We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, lots of activities...smaller resort (which we enjoyed)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #58 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a great time at Port Orleans. It is a smaller resort and we really enjoyed having the quiet. The room looked newer and was tastefully decorated. We really liked how the toilet/shower was section off from the sink and dressing area (we were able to get more people showered and dressed quickly this way). The wi-fi had strong service as well. We were in Building 7 on the 3rd floor. I thought this may be a problem as it is one of the buildings farthest away but it looks deceiving from the map. It only took us maybe 5 minutes to walk from our building to the pools and main building. The pool area was usually clean and during the day there are always pool activities going on. Everyone was really nice while we were there and wanted to accommodate our every need. At night there was a campfire and then a movie and it was a nice way to relax and unwind (my 5 year old usually fell asleep during the movie).
The resort is about a 10 minutes walk to Riverside (which is much larger). It was nice to have a change of scenary and use their pool and we rented a surrey bike (which we had a blast one).
The only problem we had was with housekeeping. They kept moving things and we were unable to find one of our cell phone charges. We called down to the front desk and they had one for us within an hour. They were also quick when we needed more towels and pillows.
I am glad we decided to choose a moderate resort instead one of the basic/economy ones. We would probably stay here again but would like to try a different resort next time (not Riverside, way too busy for us).
FYI...there is no fitness center on site...maybe it is because you walk so much at Disney they don't think you need one.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 7 and liked being a little farther away from the pool and main building. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,351 - 2,357 of 5,607 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

LOVE THIS RESORT! The food court is great and never super busy, cute store, nice pool, nice and VERY clean rooms. I suggest a room in building 2, 4 or 5 to be close to the pool and food court. We had a pool view so it was sometimes loud late at night and in the mornings so I suggest a garden or river view. I like how everything is close unlike some of the other resorts where there can be a lot of walking. Buses look 5-10 minutes every time we waiting and most of the times we had to pick up or drop off at Riverside so that was a pain especially after a long day on the parks and we had to stop at all 4 bus stops at Riverside before getting home to French Quarter. During busier seasons you won't have to deal with this. We also sometimes had to pick up or drop off at Typhoon Lagoon. So, it you are counting on the motor coach, get there early (up to an hour before the parks open) so you can can on a bus in case you have to pick up at Riverside. Don't be in a hurry if you are leaving the parks after closing because it will take you some time to get back to your room. We never had this problem when we stayed at Pop Century, Riverside, Caribbean Beach or All Star Music. I guess because it is a smaller resort they share before the busy summer season even though there was a lot of people staying at the resort and using the bus service. If you have older kids, they make not like the slide. My daughter loves the slide at Riverside, French Quarter, not so much. We had to go to the pool at Riverside one day because the one at French Quarter is "boring". If you have little kids it should be fine but if they are older, the slide is nothing to be thrilled about. It is too bad because the pool is really cool and the Sea Serpent looks awesome, especially at night. I highly recommend this resort to anyone. Walking around the grounds at sunset or early in the morning is so beautiful and peaceful. My FAVORITE Disney resort so far!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have stayed at other Disney moderate resorts and found this one to be quite nice. I love the fact that everything on the complex is pretty close in proximity. If you have ever stayed at a moderate resort you know that you have a pretty good chance that you are going to have to walk a good 5-10 minutes to get to all the places on the resort. This was not the case with Port Orleans French Quarter. The down side to this resort was that the rooms were just average. There was nothing special about any of them here. If you left a note or asked for anything the housekeepers would leave it for you. Another benefit to staying at a smaller moderate resort is that the lines for the buses and the frequency of the buses to go to the parks were great. My family did not wait for more than 10 minuets for a bus to arrive. We also had a scooter, and there was only one time that we had more than one person with a scooter get on the same bus with us. I would definitely stay at this resort again. If you have mobility issues and want a resort with everything very close this is it. Also, the bar in the lobby was nice. The bartender makes some slamming drinks!

Room Tip: Great for people with mobility issues. Building Two was in a decent location to the boat dock, lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shroomi299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are Disney fanatics that visit at least once a year and sometimes more. French Quarter is our favorite Disney moderate resort because of it's size. It is much smaller than most of the Disney properties so you don't feel like you are still standing in line in the park when you are at the hotel. The rooms were renovated a few years ago and it is one of the few moderate hotels which has queen size beds as most have only doubles. The pool is very nice and the food court is not overwelming like some of the larger hotels. The cobble stone street and horse drawn carriages are a nice touch. It almost feels like you really are in New Orleans.

Room Tip: You will pay a little more for rooms on the river but the view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nancy30342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed for the 3rd time at POFQ 5/31 - 6/4/14. I have stayed at other Disney resorts and this is our favorite. However, I was sorely disappointed in the service. We did early check in and were told to check our bags in with bell services and when we arrived back to the resort they would bring our bags to the room. We came back and the guys were rude and handed all the luggage to me and my 11 y/o daughter...really??? I lugged it to our room, on the 3rd floor. Day 2 I left a tip for the "mouse" keeper. She cleaned the room and left a towel animal, but left a bottle of cleaner on the side of the bathtub. Since my kids are older it wasn't a big deal but if I had had little ones it would have been a HUGE deal. Day 3 I left a tip and there was no towel animal. Day 4 I forgot to leave the tip and she didn't take the dirty towels. From now on I will only tip the very last day and it will be according to service. We saw other rooms with awesome towel animals, but not ours?!?!?! The majority, not all, of the workers in the restaurant are rude. One of our beds was very squeaky when getting in and out (and I always LOVE Disney beds) What happened to Disney Magic? Most likely I will return to Disney World but I'm not sure I will stay at this resort. If it weren't for the boat ride to Downtown Disney I would definitely not return, but love that ride.

Room Tip: Building 5 is near everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slccH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here in May for 2 weeks and completely fell in love with it. It's a great size - has a main building with a store, restaurant, bar and reception. It has 5 buildings with rooms, and a big enough swimming pool.
There is a grass area in the centre of the buildings (3 & 4) from what I remember, which plays movies at 9pm everynight. The movies change every night, we definitely enjoyed watching Frozen and Tangled under the stars!!

The rooms were great - properly sized to accommodate the family size.

The rapid refill cups were definitely worth the money - there was a great choice of drinks (dr pepper, coke, lemonade, water, sprite etc) and you could refill it whenever you want.

The food was pretty good (chicken quesadilla and choc chip pancakes with strawberries being our favourites).

Staff were very helpful - especially Toni the man on bell services! Real easy to talk to and did a great Donald Duck impression.

There was shuttle buses from the outside to epcot, magic kingdom etc and a boat ride was available by the pool to downtown disney.

Could not fault this hotel - loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our stay was great in every way!! The grounds were immaculate and it really had a New Orleans feel to it. Loved the Food Court, the boat to Downtown Disney was a real plus, and the staff was a big help. The rooms were really comfortable and our third floor room in Building Five with a River view was great!!

I did a lot of research to find the right Resort between Value and Premium and we are so glad we chose the French Quarter!! Disregard the low, grumpy reviews, you will Love it Here and we had two teenagers that loved it!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £162 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing