We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time at Wilderness Lodge- Still great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #28 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Third time at Wilderness Lodge- Still great!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was our third December in a row staying at the Wilderness Lodge. We had a great time. We have two young children (3yr & 10mo) and spend most of our time at the Magic Kingdom, so the Willderness Lodge is perfect for us. We never had to wait very long for a boat. The Lodge is absolutely gorgeous at Christmas time. I'm not sure I would want the "woodsy" theme in July, but for December it is perfect! Really gets you into the holiday spirit.

I had an issue that someone stole my refillable mug from the sink in the bathroom, I had set it there when taking my 3year old in a stall so I wouldn't have to take my cup in, and when we came out someone had swiped it. The front desk staff immediately walked me down to Roaring Forks to get a replacement. (I didn't need it activated, as we were already checked out, I just needed the mug for our cruise).

They have movies on the beach at night and my daughter loved sitting in the sand, having her dinner, and watching Cinderella on the big screen. Rooms were fine, bed rails were brought up immediately after we requested them. Overall, we will might try a new (Disney) hotel next year, or we might just continue the tradition at the Wilderness Lodge since we've always had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunDrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,116
    941
    300
    127
    40
See reviews for
2,381
475
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

As a general rule, when we are going to the Disney theme parks, we book one of the Disney hotel rooms too. The convenience is well worth the extra price you pay. Wilderness Lodge's theme is executed with the result of a beautiful giant log cabin-style building complete with huge roaring fire and a stream which empties into the pool and a geyser that goes off periodically. The rooms are a good size and the restaurants have a decent selection of food that is very tasty. We had a fantastic stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank OurTnFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

With temperatures in the 40's and constant rain, the Wilderness Lodge was in its element. Fireplaces roaring and heavy coats all around, it felt like we were in the Northwest. This was cool (pun intended) but something to remember if you intend to catch sunshine in Orlando in January.

The fast service restaurant is decent yet expensive and crowded which has been covered thoroughly in other reviews. This has been our fourth stay at the lodge and I am still blown away by the stupidity of the ramps leading from the pool area to the lobby. Hardwood flooring that is slick from rain water does not make for an easy journey up or down.

The boat service is great (except when there's wind driven rain!) but the bus service leaves a lot to be desired. On this trip, every outbound bus journey to a park made a stop at the Fort Wilderness campgrounds. While this is technically close, it is quite the long trip on the Disney road system. To work around this, we would jump a boat to the Magic Kingdom and use it as a travel hub. This worked most of the time and saved valuable time. Regardless how cool the resort is, I would always stay on the monorail if my budget permits.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubberDuckyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Walking into the lodge is an adventure. You just have to look up and see the lobby. It is an awesome sight! They are very serviceable from the moment you step out of your transportation until you leave. We have used the front desk, concierge, restaurants and gift shop and in each place they are there to make your stay magical. We were in a room with bunk beds for the kids and a queen for us. The room is spacious enough and shower is great. Sink is outside of shower and toilet so a few can get ready at once. The grounds are beautiful including the pool and hot tub. The have boat transportation to Magic Kingdom however there are two boats and the other goes to the other resorts on lake so ask to make sure you are on the right one :) Bus transportation is close by and generally you are stop one or two at each parks for returning. Very convenient! When you do take the bus in some cases you are combined with Fort Wilderness Campground as a stop or The Grand Floridian.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at Wilderness Lodge for 6 nights in Jan, and truly enjoyed the hotel. It was great to have such close proximity to Magic Kingdom where we could just hop on the boat to get to and from the park easily. We also used the monorail (which doesn't run to the hotel, but you can connect to through taking a boat to another hotel) and the bus service. We were the first pick up for the parks on the bus route, and the first drop off at the end of the day. Buses ran frequent and we always got seats as we didn't seem to be on too busy of a route.

Hotel room was great- clean, well themed, modern. great view from the balcony. We could see the Electric boat parade each night from our room and fireworks from magic kingdom. Great view of the pool and the Geyser as well.

Staff were always helpful and friendly.

This was our first trip to Disney World, and we really enjoyed the location, and overall theme of this hotel. Definitely recommend it! Kids enjoyed it as well- wasn't a lot of character theming here, but we were OK with that as our kids enjoyed the wilderness theme just as much.

Enjoyed the magic bands as well which meant we didn't have to carry a room key, credit card, and park pass as they were all connected through the bands- much more convenient and useful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KristinAndFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

From the grounds, to the lobby, to the rooms, Disney's Wilderness Lodge is a beautiful resort! The lobby itself is just stunning! We are annual Disney visitors, my husband, myself, and our kids who are 10 and 8 yrs. old.,and like to stay at different places each year. This was our first stay at this resort and we were very happy with it! The kids are already asking if we can stay there again next year.The rooms are not quite as big as some of the other deluxe resorts on the property, but they are plenty spacious enough for our family of 4. We had a courtyard view room and it was great! The rooms here are also super clean including the bathrooms and I happen to be a very picky person when it comes to any hotel rooms being clean! Mousekeeping did an amazing job keeping everything clean and also would set up my kid's stuffed animals in all different silly ways on the beds everyday so it was a surprise for us when we would come back to our room which the kids just loved! Beds were very comfortable and all of us slept very well our entire stay! The staff here are very friendly and helpful as you would expect from any Disney resort! The Whispering Canyon Café is one of the restaurants at this resort and it is a fun place to eat with great food! My kids loved it! The Roaring Forks food court was also nice although it can get a little crazy in there when crowded, and I would have liked to see a little more of a variety in their menu choices. As for transportation, taking the boat from this resort over to Magic Kingdom or even over to the Contemporary resort to catch the monorail was awesome!! The boats run every couple minutes and we never waited long for a boat. The buses, well, I have to say most of the time they were ok, but there were a few occasions we seemed to wait forever for one and then to get on and find out they have to stop at another resort also before getting us to our destination. This also held true while waiting at the parks or Downtown Disney for a bus to return back to Wilderness Lodge. It just seemed they didn't have as many buses running for this resort compared to some of the other resorts. We did have an amazing time here though and would love to stay at this resort again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmarie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This is our 50th trip to Disney haven't stayed at wilderness lodge for many years. wow we fell in love with this property. Now it was cold but that just added to the feel of the hotel. Beautiful fireplace in lobby. Room were great food in all 3 restaurants were really good. The staff Emma was who helped us was just great. I requested certain things and she meet all my needs. Property is special. Try it you will love it too.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing