We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kid Friendly!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #35 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kid Friendly!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 6 days. Awesome Hotel, with a great pool. Nice slide for the kids. Lifeguards were AMAZING!!! Very attentive! The kids loved it. My favorite was the nice quick boat ride to Magic Kingdom! Very relaxing and only waited for about 5 minutes each time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amysch2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,057
    927
    291
    126
    41
See reviews for
2,317
460
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We've tried several Disney resorts, and this one is definitely a family favorite! We traveled in September and were lucky enough to experience low crowds in the parks. This allowed us to spend some extra time at the resort. Our boys, 9 and 6, absolutely loved the pool and water slide. The close proximity to the park, Bay Lake beach to view the water parade and great variety of restaurants has my family asking to go back. As always, the staff is super friendly and helpful, and all of the dining experiences we had were positive. Even breakfast in the morning seemed quick and effortless. The boat transportation to the MK is a plus and a nice change of pace. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, and we even had a partial view of the MK fireworks, which we did not expect. I would definitely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEPAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have stayed in 4 Disney hotels and this was my second time staying in a Deluxe hotel. We had a fantastic time. The drive into the hotel is nice and very green, the hotel also has topiaries around the property which I loved. Upon walking into the hotel, you are welcomed by the hotel greeter guides you to the front desk, where we were checked in by a very helpful and polite cast member. Out of the 4 days that we stayed here, I did not run into a single bad or unhelpful cast member , every single cast member went out of their way to help us. The hotel also has an incredible lobby, I could spend the whole day just sitting there taking everything in. The rooms are a bit smaller than other deluxe hotels, but they did not lack in theming. My favorite thing about the room were the headboards over the beds. The hotel is also conveniently located to the Magic Kingdom, this is not a monorail resort, but you can take the boat, the longest we waited was maybe 10 minutes maybe less. There was also direct bus transportation to all the parks. Overall the hotel does not fail to impress and I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I took my son and niece for a week long stay here. Upon arriving to the grounds and getting checked in and getting all our information for the room was nothing but excellent service. The hotel itself is beautiful and you can find yourself taking it easy in the main area soaking in all the decor. Our room was very clean and anytime I needed the 'extras' it was brought immediately up. The housekeeping service did a cute job with the beds everyday....coming back to a fun set up. The food is fine, but they are feeding on a large scale so don't expect to get your socks knocked off.

Room Tip: I had a room that overlooked the wooded area but could still get a view of the fireworks from Magic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igotidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We have been to the Wilderness Lodge Villas several times and again had a great Disney experience. Of special note to me was that for the first time I had to use an electric scooter outside of our room.

We found this was no handicap at all. The parks free buses and boats accommodated us with ease and big smiles. All buildings and points of interest to me had ramps and very nearby sheltered parking for my scooter. I was delighted and look forward to going back.

Sure, it's a few bucks more for a vacation, but to me and my wife and grandkids, worth every penny and more.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jfw344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We just got back and loved our overnight at the Disney Wilderness Lodge. I should first say that they gave us a free upgrade to the Club Level, so who wouldn't be happy, right? But it was really great for so many reasons. We had a great view of the pool, lake and the resort in general. So quiet at night on the 7th floor.
At club level, they have a kitchen stocked with appetizers, beverages, and snacks, which change several times a day. In the evening, we had a lovely buffet with a hot chili, glazed chicken nuggets, pasta salads, and so much more. They had a fridge filled with beers, sodas, and waters. They also had wine and several types of coffees. Later when we returned from the park (we took the boat ride to Magic Kingdom from the WL pier), they had after dinner drinks, and several types of desserts. Breakfast the next morning and a lunch snack time was also provided. The staff was excellent. We loved the decor and the amenities. I have to say that the lifeguards at the pool we so attentive to all of the children. Great Job! We took advantage of the valet parking and those guys were so nice and got my luggage in and out very quickly. What can we say, we will stay there again soon and take a room on the club level.

Room Tip: Club level might cost a bit more but you get excellent service and complementary food and beverages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Taking its styling cues from 19th century national park lodges, Disney's done an impeccable job of translating their inspiration into modern comforts. Think vintage, not retro. Native American arts and crafts from the Pacific Northwest populate the grand, expansive lobby while every imaginable shade of wood dominates the setting, from the inlaid patterns on the floor to the towering columns that reach the seven-story tall ceiling. But even though the thematic presentation is old-school, the amenities and service are of the caliber you'd expect from Disney.

Our travel agent from MouseEar Vacations snagged us a courtyard view room, replete with king size bed, spacious shower, and intricately carved details throughout. Admittedly, our room was ADA accessible, which added to its comfortability, but the furnishings would have felt appropriate and practical even in a slightly smaller space.

On-site, the facilities include: two pools (one larger for the Lodge and one smaller that is for the adjoining Villas for Disney Vacation Club members but in practice is also shared); a poolside bar; a full gym; three restaurants for various price points and occasions; a manicured, sandy beach; bike rentals; and even a dock for boat and "Sea Raycer" rentals. The pool and attentive staff provide a welcome alternative to actually visiting the parks thanks to their full schedule of recreational activities to occupy kids and families.

But on that subject, the truth is that the real reason you stay at the Wilderness Lodge (or any Disney resort for that matter), is the free, ready, and highly efficient access it provides to any of the Disney theme parks. As with other resorts, free bus service is prompt and regular, but the real draw here are the quick and speedy boats that ferry you back and forth between the hotel and The Magic Kingdom every 8-12 minutes, making it easy to get to the park in the morning, take a break if you need it during the day, and return after a long day of fun. There is a second boat line that runs to other Disney resorts, which maybe helpful when dining at a restaurant located at a different resort, but may also come in handy when trying to make alternative arrangements for transit when using Disney's signature Monorail.

As with anything that Disney does, they maintain a laser-like focus on their guests, with every single cast member (which Disney devotees know as the term the company uses for its staff) offering gracious and effective help whenever asked. Everyone from the bell staff who hold your bags to concierges who help plan out activities to housekeepers who politely knock in the morning to receptionists handing you your welcome packet maintain a warm balance between friendliness and professionalism. It goes without saying that Disney's approach ensures superior service compared to similarly priced hotels and may even rival that of grandiose, luxury chains.

Overall, fans of the Disney theme parks make their vacations much easier by buying in to the entire Disney experience when staying at one of their properties and the Wilderness Lodge offers a not-too-brash setting that captures Disney's lighthearted fun without sacrificing polish and sophistication. The hotel is a perfect choice for adults looking to maximize their Disney vacation, but don't need all the cartoonish trappings and kitschy charm of hotels like the Pop Century or Art of Animation resorts. That said, you do pay a price premium for the integrated convenience of Disney's Magic Bands and its proximity to the theme parks.

In short, if visiting the parks, riding the heck out of everything, eating tons of snacks, and doing it with no muss or fuss is of the utmost importance to your vacation, then there's really few better options than sticking to one of the most budget-friendly of Disney's Deluxe resorts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trambach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#55 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and TravelUp so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing