We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for Royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Yacht Club Resort
Ranked #52 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was told by a Cast Member that when Prince Charles was at Walt Disney World earlier this year, the Yacht Club was the resort at which he stayed. You might wonder why he didn't stay at the Grand Floridian, the "flagship" hotel of WDW. But when you walk around the Yacht Club, you can kind of feel why this may have been his resort of choice. It has a more sedate feel than the other deluxe resorts. The decor is in muted grey, burgandy, and navy. The nautical theme sports lots of ship wheels, rope, and woods.
My room overlooked the marina and had a balcony that was great for watching the sunrise and eating a danish picked up from the Boardwalk Bakery on an early morning jog. The hallways can seem like an endless, confusing maze (not that Chuck had to worry about this since he was in the presidential suite). Luckily my room was right around the corner from a single elevator that opened near a door to the quiet pool and a pathway out to the boardwalk, so I didn't have to backtrack to the lobby when I wanted to go to Epcot.
The Yacht Club is a great hotel for early morning exercisers. The path around Cresent Lake makes for a scenic sunrise jog and the Boardwalk Bakery is open early so you can stop in and pack the calories on that you just burned off getting there. You could also jog the path from the Boardwalk area to Hollywood Studios. The fitness center is open 24 hours with your card key or Magic Band (though sadly the sauna room and plunge pool have been separated into the spa and no longer accessable from the fitness center). I saw at least 6 or 7 treadmills and eliptical machines, as well as weight machines, free weights, balls, mats. There are bathrooms and push button lockers available in the fitness center. You can swim laps in the quiet pool (offical opening time was 7am when I was there but a Cast Member told me the quiet pools at all resorts would be going to 24 hours since they are going to more strict hours for the main pools).
While the Yacht Club is a more subdued resort, it wins points with the kiddies for the great Stormalong Bay pool. This meandering pool has a shipwreck slide and a sand bottom. Kids also like the Beaches and Cream soda shop but I would suggest being there when they open since they don't take reservations and the popluar, small space fills quickly. I am told that even Prince Charles had a Kitchen Sink sundae sent up to his room and that the Yacht Club staff once closed Beaches and Cream so that Queen Elizabeth could eat there. Goes to show there's a little kid in all of us, I guess.
One of the best features of this resort is the ability to walk to Epcot and Hollywood Studios (especially handy during Food and Wine Festival or Star Wars Weekends). The Yacht Club is a little further down the path than the Beach Club or the Boardwalk resorts but not excessively so for someone who is used to getting around on their own mobility.
The staff was unfailingly cordial, polite, and well-informed. Even though I arrived at about 11:00, they had my room ready, which I partly attributed to completing online check-in ahead of time.
This was the only Deluxe Resort in Walt Disney World that I had not stayed in so my selection of this resort for this stay was more about checking it off my list rather than a buring desire to stay here. However, after my time at the Yacht Club, I would happliy select this resort again. If it's good enough for the Windsors...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IMBELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,335)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Yacht Club Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Third time staying here. Twice came with the family and most recent for business. Walking distance to Epcot and the boardwalk. Nice, clean place. The staff are freindly and attentitive and willng to serve. Its Disney, what else can you expect.The only dissappointment is there should be signs at each hallway crossing to let guests know where the lobby is. You can get lost and get's frustrating at times.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We arrived to Orlando for a conference in the Convention Center and stayed in the Yacht Club which is almost attached to the Convention Center. The place is beautiful and we loved our stay there.The hotel area and grounds are very clean and very beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vardina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband has long been wanting to try this resort, as we've stayed at the Boardwalk several times, as well as the Beach Club. So we booked in October 22 through the 27th.

When we walked in, we were greeted by the same fresh scent that is piped into the Grand Floridian - my absolute favorite Disney resort - and then escorted to the 5th floor for check in.
Our room was ready, we were already wearing our wristbands - and we were off to the parks, so the check in process was painless. Our first day was perfect, but then...

First, let me say, that all of the Boardwalk area resorts are nice, routinely clean, have nice cast members and their location can't be beat. NOW, let me say that our experience might have been 100% better at this property - had we known that over 1000 Florida Democrats were going to descent onto the property the day after we arrived and TAKE OVER EVERYTHING! Because the Yacht Club is a convention property, this can happen at any time - and they will not offer you that information when you book, so it's a real crap shoot, be advised. When there is a convention at this property, you can't move about at all. The restaurants, coffee shop, bar, club level - everything is PACKED - and because the lobby area is on the smaller side, the noise level is chaotic.This resort is known for its quiet ( fewer families with small kids ) however, it is also known for late night drunks that make a lot of racket, inside, outside and climbing the fence to the pool outside your window in the middle of the night. Fair warning.

We had booked club level, which I would not do again at this property. The room on the 5th floor is very small, with little seating space, and the selections are not on par with the Boardwalk. We paid a substantial amount of money and in return, we got a handful of chips, a coke and two coffees. Not one morning could we get breakfast, and we were there by 8 am. When I say we could not get breakfast, it was because there was nothing left to get - and cast members informed us that there was nothing left to put out, which was not surprising when we saw all of the convention people crowded into that space.

Our room, was on the third floor, and it was a long walk from the elevator. Friends had warned of this at this property but I prefer a distance from the noisy comings and goings, so did not mind. It was a "deluxe" room - which, again, you pay extra - but it was a sizable room for three adults, with two queen size beds, a queen size sofa sleeper and a sitting area. Nothing fancy, but lots of room to move around. The mouse keeping was excellent, but it always has been at every property - maybe because I leave them a tip each day?

There are two really good restaurants at this property. The Yachtsman Steakhouse is wonderful - both service and food are excellent if pricey. The Captains Table was a big surprise for us. It looks mundane from the outside, but the food was excellent and priced MUCH lower than most of the restaurants in this area. We were impressed with a beef shortrib served on polenta - for under $25.00 - which was enough for two adults, since we wanted ice cream for dessert..

Having now tried all three Boardwalk properties, I would always go for Beach Club, forgoing the "deluxe" or Club Level anything. The location is nice, the rooms are fine, they have a great gift, snack shop and they are an easy walk to Epcot. I would also have to say that the cast members at the Beach Club are really good about welcoming you "home" at the end of a long day in the parks, and there is something priceless about that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lagoon.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gramofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We are not Disney fans and stayed here for a conference. Hotel is one of the nicer properties we've stayed at. Much nicer than The Swan and Dolphin next door where we stayed last year. Clean, welcoming, excellent service. Room was ok though the bed pillows were not. Needed a bit of a freshening. Lovely pools and a small non-swimming beach. Food was ok and overpriced. Restaurants crowded and you may have to wait. As you're deep inside the Disney property restaurants off-site are a bit of a drive. Walkable to Epcot or use the Disney shuttles. The conference rooms were excellent. The catered food variable with a few exquisite dishes (bouillabaisse, beef, salads) others ok. None bad. Excellent exercise room. Clearly watching the families with kids, they loved it. We had an excellent convention room rate. If the raster were closer to what appears to be the higher standard rates this would be three stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bcobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Ok firstly, let's put things into perspective, 5 star hotels are all relative. You can get a five star hotel in New York for $150 per night or you can Pay $24.000 per night.

This hotel is amazing, we visited for 2 weeks with my 6 year old daughter and 14 year old son (not forgetting the grandparents in tow).
On our arrival there had been a mix up with my parents room and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful or sincere. They made us feel totally relaxed whilst the problem was sorted out.

The hotel itself is situated in the Epcot resort area, which means that you can get a boat across to the Boardwalk, to Epcot and to Hollywood Studio's which is amazing, the boats leave the hotel pier (yes it has it's own pier) every 20mins. This takes away all of the stress of catching the WDW transport bus or driving and is such a gorgeous experience that we used it whenever we could.

The hotel pools are also amazing. Lazy river, huge water slides and a custom made beach pool with real sand! Fantastic to just chill out and relax after the adventures of visiting all of the theme parks.

The view across the lake to the boardwalk is amazing. And is more spectacular of a night with all of the lights of the Boardwalk glistening in the water.

We did not really eat in the hotel but on the 2 occasions we did we ate in the Yachtsman. The food was gorgeous. Fillet steaks cooked to perfection.

The whole stay was made even better with the new Mickey Bands, these bands allow you to manage your whole stay. They act as a room key, you can charge back to them, and if your a techie, you can link them up with your park tickets and reserve fast passes, it all works amazingly well.

All in all one of the best holiday destinations we have been to and had a fantastic experience. It's not cheap but well worth the extra £.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bcbob1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed at Yacht Club the week of Halloween. The overall appearance is very nice. The New England style was great. The front desk service was fast and pleasant. Nice thing for children at check in was a big screen TV showing Disney cartoons. The hall ways are long but this is big hotel. Might want to stay close to the lobby if you don't want to walk a long way. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The pool is the reason you want to stay there plus the location to Epcot and Hollywood studios. The sandy bottom pool was great and it was not crowded. The only downside is the price not that good for the amount it cost. This how Disney makes it's bucks.They should have a free way to print your boarding passes, you have to go business office and are charged 1 dollar each page. The room walls are thin and you hear your neighbor need to improve this. Was able to see Epcot fireworks from room balcony a plus. I would stay there again if I got the convention fare of $199 a night. Overall very good experience.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floor with balcony facing the lake great view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#70 of 340 in Orlando
1,716 reviews
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#101 of 340 in Orlando
812 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Yacht Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Yacht Club Resort

Address: 1700 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8407
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#17 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#48 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#52 Business Hotel in Orlando
#65 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £311 - £643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Yacht Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the formal grace of a grand New England-style yacht club at this lakeside hotel. Relax in the inviting elegance of a plush lobby replete with nautical touches, explore the whimsical Stormalong Bay and rent a variety of watercraft from Bayside Marina. Sharing many amenities with its pastel-toned sister, Disney's Beach Club Resort, Disney's Yacht Club Resort is walking distance to Epcot and a convenient boat ride to Disney's Hollywood Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Yacht Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Yacht Club Hotel Orlando
Disneys Yacht Hotel
Disneys Yacht Resort
Yacht Club Disney
Disney Yacht And Beach Club
Yacht Club Orlando
Disney Yacht Club Resort
Disneys Yacht Club Resort
Disney's Yacht Club Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing