and from the parks. For some reason, Animal Kingdom was always the longest wait! Do NOT take the bus to Magic Kingdom take the boat instead. Less people and a very scenic and enjoyable ride! We went to fireworks and the electrical parade and when everyone was stampeding out of the park, we laughed when we saw all the monorail lines and bus lines. We walked right onto the dock and had maybe 8 other people waiting to get on the boat. It came quickly and we had a great ride back. Did not have to deal with a crowded bus while being tired. And, an extra bonus was that there was water electrical parade happening on the lake and our boat went right by it!

Food - Roaring Forks had pretty good food for counter service but it is ALWAYS crowded at standard meal times. That was not fun.

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel to everyone. While it is in the Deluxe category, it is on the less expensive end of the price scale for this category and not that much more than a moderate resort. We will definitely be coming back to this resort again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wahljennifer322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is amazing from the minute you hear the crickets chirping as you walk thru the front doors to the geyser by the pool. The staff is wonderful. The restaurants are excellent. You have a choice of quick and easy, fun and frivolous, or elegant and out of this world food! The rooms are clean and roomy. Having a balcony for relaxing is a perk too. We can't say enough great things about this resort. We have stayed here 5 times over the last 8 years. We have stayed at other resorts but we always say they are ok but we wish we would have stayed at Wilderness. That speaks for itself! We usually stay during the "value" seasons, but this resort is worth every dollar you pay! Most definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiHenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here once in 2011 and I had nothing but glowing remarks about it. This time, we had a few issues with not enough towels in our room (2 times). That may not seem like a big deal, but when you are hitting the parks every day in 85 degree sun, you take lots of showers and it's tough hunting for towels at midnight when you get back to your room. We had some issues with cleanliness in our toilet room, and the manager definitely made it right when we said something about it.

It just seemed that for the money we spent for a deluxe hotel, that they were not as attentive as they have been in the past. I think next time we stay on property we are going to try a different hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the small upgrade charge to get a courtyard/pool view room. It is absolutely worth it. Top flo...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you to go visit ' the mouse ', this hotel is a must. 5 star yet very relaxed and casual atmosphere. Standing on the jetty waiting for the boat to the Magic Kingdom, one could be standing at a remote Scottish loch. Where was the monorail and Contempary hotel which should be close by according to the map? Mr Disney has built an island to mask them from you. The boat arrives , and within 100 yards of moving off the hotel and monorail appear ! Toasted marshmallows on the campfire, kids films on the beach (fake of course but beautifully done), roaring fire with rocking chairs in the lobby. This hotel (modelled on the OLd Faithful Inn, Yellowstone Park) is a touch of class, with boat to Magic Kingdom, monorail from there to Epcot and buses to all other Disney theme parks, what more can you want ? And my husband assures me the 3 golf courses are tremendous !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £300 - £692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing