We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our ninth stay at the Wilderness Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #31 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have stayed at most hotels on Disney World property. In May, this was our ninth stay at the Wilderness Lodge. The Roaring Fork Cafeteria Restaurant has some pretty tasty food and the Whispering Canyon has an all you can eat Skillet Breakfast that I would highly recommend. The pool has a great atmosphere with plenty of activities and dancing planned for the children. In the evening, we watched the Water Parade, roasting marshmallows on the beach and watched an outdoor movie. You simply cannot go wrong with the Wilderness Lodge. It feels like home to us. Only one complaint, the bus transportation in all of Disney leaves a lot to be desired. The bus service is terrible and we have had this experience during every trip. Thank goodness the Wilderness Lodge offers boat service to the Magic Kingdom.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 3,647 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the Wilderness Lodge for 6 days and 5 nights during the first week of June. We have stayed at the "value resorts" and "moderate resorts", this was our first "deluxe" experience and we fell in love with this resort, this is our Disney go-to resort going forward. The lobby is grand and transforms you to the Northwest; the staff is friendly and accommodating and the grounds are beautiful. We had a room on the sixth floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and water. Our room was very comfortable and had a nice bathroom. House keeping was great! The restaurants on site were tasty and the pool was a great place to relax and cool down. We enjoyed the water electrical parade from the beach one night. We frequented the Magic Kingdom often and used the boat transportation - so easy and quick! Less than a 5 minute boat ride that brings you right to the Magic Kingdom entrance. This was a great vacation at a wonderful resort - cannot say enough good things about it and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CapeCodChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our stay was in one of the Bunk Bed rooms facing the pool area. It's been years since my last visit to a Disney property so I can't really compare it to the other hotels on property. All I can do is grade it on it's own merits to which it did exceedingly well. First off the room was of a decent size and easily fit this family of four with two children under 10. The bunk beds did lead to several arguments over whose turn it was to be in the top bunk so, parents, be prepared. The adjoining queen bed was quite comfortable. Decor was Northwest United States influenced and added to the hominess of the resort. Quite the antithesis of something like the Art of Animation resort. The food at all of the restaurants, from the quick serve Roaring Fork to the upscale Artist Pointe, was very good. Pricey, but you've come to expect that from Disney and at least you don't feel (completely) taken advantage of. The big advantage of this resort is its vicinity to the Magic Kingdom and options for reaching the park. The boat service for the Wilderness lodge was very reliable and much easier to deal with if you are at the park late for the fireworks show as opposed to the monorail and buses. Bus service to some areas in Disney from the Wilderness Lodge seems to be inconsistent. Our wait for buses to and from Hollywood Studios and Blizzard Beach were all over the place. Sometimes right away, sometimes an eternity.
All in all if you are looking for upscale accommodations near the Magic Kingdom at Disney that aren't overly Disney-fied, this is definitely a consideration.

Room Tip: Bunk beds allow a little more "moving" around space in the room. Rooms facing the pool wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dennis_Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Wilderness Lodge is a nice hotel. I think what is the best feature is it's proximity to the Magic Kingdom. My kids loved taking the little ferry over to MK. The pool and the surrounding area is also really nice. We also enjoyed having breakfast at Whispering Canyon.I have a couple of small issues with the hotel. The first is I think the rooms are a little small and the other is I think the hotel is a little pricey but you are really paying for the location.

Room Tip: the pool view is awesome at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ned7773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was at other hotels at Disney Resort but this is definitively my best stay. Since you enter the hotel area you feel like in a mountain or wood resort with lots of trees and woods.
The hotel is over a hill and looks spectacular. The lobby area is beautiful.
The staff is very nice, the room was very comfortable. My daughters love the pool area.
Obviously is kind of expensive since you have to pay the Disney tax but when you understand that is perfect.
You can rent bikes, boats. You can go to Magic Kingdom by boat that was a different experience.
Since it was a short stay we did not have time to enjoy the main restaurants, we only tried the roaring fork and was not very different than others in less expensive hotels like pop century meaning is not something especial.
I only had 3 cons that are not big deal but are room for improvement:
1. The A/C and refrigerator are kind of old and very noisy, they need to be changed.
2. The restaurants close at 11 pm but since Magic Kingdom is closing at midnight in summer time I think could be great to have at least one area open for buying milk, water or whatever thing you need before going to bed
3. Since this is not a huge hotel the Disney buses frequency is not as great as in other hotels. So be prepared for 15-30 minutes wait.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I went here 2nd week of March for a long weekend without the kids. We were celebrating my birthday and had it noted on the booking, called to confirm it was noted and when we arrived not one person mentioned anything. ( it should have been acknowledged)
The lobby, layout and theming of this property is outstanding. It's almost breathtaking when you walk in, it's that gorgeous.
Our room was nice and it faced the pool area. It wasn't really that loud but during the day... But no complaints there. Bathroom was a little dark, but it worked out fine. Bed was super comfy!
Bus service was absolutely terrible and doesn't seem fair staying at a deluxe resort but that's been a problem for years. Seems like the more you pay, the worse the bus service.
Would probably stay here again if given a good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here with our Grandchildren, ages 4 and 9. This hotel is one short boat ride to the Magic Kingdom, which was much appreciated when returning with two exhausted young kids accompanied by two very weary adults.

The Whispering Canyon dining experience was a blast according to the kids.

The pool and geyser were also a high point. Our Grandson did the water slide 42 times.

All-in-all, the Wilderness Lodge was a 10.

Room Tip: The kids really liked the bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £275 - £613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing