We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best WDW resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #24 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed at the Wilderness Lodge for six nights in room 1140, dble room, woods view. Room – Clean, comfortable and quiet. We liked having the two sinks outside the bathroom door. We never heard any noises from surrounding rooms. The best advantage we had was requesting a ground floor room. All rooms, I believe, have a balcony, but a 1st floor room gave us the extra advantage of a walkout patio. It made the room seem twice as big. We ate our breakfast on the patio every morning and it also gave us super easy access to the pools, walkways, beach, etc. We loved the fact when we got out of the pools we could avoid all hallways and elevators and instead simply walk right up to our patio door. Transportation – We used the Magical Express Bus service to/from the airport and the hotel shuttle service (bus/boat) to the Disney parks. Dining – Artist Point (make reservations, fine dining, dress code - not necessarily a great place with little kids), Whispering Canyon Café (make reservations, large portions, great for kids), Roaring Forks (breakfasts are plentiful but consistently too salty on the eggs / hashbrowns. Lunch menu had a nice variety to select from including tasty salads). Suggestions: 1.) Take the time to see the nightly Disney Water Pageant at 9:30pm on the hotel beach. 2.) Don’t miss the Geyser behind the pool area (goes off every hour, on the hour). 3.) We loved the convenience of the Disney dining plan but it’s too much food. What worked best for our family of 4 was to use our Table Service for Dinners (always w/reservations), and split the Quick Service credits between breakfast and lunch. For breakfast we ordered two meals and split it between the 4 of us and did the same with lunch in the parks (buy 2 meals and split between the four of us). This way we were still able to use all our dining credits but didn’t feel overwhelmed with the huge portions of food at breakfast and lunch.

Room Tip: Ground floor with walkout patio; woods view for privacy. Pool view for easy access to pools.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Ladyisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,560)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Wilderness Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,329 - 1,335 of 3,560 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here with my family a couple of years ago. We cannot fault the hotel in any way. Friendly and courteous staff, a beautifully clean hotel with a lot of attention to detail with everything. The furniture in the rooms are of very good quality, the carpets are plush and the whole hotel has a luxurious feel to it. My family and I would recommend this hotel to anyone but especially for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blackpool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This location is great if you plan to hit Magic Kingdom a lot. The Ferry is the way to go if not using the monorail! BUT, at night you hear the boat parade in the lagoon over an over.....so that part is not great. Bring a white noise machine if you can, or download an app for your phone and leave plugged in while playing.

The staff were all great, the decor is nice rustic theme. No real negatives at all.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the lagoon / dock where you will hear the boat parade go on nightly!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We could find NOTHING about this resort we did not like. We were there for a 6 night stay in mid-late july. The hotel is rustic themed -- the lobby is stunning. All the staff members we encountered were phenomenal and very helpful. The quick service restaurant offered multiple choices for breakfast/lunch/dinner. We only ate breakfasts there -- we all thought the mickey waffles were great! They have coffee/tea/hot cocoa/fountain drinks available 24hr/day in the quick service restaurant. There are 2 table service restaurants onsite -- both require advance dining reservations. We booked ours 180days ahead of time.
The rooms are a decent size -- we are family of four and all our baggage and stuff fit without problem. There is a decent size closet to store you luggage. It has a double sink area separate from the shower/toilet. The shower is a great size with large ledges for all your necessites (I have 2 daughters....)
We were very fortunate and were able to view the Magic Kingdom fireworks from our room. We were on the 6th floor room 6046. This was an unexpected highlight!
There are 2 pools onsite. One has a cool slide. There are 2 hot tubs and a kiddie pool also. Plenty of seating around pool and a bar at the poolside.
The health club/gym was more than adequate. plenty of treadmills,ellipticals, bikes, free weights and nautilus machines.
There is laundry onsite -- $2/wash, $2/dry.
The resort is large so be prepared to walk some distance from your room to certain areas of the hotel.
We utilized the bus transportation and the ferry. Both worked very well.
We have stayed at numerous disney resorts and this is BY FAR our favorite.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor, away from main lobby area. Not sure if this helped keep our noise level o...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank karenk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We just returned from our quick Disney vacation. I have a fried who works for Disney and again she was able to secure a great deal for our 3 night stay.

We checked in early and left our bags in the car-imagine how happy I was to learn our room was ready at 11 AM and that we didn't have to come back late from the park and get settled in. The new magi band system makes checking in so easy plus you can do it on line before you go.

The room was on the 5th floor, it had view on the courtyard, it was quiet and cozy. We loved sitting on the balcony in the evenings. The room was very clean and comfortable.

We love to eat the Roaring Forks downstairs. We had kids Mickey waffles each morning to start our day. I grabbed a tray and brought it to our room as it was easier and it was very crowded in the mornings and evenings. You can also dine outside at a table which is nice, in the evening they take your order at the register, give you a number and a cast member delivers your food to you which cuts down on the chaos of standing in long lines. I also recommend purchasing a Disney drink plan where you can refill your soda for the duration of your stay-prices vary and are posted on the registers.

I had to do laundry while I was there. I did it at 9 PM at night and it was packed. I was able to get a washer and dryer without waiting but there were tons of people in line. If you need to do laundry try doing it first thing in the AM. Bring your own detergent etc, the prices in gift shop are expensive.

I can't say enough about our stay, it was perfect. I had an opportunity to stay at another property with her discount but we keep coming back here. You will love your time at the Wilderness lodge, it's just great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank WVClairenmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here for years. I love all the amenities and the ease at which you can get into the Magic Kingdom. I was a tiny bit disappointed in the room itself. They are starting to look a little dated and worn plus there is no microwave. Our TV was broken but they fixed it within minutes of calling. Disney's service is top notch. For the kids you can't go wrong here. There is so much to do and they love the pool. If you are thinking of staying here and are on the fence.... DO IT!!! Your kids will have that memory forever and you can relax and unwind in a wilderness setting. The outdoor movie and s'mores is a must do!!!! It truly is magical!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Wilderness Lodge. Our room was ready at check in and the room was clean. (We stay at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts when we travel.)

Only two complaints:

* After traveling most of the day from Denver and then having the time change, we went to the Whispering Canyon Cafe for a sit down meal. We were told that the next available reservation was at 8:30pm. We would need to wait 4 hours to eat. I can't believe they don't have space for hotel guests. We ate in the Roaring Fork (quick service cafe).

* The cable connection on the TV fades in and out, kind of annoying.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank METhOmAs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £302 - £693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing