We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #32 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 8 March 2009

When you walk into this hotel the lobby is amazing, very large with huge fire place and totem poles! Check in was quick and staff were really friendly 'welcoming you home' to their hotel, even though we didnt arrive until midnight! (Due to 5 hour delay with virgin) Room was very nice, quite large for only the two of us. Balcony was nice and had a good view of the swimming pool and we could also see reflection of fireworks from magic kingdom everynight in the window opposite us. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed whenever you wanted. Food in the hotel was quite nice, we mainly ate breakfast here and then out at the parks for the rest of the time. I think the food is fairly similar whichever Disney hotel you choose. Burgers, pizza, chips, nuggets etc but also they had fruit, pastries and a sandwich counter (these were huge!!) You can buy the unlimitted refil mugs here which i would recommend as we saved alot of money this way. We also realised when we got here that they use the same mugs as the Disney Caribbean beach resort so we could of taken those instead of buying more. If you want to eat at the whispering canyon (Which looked lovely) i would highly advise that you book this before your stay, as we were here for 2 weeks and only 2 of us, we couldnt get a table for our whole stay. (Only random times like breakfast at 11:30, which by then we were wanting to be out at the parks etc) The pool is nice and a geiser goes off on the hour every hour which is good to watch. The boat to the magic kingdom is great, and the man even stopped to let us watch the fireworks on the lake one night at 9pm! We went durign christmas and the decs were lovely, tree was absolutely huge! Had a lovely stay at this resort and would def return!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kleex20x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,097
    939
    299
    127
    40
See reviews for
2,363
474
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Best Vacation Ever
We took our family vacation at Disney's Wilderness Lodge this year and it was wonderful. We have two teenage sons and they really enjoyed the close proximity to the Majic Kingdom (accessible by a 6 minute boat ride). The resort was spotless, beautiful and a lot of fun. Loved the rooms, the restaurant (whispering Canyon is teh best) and all of the amenities. We will definately stay there next time.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank birthdayboy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

My family just returned after spending a week at Fort Wilderness. We've been to Disney before, but this is the first time we stayed at a deluxe resort. Our children are 9 and 4.5. I gave this hotel high ratings b/c of the location and the package we booked.

First, with regard to the hotel, the location was excellent, as all the parks were easily accessible. Our kids loved that they took a boat to the Magic Kingdom. We were able to to do parks most of the day, return for a swim and then leave again for dinner. The lobby is beautiful and the food at the Roaring Fork is very good - fresh and diverse for a small menu. We had a standard room which was fine for the the size of our family. It had a queen bed and a bunk, which the kids loved. It did take a day to get used to liviing in a small space, but we adjusted b/c we were rarely in the room. The comments about the room size are true (on the small size) and the view was louzy if you looked down from the balcony (parking lot). Our maid service was excellent - cleaned everyday (folded the kids pajamas and placed their stuffed animals in a cute way). Buses to other parks ran efficiently.

We visited the Grand Floridian for breakfast and the Contemporary for Chef Mickey's dinner, two other deluxe resorts and our hotel seemed more quiet and secluded, which we liked. The elevators are noteably fast. The pool was very crowded on Saturday, which is expected, given the 83 degree temp., but otherwise met the demands of our family. As noted in another review, there are ducks that swim in the pool. I, too, was dismayed by this, but it did not bother my kids at all. They enjoyed the small water slide and the kids activities.

As mentioned, we booked the trip for our school vacation to benefit from the deal Disney was running, buy 4 nights, get 3 free. This promotion allowed us to stay at the Wilderness. We were looking to stay at a moderate class hotel (Port Orleans), but the difference in price and bed size (queen at the Wilderness; double is standard elsewhere) in the room made the decision easier. I do have to admit, I'm not sure I would have paid full price for the hotel, only b/c of the little time we actually spent at it using the facilities. We ran into a snow storm and looked into staying another night if our flight was cancelled, and the room rate was $495/night. Yikes. Overall, however, with the promotion, we believe that we got a great hotel for the cost.

As an aside, we also bought a meal plan, which we have not ever done before. I recommend it. It was a quick meal lunch, snack and table service dinner. I was surprised that every dinner was over $100 for a family of 4, with both kids eating off the kids' menu. With tip and if we ordered an appetizer, the bill was usually $140-$150, just for dinner. The meal plan was a great value, b/c we ate well at some lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ssfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

1st time to Disney with 4 year old. 1st impression walking in the lobby was amazing. The service is impeccable - when checking in they said "Welcome home" There was many activities for kids at the hotel - cookie hour, arts and crafts. Our room was on the 6th floor facing the main pool. We could see the Magic Kingdom fireworks each night and the Electric Water Pagent at 9:30 pm. Comfy beds, room a bit dim, but we usually crashed every night after being at the parks. Contrary to other reviewers we found we waited longer for the boat to Magic Kingdom, than for the buses to the other parks. Maybe we were lucky. We never had to wait long at the parks for our bus back to WL either. Whispering Canyon was a hoot - and great food. Roaring Forks was okay - mainly just had coffee in the am. We brought cereal & oatmeal with us for breakfast so we could get to the parks early - which is the best advice I can give anyone going to Disney with younger children. The grounds/pool area are beautiful - lots of spots to sit and eat (only did this the last day waiting to go home) or to take photos. Kids loved the pool but it was a bit chilly. Hot tub was nice. Loved it and would go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KBTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Aurora
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

I recently stayed 2/17-2/24/09 at Wilderness Lodge with our two sons, ages 16 & 14. What a beautiful property! Outstanding pool complex with a view of a geiser that shoots off every hour.. except at night it is turned off. Activities during the afternoon for little ones and adults... name the artist of the music, etc. A nice small sandy beach with lounge chairs overlooking the lake. My favorite pool was the quiet pool and jacuzzi located closer to the villas on the property. Being a NYer I was out swimming laps every morning (usually all by myself... who else would swim when it is only 50 degrees in the morning?... but the water feels like bath water, toasty) The water was kept warmer than the larger pool and the area is surrounded by towering pines and thick vegetation... beautiful soft music being piped out from somewhere under one of the many ferns... my idea of relaxation. The food is fairly priced in the counter service area.. if you have the dining plan (1 sit down, 1 counter service, 1 snack) you can easily have 3 meals a day... a snack can be a bagel, muffin, drink, dessert, etc. A good tip is if you have extra snacks left at the end.. get delicious pastries in Epcot in France or other pastry shops in the WDW and bring them home. Anyway, very comfortable beds and excellent maid service. Great nooks... 4th floor; couch and 2 chairs with fireplace to read the morning paper... I will return... you should too!
- writing now from the cold and sun in Buffalo, NY

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank booklady4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

I just took my 10 grandchildren and their parents (18 in all) to the Wilderness Lodge for a 3 night stay. I chose the Lodge because it is close to the Magic Kingdom and 3 of the grand children are 5 years old and younger. I up-graded two of the the rooms to the Concierge Level because Disney planners said it was well worth the extra money and I also selected one of the Vacation Villas for another part of the family. The Vacation Villa was lovely. Large rooms and well appointed. I about paid $900/ night for the villa. It was worth it.
On the other hand, the Concierge rooms were $600 a night and were not worth the money! They were very small, the bedrooms had two king size beds and barely any room to move around in much less put suitcases in. The tiny living room contained a king size sofa bed which when pulled out left no room for anyone to walk around in the room much less sit and chat!
The one small bathroom was poorly maintained- leaking shower head, rusty curtain rod rings and the double sinks in the alcove outside of the bathroom barely provided enough room for one person to be at the sink much less two! The food in the concierge dining area provided a continental breakfast (cereals, rolls, fruit and juices) in the morning. I don't know what they served in the afternoon and evening. The only hot food in the morning was oatmeal.
The hotel lobby is crowded and noisy. The only way to get to the Magic Kingdom is by taking a bus or the small launch. Both were acceptable. When I spoke to the Wilderness Lodge managers detailing my concerns, they told me they were very sorry and would be sure to contact the necessary people to correct the problems. Good Luck!
I will not ever go back to the Wilderness Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Worldwidetraveler710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

This was our first disney trip with our girls ages 5 and 2. We had a great time at the Wilderness Lodge. The lobby made us feel like we were in the mountains and it even had a spring with a little bridge to cross over. Our room was on the sixth floor. Our balcony gave us a view of the pool and the seven seas lagoon. Very pretty view and the kids loved watching the water pageant from our balcony each night. The room was like any hotel room with a table with two chairs, two queen beds, fridge...was plenty of room for us. The beds were comfortable and the room very clean.
We ate at all of the restaurants. The Whispering Canyon is an open view from the lobby, which is neat. The restaurant was decent, service fast, and plenty to keep the kids busy. About every half hour the kids get to ride little horsesticks around the restaurant while everyone waves there napkin in the air and if you need the ketchup, your waitress will yell for it at the top of her lungs and every table that has ketchup will bring it to your table resulting in ten bottles of ketchup on your table; a little annoying, but funny. The Roaring Foark counter service was also good. Artist Point, a nicer restaurant, was okay. The food was decent, but it seemed like we were there forever and the kids got impatient.
The weather was so warm that we were able to use the pool. The kids loved the waterslide and the kiddie pool which is right next to the big pool. They had a blast chasing after the ducks and we all loved the mommy duck with her five baby chicks. The ducks do swim in the pools, which is a little gross, but it was a fun experience for the kids. We spent two days at the Magic Kingdom and used the boat transportation every time. We loved the boats. We never waited more than 10 minutes for one and the ride to MK was short and fun. We also took the boat to the MK and then connected over to the Grand Floridian for dinner one night which was fun. I wish they had boat transportation for everything. We used the bus to get to Animal Kingdom, which was my least favorite way to travel. The wait for the bus was about 15-20 minutes and it was packed on the way there. The way back was not crowded at all and the ride was better, but doesn't compare to the boats.
We felt this hotel was clean and had good service. You don't even feel like you are at a Disney resort. It had everything we needed and really made our trip wonderful. We would definitely stay at the Wilderness Lodge again.

Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank stinab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing