We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of My Favorite Disney Resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #33 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Disney Resorts”
Reviewed 16 August 2007

Disney does everything top notch, but this resort was truly incredible. It is designed as a huge log cabin placed in a wooded mountain location next to a lake. The main pool, which unfortunately was being refurbished, is set up to look like a flowing stream with waterfalls. There is also a beach for the lake as well as a second pool. The parks are easily accessable with the bus system and there is also a boat dock that transports you over to the Magic Kingdom.

  • Liked — The Mountain Resort Theme
  • Disliked — The main pool was being refurbished
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dom2737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,086
    934
    299
    127
    40
See reviews for
2,351
471
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

I stayed at the Wilderness Aug 4-Aug 10. This was the greatest resort! The Whispering Canyon Restuarant inside the lobby was so much fun. The kids loved it. Of course it was pricey, but what isn't at Disney World. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. The bunk beds were great and the quick access to the boats to the Magic Kingdom were great! We went through the Contemporary for Monorail access to the Polynesian and it was so much louder and there was so much more noise than the wonderful Wilderness Lodge. Then we were in the Polynesian for the Luau Dinner and it too was loud. The Wilderness was so nice because it wasn't a hub for anything. There didn't seem to be many people just walking through the resort.

The buses to Typhoon Lagoon, Animal Kingdom & MGM were quick. The most we waited was at Typhoon Lagoon.

The pool was great and the kids loved the slide. It was very tame compared to the rides at the parks, but still fun.

The only bad thing I can think of is that the bathrooms weren't as up-to-date as I wouldn't thought they would be. The shower wasn't as shiny and nice as expected, but it did the job and wasn't dirty by any means.

The staff was excellent and the employees at the gift shop were very friendly. They offered and openly traded and gave our 9-year old pins.

I would definitely stay at the Wilderness again. It was so amazing I wish that we were still there.

  • Liked — The feeling of being completely away, yet close to everything for convenience.
  • Disliked — The bathroom wasn't as shiny looking as expected. It wasn't dirty, but it looked run down.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank krob126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2007

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids ages 7 and 9) stayed at the Wilderness Lodge from July 21st thru July 27th.
Check in was a breeze, I had booked our room (a Courtyard view with bunk beds) at the Disney travel site and had received the hotel voucher in the mail before the trip. All I had to do was present the voucher and they checked me in and activated our park hopper tickets and meal plans. We were assigned to the 1st floor facing the woods which would not have been so bad foregoing a nice view if it would at least have let us also forego the elevator wait, but unfortunately the hotel is split level and the lobby and entrance are on the 2nd floor. I asked for another room (nicely of course) and was quickly accomodated with a 3rd floor "original courtyard view" We arrived a few minutes prior to check in time and got the other room in the nick of time according to the front desk clerk. We used the valet parking service ($10 per day) and the bellman brought our luggage up to us in our room and brought it inside the room also) Well worth the tip! The kids loved the (newly renovated with flat screen tv)room because of the bunk beds and the view of the pool and Bay lake. The only complaint about the room that I had was the mattress absolutely killed my back! ( By the last day I had serious problems) Mousekeeping was pretty good, but we never got our handtowels or washclothes twisted into anything neat like I had read about :-( After settling in we went to Roaring Forks snacks to eat. Choices are limited there for hot food, mostly hamburgers, chicken strips and flat bread pizzas. They offered some soups and sandwiches also and an awesome bakery that offered cookies, cupcakes, rice crispie treats etc. If you are thinking about getting the dining plan DO IT! We saved so much money! Mainly because of all the food you get for your meals. The counter service meals, as well as the table service meals include a snack/dessert. We were always too full to eat dessert so we brought it back to our room to eat later. By the end of our stay, we had to throw food away that was left over. We also had 18 snack credits on our dining plan left the last day of our trip. We used them in the bakery and for bottle water for the trip home. The kids loved the pool and the hotel grounds. We saw a lot of rabbits and tons of ducks, and an armadillo. The only problem with the ducks is that they think the pool belongs to them and they defecated in the pool, you would see it floating along beside you. NOT sanitary! We only swam twice during our stay after noticing the duck poop on our second swim. We had two dinners at the Whispering Canyon Cafe. The first night we had a great time and our kids were thrilled with the antics of our server Slippery Pete. They liked it so much they wanted to go again a couple of nights later. We didn't enjoy it as much the second time, I think because our server, although nice, was kind of boring for the place. The boat transportation was great to the Magic Kingdom and Fort Wilderness. The bus transportation to MGM, Animal Kingdom, and Epcot was a little spotty and it took forever to get to your destination on the bus. Forget driving your car, because while the signage was excellent to get to Disney World and our hotel the signs to leave the place left a lot to be desired! It took us 45 minutes to find Wal-Mart with a map! and only 10 minutes to get back! We do not normally have a problem finding our way around either. Overall we loved the place and the service was excellent. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Liked — Hotel staff was excellent
  • Disliked — bus transportation, duck poop in the pool
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gincapello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

Our family of four (10 y.o. girl and 8 y.o.boy) stayed at Wilderness Lodge from July 10-July 19. We had a standard view room on the 4th floor which faced the lobby, opposite Whispering Canyon cafe. The balcony was closed in and had no view except of the roof. We actually liked the fact that noone could see in our room because it made changing clothes easier, and the balcony was useful for drying out swimsuits. We requested a microwave in our room and Mousekeeping brought it up within a few minutes. We rented a car, so we didn't rely on Disney transportation, except we rode the boat to Magic Kingdom. The boat ride was pleasant and we never waited more than a few minutes. The proximity to Magic Kingdom made it easy to return to the hotel for a break mid-day. We ate lunch at Whispering Canyon Cafe, and they had an animal calling contest for the kids. The food was great since we were starving after a morning at the park, and the experience was fun. Our son loved the flatbread pepperoni pizza at Roaring Forks. Hamburgers were okay. I had the grilled chicken salad with apple vinaigerette, and it was delicious!
The lobby of this hotel is magnificent, and the hallways have pleasant nooks with rocking chairs, couches and tables. Our room had rocking chairs just outside the door that overlooked the lobby. Occasionally we could hear the revelry of Whispering Canyon Cafe from our room in the evening, but it just brought a smile to my face because I knew they were having fun, and the noise could easily be ignored. We stayed at Port Orleans Riverside in 2004. We liked WL better because of its proximity to MK and its cozy, relaxing lobby and nooks. Both pools were clean and comparably good, but I loved the ducks, waterfalls, and geyser at WL. Rabbits are around the grounds, too. The lodge and the grounds really make you feel like you are at a park. When the weather is bad, it is nice to be in an enclosed hotel with a fun lobby to explore and not trapped in your room. Ask at concierge for a list of hints for Hidden Mickeys, and you can take your family on a scavenger hunt. Cast members were eager to help when we obviously were having difficulty spotting them.
Maid service was great. Our daughter got sick, and our maid went above and beyond her job requirements trying to lift her spirits and make sure our room was fresh. The maid arranged for balloons and an autographed Goofy get well card to be delivered to our daughter, and when she was still sick the next day, the maid saw her reading Harry Potter and made her an owl towel animal (in addition to the butterflies and the rabbit toothbrush holders that she had already made.) We loved WL and can't wait to return.

  • Liked — cozy, outdoor atmosphere and helpful cast members
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank counselormom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2007

We arrived at the resort around 12:00. They went ahead and checked us in with no problems. My first impression was how beautiful everything was. This resort has everything that you could possibly want and all of the staff is very nice and helpful. Our room had the best view.I don't think we would have been happier with any other room. We had a view of the lake, pool, and also a great view of most of the Magic Kingdom fireworks at night. I strongly suggest that you stay at this place. We will not be going anywhere else. This will be OUR RESORT that we always come back to.
Hint: Eat at the Whispering Canyon and be sure to ask for ketchup!! It's alot of fun!! :)

  • Liked — view, staff, location
  • Disliked — there is nothing that we did not like!!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank disney101Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ste. Genevieve, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

My family and I, consisting of 7 and 5 year old girls, stayed at this resort for 7 days, 6 nights in July. We loved this resort. We did have the chance to see other Disney resorts and what they had to offer and we still liked ours better. The Grand Floridian was nice, but was too ritzy for us. The Yacht and Beach Club was a consideration in the beginning when making reservations but was $700.00 more--we were attracted to the beach/pool they had. After seeing it I wasn't impressed. I am glad we chose the Wilderness Lodge in the end.

At the Wilderness Lodge we loved the pool and the bar next to the pool. They even made a Shirley Temple drink for my 7 year old. She thought she was big stuff. They have a place where you can get clean towels and disgard your used ones for the pool. They also have a beach with chairs and a playground area. The food restaurants were also great. There was a wide selection in my opinion. The Roaring Forks had lots of things to choose from and the price wasn't shocking--it was reasonable for the amount of food you got.
The Mercantile shop was great also. You can buy cereal, popcorn, snacks, bottled water, beer, wine, health and beauty supplies and also a wide variety of souvenirs.

My girls also loved the dolls/animals the housekeepers made and left on their bed after cleaning our room everyday.
All of the theme parks and resorts were very clean!!

I've read many different reviews about the transportion---some good, some bad. Overall all I vote good. It doesn't take long to figure out how to get around either by boat, bus or monorail. I would much rather use their transportion than have to drive a car and have to figure out directions and park the car in every parking lot at every theme park as well as other places plus pay for parking. The transportation was a god send. The Magical Express was convenient also.

I would definitely refer this Resort to others and would stay here again.

  • Liked — clean, kid friendly, great pool, good food selection/convenience
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
6 Thank Shelley65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Readington Twp, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2007

Stayed here from July 18 to July 23. We just love this hotel. Beautiful. Gorgeous landscaping and theming throughout the hotel, rooms and grounds. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very accomodating. Had room service in the morning and evening turn-down service as well, which included clean towels and chocolates. We celebrated our 20th anniversary and also received a card and balloons and a button to wear on our shirts. Had a courtyard view room with 2 Queen beds. Very clean. Rooms had been updated since our last stay 2 years ago. Every room now has a small refrigerator, you do not have to request one anymore. In room coffeemaker/hairdryer. Small table with 2 chairs. Flat screen TV. Plenty of drawer space for clothing. Extra shelf storage space now under the 2 sink vanity as well .We traveled with our 2 teenage daughters and they love it here as well. Ate at Whispering Canyon Cafe. Always a fun time there. Plenty of good food and fun. Our waitress, Lazy Suzan, was great. The manager, Jimmy, was a good sport too, galloping around the entire lobby on his stick pony. The chef came out from the kitchen and mingled with the diners. Roaring Forks has an updated menu with salads and sandwiches and wraps along with the standard chicken fingers and fries and pizzas. Be sure to buy the mug if you don't have an old one and get the free refills on drinks. Mugs now cost $11.99 but worth it in cost of the free refills. The maintenance staff still makes the cute animal figures with towels and washclothes along with arranging any of your children's stuffed animals from home. Always cute. Great family hotel. Great honeymoon hotel too. Pool was great. Water warm because it is July in Florida. No surprise. The geyser still blows on the hour. Used the boat transportation to Magic Kingdom and buses to everywhere else. No problems. No long waits. Always got on a boat or bus. Boat staff and bus drivers very friendly.
Love this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Also rented the Sea Raycers at the dock for 45 minutes. Always fun out on the water. Children must be 12 to drive but be accompanied by an adult. My husband used the jogging trail for exercise in the mornings. Unfortunately, we had to leave and come home to the real world. Have a Disney Day!!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location/Cleanliness/Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Carol059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#63 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing