We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #62 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Went with my Mom December 23-29, 2012. Decided to stay at Port Orleans French Quarter mainly because of the ferry boat to DTD. Did not expect to LOVE it as much as we did. Easy check-in, perfect location (Building 4, right next to the main lobby/food court AND bus station) and we marveled at how quiet the entire property was! Seriously - it was almost eerie how quiet it was. Obviously it was a busy, possibly sold out time at Disney and we didn't hear anyone and only rarely saw anyone on the property!
Food in the cafeteria was good. Great variety, the beignets lived up to their hype and the Mickey waffles were delicious. Staff was friendly. Housekeeping did a nice job, could have vacuumed more often but I can't complain. The only thing the room lacked was more than one tiny little garbage can! I know this is something small and stupid to point out but it was a bit of an annoyance. Bathroom was VERY small (I'm talking you need to swing your legs toward the tub to get the door closed) but functional. The double sink was great. Bath products were nice. Beds were comfortable, nice to have a mini fridge for water/yogurt. TV had a lot more channels than expected and the wireless internet worked just fine every night.
It was pretty cold the week we were there so we didn't use the pool - but it looked neat! The gift shop is nice but a pack of water was something like $16 which was outrageous. Bought some souvenirs at Epcot and they were delivered right back to the hotel the next day. SO convenient.
The boat to DTD was great. Unfortunately it was closed one day because of a high wind warning on the lake. It took about 20 minutes and was such a nice ride.
NOW....this was our first time NOT staying on the monorail system. We'd been warned - it will be crazy crowds, your wait times on the bus will be horrendous, the parks will close blah blah blah... WELL....none of these warnings came true. We got to the bus stop by 7am each day to take advantage of the extra magic hours and got right on and got SEATS...most we ever waited for a bus at any park was 10 minutes. Rode all of our favorite rides with NO WAIT TIMES at all parks before 11am. We were shocked. And it remained this way at all parks, for all buses and in the monorail too for the entire week. I will concede that it's a lot easier for 2 adults to get up at the crack of dawn and move quickly to do what they want than it probably is for people with small children - but don't be scared of spending the holidays at Disney! It can be done and done without long waits or frustrations!
Would definitely stay at the French Quarter again. Quiet, friendly, convenient and very well maintained.

Room Tip: Request building 4. Close to the cafeteria, lobby and bus stop. We were on the top floor so we heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,748
    1,957
    564
    155
    69
See reviews for
3,294
1,149
87
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon Falls, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We arrived into MCO (Orlando airport) on February 25, 2013. 2 Daughters and grandchildren coming from Killeen Texas. Us and Daughters boyfriend from Maine. Arrived at midnight. Took Magical Express from airport to Port Orleans French Quarter. Probably took about 45 min total drive time. Checked in, requested adjoining(door in between) both rooms and building 6. Got what we requested plus bottom floor. Did quick service dining for the 5 days we were here. Again there were a total of 7 people in two rooms. 5 adults, 2 children. Bell services took us to the rooms. Woke up around 8 am the next morning and we were off to take a Disney shuttle to Epcot. Early magic hours 8-9am. Had to wait approximately 25 minutes as the first bus was packed to the limits and people were standing. The second bus we boarded. We had 3 different times that we had issues with the busses. At Downtown Disney there is no ropes or lanes/lines sectioned off for resorts. Anyone could walk up to the busses when they parked and board. Regardless of others that had been waiting there for said bus. People were really rude and would do this and nothing was ever said. After the first time this happened to us we said something to the driver as well as the Disney people waiting or working that stop. The Disney represenatives just did not seem to care at all about this. No carseats allowed on the Disney busses. The ride from Port Orleans FQ was approximately 15 minutes to Epcot. Spent the day there and it rained off and on allday. Went back to resort at around 6pm. Ate dinner in the food court. Was really tasty. We each tried something different. You get an entrée, drink and desert when you have the meal plan. Again we had QS. Which entitles you to have one snack and two meals per day. We did Laundry one day we were there. $2 per wash and $2 per dryer load. Went to the pool another day. Water was really cold. Spa was down due to maintenance. Was unseasonably cold the whole entire week we were there. Mousekeeping did not do any towel animals for us. I did tip but that did not help any with the towel animals. We had two pack and plays delivered for the grandkids to sleep in. There was a refrigerator in the room. This was nice as we put extra juice and milk as well as deserts in the fridge. It was very loud when it ran though....They had horse drawn carriage rides that went by our room at night. The grandson loved seeing the horses! But the youngest Daughter ended up one night coming back from magic kingdom stepping in you know what. Overall we had a great time at Port Orleans French Quarter would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: building 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KarenStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

This is our first on property hotel and its not too bad. The rooms are decent size. You can tell its a little older but they have kept it maintained. The food at the restaurant is real good! There is river boat access to downtown Disney, which was real neat. There is a good store on property. The pool area is real large and fun. Would consider coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YoungTraveler921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler231232
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Room is decent, nicely manicured, staff is mostly friendly... All in all a pretty good stay. Nothing remarkable but good.

Pros- access to downtown Disney via water shuttle, medium distance to parks- not too far but not close, good food cafe

Cons- it's older but has been updated, beds are noisy and not the greatest, can hear Epcots fireworks at night

You'll have a good stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler231232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have stayed here two times in 2012, in June and November. Both times the hotel has consistently accomodated our needs. We have liked our rooms, that were clean, spacious, with free wifi(I'm not sure if the hotel has really free wifi in the rooms or if we got the signal from the lobby). The resort being a little smaller than others at Disney is really practical, because it means less walking, no crowds, and fewer stops in the buses to the parks. The boat to Downtown Disney and to Port Orleans Riverside is very pleasant. We have sometimes went to Riverside to dine because their larger cafeteria has more menu options, including a delicious cheesecake! But Frenchquarters cafeteria was also good, with some nice cajun meals. Staff was courteous and efficient and has provided a cab in our 2nd stay to go the outlets in the black friday, in the middle of the night. In our first stay we have rented a car in the Disney Car Center and we have found the location of the resort convenient for going in and out of Disneyworld. Didnt use the pools, but they seemed great.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marciopsiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late February. I did lots of research before we left, and I chose this hotel based on its small size compared to many other Disney resorts. We have a toddler, and I felt that a smaller resort would work best for us. Overall, we loved the resort. The location right on the river was beautiful, we enjoyed the boat ride to and from Downtown Disney, and the pool area was very nice. There was a small "baby" pool as well as the larger pool with a nice size slide. Our daughter also loved the playground and the cute characters playing instruments near the pool area. The resort has lots of activities going on all the time. We went to a marshmallow roast one evening and a movie on the lawn another evening ("The Princess and the Frog"). We loved both of these activities!

Bus service was almost always very prompt. I think we only waited more than 15 minutes once, and that was for an early morning bus to Animal Kingdom. The buses we rode only went to the Riverside section for pick ups on one occasion, so most of the time we went straight from the French Quarter to the parks. We had several early morning character breakfasts, and buses started running at 6:45 for character breakfasts.

We had the free dining plan, which saved us a ton of money. We were able to attend four character meals basically for free, since they were included on the meal plan. We also enjoyed the resort refillable mugs. I read reviews that said the staff would fill the mugs with milk if you asked, and the first day we were able to do this. However, the second time we asked, an older man told us that this was not standard procedure, and he was not very nice about it. Most of the time we just used the soda fountain or tea, and we had no problems. There is a sink near the drink station to rinse out your mugs.

The one major complaint I have about this hotel was the night of the Disney Princess Half Marathon. We knew the marathon was going on but didn't realize we would be awakened at 4 am by blaring music coming from the parking lot area. It was so loud it was practically shaking the buildings. I called the front desk to tell them there was some very loud music coming from the parking lot, and the lady on the phone told me it was the Marathon, like I should have expected to be awakened at 4 am by blaring loud music since there was a marathon going on. I thought this was extremely rude and disrespectful of the non-marathon guests. They should have at least let people know this would be going on. The music lasted for several hours, and I was never able to go back to sleep. Needless to stay, I would never stay here again during the Disney Princess Half Marathon.

While the hotel rooms themselves were nothing fancy, they were more than adequate with double sinks and a nice refrigerator. I would recommend requesting a third floor room so you don't hear so much noise from other guests and especially from flushing toilets. We stayed in Building 1, which was the farthest building from the main lobby, dining hall, and transportation, but it really wasn't that bad of a walk. Our building had 2 elevators, so staying off of the ground floor was no problem, even with a stroller. The hotel grounds were beautiful, and walking around was always enjoyable. We saw several rabbits, lots of lizards, and even a small snake!

Overall, I would stay in this hotel again as long as it wasn't the weekend of the Disney Princess Half Marathon! It was beautiful and had everything we needed and more.

Room Tip: Building 4 is closest to the transportation and dining hall. Request a room on the 3rd floor for les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlsp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Excellent and attentive staff, very clean rooms, great service, wonderful pool, small resort that was easy to navigate. Transportation to and from parks was quick and easy! No complaints! When I asked for my room to not be made up I was left with a bag of fresh towels, replenished toiletries and toilet paper which was tied to my door. The fridge was wonderful to have in my room for water and snacks. The baggage service was very helpful as I had two suitcases and was traveling solo. Checking it in while checking in for my flight made it easy for me to spend my last day in the parks having fun after the half marathon!

Room Tip: Building 4 was close to food court and busses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clevelandm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing