We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST DISNEY HOTEL EVER!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #34 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Lake View, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST DISNEY HOTEL EVER!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Me and my family have gone to Disney World 3 times! But i would say by far we all enjoyed the Wilderness Lodge the best. Me and my sister got to have bunk beds which made us both very happy. We all slept perfectly! The food was AMAZING!!! We all loved the art work. I would recommend this hotel to any one who loves the out doors. The pools are amazingly warm relaxing and huge. The transportation was outstanding we had buses and boats. The boats were so fast and comforting. If i ever go to Disney World again i will chose to stay at the Wilderness Lodge above every other hotel in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaniegirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,055
    926
    290
    126
    41
See reviews for
2,313
460
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

We are die-hard fans of Animal Kingdom Lodge, but wanted to give Wilderness Lodge a fair try. It came out OK, with a hint of a disappointment. Disney's re-creation of Yellowstone's Old Faithful Lodge is quite amazing, but falls short of providing guests with the sensorial delight of AKL. I have no complaints, but just wish I had stayed at AKL instead. On the plus side: dinner at Whispering Canyon is amazingly fun (hint: ask the waitress for ketchup) and Artist Point is also great (food & wine).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AACN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

This was our 1st Disney trip and 1st experience with Disney Resorts. I had used online check in prior to arriving and had my AAA agent note on my reservation a preference for a high floor away from the elevator room and one on the Magic Kingdom side of the resort. Check in was a breeze and at 9am our room was ready for us. All of our requests were fulfilled. We had bunk bed woods view room on the 6th floor which opened up to the massive and exquisite lobby.

Our room was clean and kept clean throughout our 5 night stay. We could see the MK fireworks from our balcony which we enjoyed. We had no problem with the cleanliness or operation of our bathroom. The lighting is a bit darker than I prefer, but it does keep with the motif and was sufficient for dressing and watching tv. I did not feel the rooms were too small. I was able to keep all our luggage for 4 people in the closet, there was plenty of room to hang jackets both in and out of the closet. My children even used the small table and 2 chairs for breakfasts a few mornings.

I will agree with other reviewers that if your room opens up to the lobby you can hear a bit of the noise in the evening when trying to sleep. However, I did not find it too loud to fall asleep and by 11pm it became much quieter.

Each floor has some seating and the overwhelming feel of the resort encourages guests to relax and take in the lobby. We enjoyed a bottle of wine and conversation with another couple staying at the Wilderness Lodge one evening.

We enjoyed the boat service to Magic Kingdom. We had no problems catching a bus to or from the other parks as well. The grounds are clean and very picturesque. Due to the historic cold front, we were not able to fully enjoy the outdoor setting of the hotel.

Overall we were very impressed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. I would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyGirl2NCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

This was a return trip to the Wilderness Lodge because we loved it 8 years ago. We didn't realize that the rooms had not been updated since then. When we checked in there were pretzels crumbs in our bathroom. When we checked out 6 days later, they were still there. Had to shower in ankle deep water and then wait 15 minutes between showers for the water to go down. Everything in the room looked old, dirty, and dingy. The lobby atmosphere is great and you can't beat the location. Visit the Wilderness Lodge but don't stay there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike49389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

my family stayed here two years. it was the greatest hotel in the world. the cast members were fantastic. plus, i am 13. the first time i stayed here i was about 11. this was a place where my parents actually let me wander around alone. i wewnt to the food area(roaring fork) BEST FOOD EVERRR. sooo happy about it. even 3 different flavored ice cream machine! the cast mambers were lovely. the only problem was the maid. she made me 2 little stuffed animals out of towels. so, i wrote he a note and asked if she could make more. but instead she took back the 2 animals and our money and didnt make me anymore animals. but that was just the only thing. the hotel is amazing. the pool is amazing. and in the back hidden by the beach you can watch a movie on a projector in the sand! also, there is another villa-pool in the back of the hotel. it was an overall WONDERFUL experience. first, we booked our hotel at the port orleans. HORRIBLE HOTEL. PERIOD. so we switched to the wilderness laodge and it made us sooooo much more comfortable. GREAT HOTEL! stay here, ignore the people that say it was horrible, cause obviously they arent disney people! well we are, and this was the best time of my life. thanks wilderness lodge! we love you! <3

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

Staff was great... received late checkout; bunkbed room upgrade.
Beautiful lobby, especially at Christmastime.
Roaring Fork quick service always busy and located inconveniently within hotel.
Rooms felt like cheap motel-- bed linens poor quality and old with stains. Carpet the type you don't want to walk on with bare feet. Dingy.
Also stayed at Yacht Club for same trip and loved it. Worth the higher price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TombradyBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly,RI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

We stayed here the 1st week of December and this resort was beautiful with all the Christmas decorations up.We've stayed at many Disney resorts and this is now one of my favorites.The rooms were clean and comfortable,the water pressure in the showers was good and the service was pure Disney.This is truly one of Disney's best themed resorts and there were plenty of ammenities with the Villas right next door.The restaurants were very good and the pools and hot tubs were also very nice.My only complaint would be that the transportation is a bit lacking.We had to wait about 40 minutes a few times going and returning from the parks but it wouldn't be a deal breaker for us.We really enjoyed this resort at this time of year and we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetefromRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#55 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing