We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many advantages to this Disney property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #59 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I was a little reluctant, as a solo traveler, to book a Disney property hotel. Lets face it, no matter where you go in Disney World you are going to be dealing with loads of kids, but did I really want to deal with them at my hotel as well? But I was in Disney World for the Princess Half Marathon and the advantages to being in a Disney property outweighed my concerns, as as it ends up this was an excellent choice. Many many great things about this property, the main one to me being it is very small as Disney World Resorts go. Getting from my room to the shuttles, the pool, the dock for the river boat, was a very short walk. The best way to describe how small it is - they only need one bus stop for the resort/theme park buses. The room was very comfortable - I had a Riverview room with two queen beds. There were no King rooms available when I made my reservation and the King rooms cost more anyway.

The rooms all have refrigerators which is very nice. The "closet" was just a hanging rod along the vanity area of the bathroom, but there were plenty of hangers. There is a large chest of drawers. The bathtub was nice for soaking after the half marathon or just a day of running around theme parks. The water pressure in my shower wasn't all that great but was hot and good enough.

There is a bar/jazz club and one cafeteria style restaurant on the property - one of the downsides of the size of the property was the limited eating choices. But there are more restaurants at the adjoining Riverview property which is a short walk down the riverside path. Also you can grab the riverboat from the dock at the property and take it to Riverview or to Downtown Disney where many many restaurants await. I only had lunch and grabbed an order of beignets from the food court, both of which were very good but the service is PAINFULLY slow. They only have one person at each food station who takes your order, then makes your order. Nice that nothing is premade but at lunch time it can take 20 minutes to get your sandwich. In the morning plan on a very long line for the beignets.

Since its a small property it only has one pool - there is no "quiet pool" that you will find at many of the larger properties. There is a water slide in the pool and it seemed pretty good sized. Even though it was warm there weren't a lot of people using the pool.

There WERE a lot of people in the jacuzzi - particularly after the half marathon. One of the main benefits of this property as far as I was concerned. I was surprised how many of the reasonable and moderate properties did not have a jacuzzi.

The bus service is for the most part excellent. When you are picked up you are taken directly to whatever park you are heading to. When you return, the bus is only going to the two Port Orleans properties, and the French Quarter is always the first drop off. I rarely had to wait more than 5 minutes for a bus at either the hotel or the theme parks. The exception was at Hollywood where a bus pulled up to drop off people then left without taking on passengers. We waited a full 45 minutes for a bus and would probably have been there longer if we hadn't gone up to every other bus that pulled up and asked them to tell the dispatcher how long we had waited.

The staff was extremely friendly and extremely helpful. Right after I checked out I realized I had left my Ipad on the bed in my room. A cast member called all over walked back to the building with me and helped me find the housekeeper who had cleaned the room already and pick it up.

Disney World isn't a trip I would make frequently but if I have occasion to be going there again I will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: The river view rooms have a nice view. Rooms by the pool are more centrally located but would seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dianeinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,195 - 3,201 of 5,610 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and 5 days and Disney knows how to treat there guests. The rooms were nice and clean, good sized and the bathroom with the double vanity was really nice. The only problem was we found a few hairs on the ceiling around the fan, and the house keeping was ok but did not wow me. There were some nice touches such as mickey towels, and animal towels, and a picture of Mickey Mouse. The rooms also had queen beds which was nice. Not all resorts at disney have queen beds. The pool was nice and comfortable lots of towels, and not busy, and during the day they have activites for the kids which is nice. The food at the resort was amazing, large portions and fast service. If you like drinks the bar area was nice and live entertainment weds-sat. Drinks are expensive so bring your own, that way you can save a little.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank captainfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Ok, All of Disney's resorts and properties are really nice, but we fell in love with the ambiance of these grounds. The rooms were really nice, ultra modern, and clean. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The theme is supposed to be Mardi Gras related, but honestly it gives off a really nice southern comfort/Big Easy/New Orleans feel. We loved the manicured grounds and the wrought iron work that is abundant throughout. The restaurants were exceptional. The shuttle buses arrived frequently, and there is even a riverboat ferry that will transport you to Downtown Disney (the only of it's kind in the Disney World Resort). Disney lists it as a "Moderate" price resort, and it really is a gorgeous relaxing property in that price range. When I'm in Disney, I know that I will spend only a limited amount of time in the hotel room, but I still want somewhere nice to lay my head at night. This is the place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Im-Batman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

As parents of older children, we needed a resort that wasn't too kid oriented, but that still had the amenities a pre-teen and teen would enjoy, like a pool, and a good restaurant, when we were not at the parks. French Quarter met and exceeded our expectations. With good size rooms, queen beds, double sinks, and a huge pool with a water slide, movie nights on the green, and bonfires with unlimited roasted marshmallows, the kids never were bored. The food was excellent, and the fact that on weekends, we could go to the bar at night, leaving the kids in good hands, and have a drink or two while listening to live music, was perfect. The atmosphere is magical, the scent of beignets in the morning, and jazz wafting through the air, with boats taking you to Downtown Disney on a whim, and curbside shuttles to all the parks, FQ was ideal in every single way, for our week long stay. My ONLY 'gripe', if you can even call it that, is the limited use of the jacuzzi, for adults, because it was open to children too, and my husband and I often tried to get a soak in after a long day walking around, only to find it full of young kids. If they made one separate for adults only, I think it would be awesome and welcome, for tired parents, to slip away for a little bit, from the hubbub. Other than that, staying here is a trip we won't forget, ever. It's beautiful. We fell in love.

Room Tip: Pick garden view rooms for easy access to everything on property, buildings 4-7 are perfect, and fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yogadragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

More intimate than the riverside. 3rd floor balcony room in building 1 was just fine. Clean and relatively quiet. Pool was clean and slides were fun. Not overcrowded. Food in restaurant was surprisingly good and there are many no. Fried food options.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCHotelSnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is a quiet little resort and super convenient to the food court, the transportation and pool from any room. The resort is laid out like streets/town squares with cobblestone streets and is well themed, true to Disney style. That being said, my girls felt like the FQ was "not very Disney." For first timers or young and young at heart that want to feel immersed in Disney, I wouldn't recommend this resort. However, its a great resort (my husband and I liked it a lot); the rooms with queen sized beds and a dressing area with curtain and double sinks make for a comfortable stay. Although we had a standard, parking lot view, we didn't overlook the cars; there's a grassy, park like area in-between the lot and the rooms. A corner room is nice because there are more windows. Although there were loud street cleaners outside our room, we couldn't hear them once in the room, so the rooms are well soundproofed. Bathrooms are tiny but fine and they provide H20 products. The bus service was quick; we never waited longer than ten minutes. Only once out of our 6 days did the bus stop at all four stops at Riverside before going to the parks. The ferry to downtown Disney is nice and relaxing. There weren't many kids at this resort compared to other Disney resorts. We walked to the BEAUTIFUL Riverside along the path by the river and it was crawling with kids, was very lively and looked like a much more fun place to stay for kids....but it is SPRAWLING. IMHO, the French Quarter is a great for couples, families with very young children for the convenience and pool, and people with mobility issues. For first timers, I recommend the Art of Animation, or if budget allows, the Polynesian.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank yogimomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Spent four days at Port Orleans French Quarter ( a moderate Resort) at Disneyworld. Had a wonderful time! Resort was quiet and quaint. We had a room on the 3rd fl. Bldg #7, Riverview. Room overlooked the river, and a 3-5 minute walk on path to sister resort Port Orleans. Mardi Gras parade was going on during our stay. Weather was the best ever, 75-80 degrees. I tool that opportunity to sit by the pool every afternoon. Very quiet. I love the streets and the gardens. The fountains are beautiful. plenty of benches to sit and read. Everyone was very friendly and our room was always cleaned beautifully The one drawback was that the maid didn't get to our room until 1or 2 O'clock. Other than that everything was wonderful. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a quiet spot. Plus, you can take a boat to Downtown Disney instead of a bus.

Room Tip: Ask for Building 7, which is the last bldg. on the resort overlooking the river. We had a corner ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magical5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £162 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing