We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney does it again ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #27 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disney does it again ”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Wilderness lodge is awesome. We love it here. ask for a ground floor room facing the pool for the villas. We never had a crowd and we could get right to the pool from our slider. Also, call the week before you get there and ask about being the flag family one morning. You get an unreal view of the heart of WDW. If you can get it it is not to be missed.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,128
    943
    300
    127
    40
See reviews for
2,392
478
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Whats not love about this resort,The resort grounds are beautiful,waterfalls,flowers,Geyser,pools,rabbits hopping around,big tall trees and you get a woodsy outdoorsy kind of feeling,right in the heart of Disney!! The lodge is beautiful inside, relax next to the fireplace,you can have breakfast or dinner at the sit down restaurant, hint:dont forget to ask for ketchup!! Or Roaring Forks has a nice selection,they have great, large pecan cinnamon rolls!Yum!The rooms are nice and clean,beds are pillowtop and very comfortable!! The courtyard view rooms overlooks the big pool and waterfall and maybe the lake depending on your location of your room. You can take the boat to Magic Kingdom,and to Fort Wilderness,or the bus to the parks! You can also view the nightime water electrical parade on the lake! Dont forget to ask for the Hidden mickey game while your there!! This is our favorite resort and will definitly stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maraaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were there in late July. It is a beautiful resort, with very helpful Disney staff. The quick service dining area was efficient, and had polite, helpful cast members each time we visited. We really enjoyed being able to ride the boat over to the Magic Kingdom, as it seemed to be more relaxing than the bus rides. The room had cool furnishings, and was very clean, as one would expect at a WDW resort. We loved this place!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Beautiful Deluxe Disney Resort.
Pros
1. Setting - Gorgeous setting which makes you feel you are in a lodge set in a national park. The grounds are kept up and full of flowers, pine trees and creeks. There is a trail that goes to Fort Wilderness and along the beach. Lovely beach and one of the best pools at a Disney Hotel. This resort satisfies couples and families. The lobby is huge with a huge fireplace and outside there is a geyser which erupts each hour. Lots of photo opps.
2. Food - Counter service has variety for all ages and places to sit (although I will say Disney's new coffee choice, Joffrey's, was poor. Taste is worse than previous and often out of coffee leading to long waits). Resort has 2 other restaurants, Whispering Canyon which is casual, yet you should have a resv - super fun for families and Artists Point, which is more formal but kid friendly. Resort has 2 bars, 1 inside next to Artist Point and 1 outside next to pool. Both are top notch.
3. Value. This is the best value for Disney Deluxe resorts. Everything you need is on site or within walking distance. Certain rooms offer bunk beds with plenty of other pool/resort activities which are included including movie on beach and campfires.
Cons
1. Transportation. This is always a con when staying at non-monorail resort. You need a bus to go anywhere, and we all know the buses take a long time. You can take a boat to Magic Kingdom, but the boats do not come often and are usually full.
2. Size of room. Some of the smaller rooms at Deluxe resorts, that's why they are less expensive, but do not let that deter you. They offer bunk bed rooms which kids love. I have stayed at all Disney Deluxe resorts and the size difference is not that big of a deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We loved the Wilderness Lodge!! Family of four with kids age 8 and 5 and we all loved the pool area, beach, and geyser! The absolutely best was the boat to Magic Kingdom!!! We focused most of our days MK and it was a dream to quickly come back to WL for a pool break midday! Roaring Forks had simple food selections, but adequate. The breakfast waffles are yummy with strawberry, chocolate, or bananas foster toppings! Whispering Canyon was hilarious and a different, fun place to eat with BBQ and the fixins. The lobby is awesome and interesting! So many neat things to experience! Our room faced out on the pool/lake area and it was a bit loud at night until 11:00. My husband and kids still fell asleep early enough to get up happy the next morning for rope drop. But ask for a room away from pool side to get a more quiet room. We are definitely coming back to WL again! It felt like home!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I love the Wilderness Lodge. Love it. Love it with a fiery passion. It's my favorite place to stay on earth.

I was thrilled to bring my family here, and for my kids to have their first Disney experience at this resort. We were not disappointed.

Check in was fast and easy (we did online check in) and our room was ready when we arrived. Our room, 5030, was amazing. We booked a woods view, and this looked out over the otter pond. There were literally deer outside the room grazing upon check in. We could see the Contemporary, the castle and space mountain through the trees. We could see Wishes from our room every night. I'm sure the 6th and 7th floor have an even better view, but we thought we'd hit the jackpot.

The beds were comfortable, the room a good size.

The room was clean and our Mousekeeper Faith did a great job keeping it that way.
The pool is beautiful and the lifeguards keep a close watch. They offer pool games throughout the afternoon.

Roaring Forks is the quick service restaurant and the food was VERY good this trip. Try the roast beef and blue sandwich. I can't wait to get back and have it again. My kids loved the pepperoni flatbread, and the cupcakes. Ooooh the cupcakes. I recommend the S'mores cupcake and the strawberry lemonade cupcake. Both were fantastic. The sugar cookies are also very good. I am craving one right now!!

We did not book Whispering Canyon this trip, but I've had great food and service there in the past. Same goes for Artist Point.

Bus service was great. We never had to wait very long at the resort or at the park. I love the option of the ferry for travel to Magic Kingdom or the Contemporary and Ft. Wilderness. The WiFi in the rooms and in the common areas were solid for us all week.

Please take the time to explore the grounds, they're truly lovely. Don't forget to watch the geyser erupt at least once!

We will be back. I can't imagine staying anywhere else while at Disney. The location is perfect, the service is first class, and the atmosphere is breathtaking.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Woods view north wing...you can see wishes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank samanthars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Second successive year weve stayed here and enjoyed it just as much if not more this time. We had a Deluxe suite' with Concierge level access although the rooms aren't large, theyre big enough - you don't spend much time in the room anyway. Nice balcony overlooking the beach and lake, short walk to the pool but the Reception was a long trek (I calculated a quarter mile round trip !) so maybe consider whats important to you when booking. Concierge level benefits are great, complementary breakfast and snacks and drinks throughout the day.
The pool is large and relaxing (although not as good as at some of the other Disney hotels - although I understand its due to be upgraded which should be worth seeing once done). The pool must be the safest place on the planet for kids to swim, lifeguards often outnumber swimmers and they're EXTREMELY efficient (sometimes too much so, pools are for having fun after all).
The setting, lakeside with forests all round, masks the fact you're very close to the Magic Kingdom. Best way to get there is by the boat which takes you straight there for opening, or at regular intervals during the day. Boats also go to other lakeside venues, worth the trip if you get a chance. More reliable than the coach transport - Disney still cant seem to get their huge fleet of coaches in the right place at the right time. It really is the one serious complaint I've got about the whole stay.
Various dining options, from the Roaring Fork (cheap and cheerful, burgers etc), Whispering Canyon restaurant just off the lobby, medium price and lots of fun and the Artists Point (top of the range which we didn't try).
Lots of entertainment poolside during the day for kids, a Disney movie on the beach at night and nightly fireworks from Magic Kingdom nearby. The new 'Magic Bands' are very handy, you don't have to mess around with park tickets and you can plan ahead for dining reservations and fast passes, but the flexibility of the old fast pass system has gone - now Disney tells you what you can have rather than you choosing what you want. And there are NO fast passes available for the new Mine Train ride, so as soon as you make your booking, create a MyDisneyExperience.com account and book if you can.
And the hotel itself is stunning - massive lobby with western themes. Really makes you feel like youre in the wild, although youre just a few minutes from the heart of Disney.

Room Tip: Decide if you want to be near the pool, have a lake view, be near elevators or near the lobby and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank florida2013mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#7 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing