We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an okay stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #58 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at French Quarter for six nights during our honeymoon. This was my first time staying at WDW resort. I wasn't feeling the Disney Magic at this resort. The room was dusty, crumby, and the carpet felt dirty. Way too highly priced. If this hotel was not connected to Disney with all the extras, I would have given it 2 stars.

Pros:
-Smaller resort. Easy to navigate and get around. Less people to compete with for the bus.
-On WDW property--you get extras such as Disney Magical Express from the airport with luggage shipped directly to your room, transportation around the property, Magic Bands with easy entry to your room, charging to your room, Fast Plus+
-Free wifi
-Spacious laundry room ($2 to wash, $2 to dry) with plenty of washers/dryers
-The quick-service cafeteria is themed nicely and has good food
-Cute towel animals on 1-2 nights during the stay.

Cons:
-Bed is quite uncomfortable, and the mattress/linens feel cheap. And this was my assessment after a long day in the parks.
-The room was dirty. Dusty shelves, carpeting with wet/slippery spots, crumbs on the bench. Come on now, Disney! I didn't feel as though I could truly relax in this room.
-COLD water. Good for drinking, not for showering in. Nothing like relaxing in a hot, steamy shower at the end of a 16-hr day to soothe your aching muscles, right? Except it was barely lukewarm. ugh.
-Bus service--although convenient, can be touch-and-go. One night it took over an hour to get back to the hotel from Downtown Disney due to the electronic dispatch system being down. And sometimes you will have to wait through the bus dropping off guests at all four stops at Riverside before heading over to French Quarter.
-No table-service restaurant at this resort.
-The Scat's Cat pub is small, dark, mostly empty and depressing.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 5, which was quiet and far from the pool, yet an easy walk to the restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,242 - 2,248 of 5,572 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

I agree with the other reviews that this has to be the best moderate resort in disney. It is one of their smallest resorts which makes it very convenient. Regardless of which building you are in you are always close to the restaurant, the pool, and the bus stations to the parks. We typically had bus service that was direct to the parks and home. Food in the cafe was typical of disney but very convenient when you needed a quick bite. We stayed in building #4 which I would highly recommend since it was so close to everything. Staff was great and rooms were clean and nice. We liked having a fridge in the room- bought milk and cereal in the store there for breakfast before heading to the parks. Pool was fun for the kids with the slide. We took the boat over to downtown disney which was fun and relaxing. We will definitely stay here again when going to disney.

Room Tip: Request building 4- convenient to everything at the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank zaz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Having previously stayed off the Disney property at a separate hotel, we were excited to stay on property. The key here is convince, you get off the plane in Orlando and Disney starts taking care of you right away, with the free shuttle to your hotel and even taking care of your luggage. That's the theme of staying at Disney, it's easy to get around and there are conveniences to it. The actual Port Orleans hotel is nice, nothing fancy but it is on the inexpensive end of Disney Hotels, the food court dinning was the biggest down side, The pool area was nice. The water taxi to Downtown Disney is a cool feature.

Room Tip: very spread out campus, having a room closer to the center is convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Shugs98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was the most affordable resort hotel for us and it did not disappoint. We had a two double bedroom. It was great. You walk in and right away notice the mickey mouse logo in towel form. Good sized room. The housekeeping service was awesome. They cleaned the rooms without any disturbances and provided extra towels and pillows without us asking. The hotel had all the amenities you could think of. The pool had a water slide as well as kiddee pool for infants and toddlers. They had a outdoor bar by the pool. The have a cafeteria style eatery in the lobby area. The food is half way decent. They offer laundry service for a price (relatively cheap). They were very accommodating. The offer so many services (flower and pizza delivery just to name a couple).We loved our stay here and will definitely do it again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool or the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MasCabron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Port Orleans for a couple of nights before our Disney cruise in early June. We were really pleased with the overall experience. The room itself was nice. Nothing super fancy, but it was definitely a nice room. They have an in-room safe which was also nice. The kids LOVED the pool area which is VERY closely watched by life guards. They had one seated in a chair and about four others that were constantly patrolling all sides of the pool, never standing still, always walking back and forth in their area , looking and watching. They have a lot of lounge chairs as well and towels are provided at the pool. They have a really nice slide as well. I highly recommend you carve out some time for the kids to enjoy the pool. It's a nice way to unwind and give your feet a rest. Oh, there's a clothes line in the hotel room shower, just pull it from one end and hook it in at the other. GREAT for drying out those bathing suits!

They have a nice gift shop that also carries snacks and various medicines, toothbrushes, etc. The food court area is a good size, but it does get pretty busy in the late morning. They have a neat system worked out for the drink refills. There's a chip on the bottom of your cup that is scanned when you put it on the soda machine (must be placed on the shelf, not held up in the air). Then the screen tells you how many refills you have left and when they need to be used by. You get three refills with the standard soda purchase.

The overall ambiance of the hotel was very nice and it did remind me a lot of the French Quarter. The resort is well laid out, not too difficult or far of a walk from one area to another. The shuttle pick-up and drop-off are all out in front of the resort and to your rights. Each station is clearly labeled as to which parks it is for. Shuttles are assigned to specific parks and that destination is clearly posted on the front of the bus when it pulls up to each station so you can be sure you're getting on the right one.

The shuttles themselves are nice and have a lot of seating. It does get pretty crowded at times, so sometimes people had to stand, but they have poles to hold onto and the rides are not that long. The shuttle stations are the same at the parks. Just look for the one that services your resort (and the bus driver will also tell you when you get off). There is always a shuttle guide on big signs in the shuttle area as well.

We did not partake of any of the resort's planned activities or movie nights, just too busy. But they do have movie nights, pool side activities, etc. every day. There are PLENTY of channels in the rooms. We loved the all Disney cartoon classics channel. The kids got to see a ton of the old classics I grew up with but are so hard to find anymore. That alone brought out the kid in me. :)

*If you're taking a cruise after, there's a special bus that comes for you. It is VERY luxurious. They play a video for you on the way there and back. It will pick up from a few resorts then head out. The drive was about 1.5 hrs. You will be met by cruise representative in the lobby of the resort. S/he will check you in and answer any questions you have. Ours gave us all kinds of little tips. We just waited with our luggage and then once bus came, they loaded our luggage and we got on pretty quickly.

Room Tip: There are no elevators that I could see, so get a ground floor room if you don't want to carry a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FAMVACLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It has been a couple of years since I was last in Orlando. Previously I had only travelled there with my family, but this time I was travelling with my best friend who had never been to the States before. We booked our holiday through a local travel agent and were extremely surprised with how affordable French Quarter was (having looked it up online it looked like it would be much more expensive, particularly being a Disney resort!). This was my first time staying in a Disney resort, having previously stayed in the Hilton Lake Buena Vista, and so I was extremely excited to see what it was like.

It certainly did not disappoint. From the moment we stepped off the Disney Magical Express bus at our resort I knew we had made the right choice. We were greeted at the door by a staff member from reception who welcomed us and brought us to the reception area and checked us in with no hassle. She also presented us with our Magic Bands, along with information about the resort and map and answered any queries we had.

We strolled over to our room, taking in our surroundings and if one thing can be said about Disney Resorts its that the theming is spot on, right down to the name of the 'streets' on the ground. We were in building 5 which was very near to the centre of the resort.

Our room was lovely and spacious with two double beds, two sinks and plenty of storage room. The mini fridge was a nice touch and we were able to fill it up with plenty of water for the room. The cleaning staff were brilliant and so friendly, and even left towels in the shape of mickey mouse a couple of days! It was a really nice touch and the room was always spotless when we got back to the room at night. We didn't even need to use the A/C all that much. We were on the ground floor and with the balcony walkway coming out above us the sun was never shining directly on our room, and while we would pull the blinds when we were heading out it kept the room at the perfect temperature - not too hot and not too cold!

The only negative I would have is the the actual shower room was quite dark, but really it does not matter considering we spent very little time in the room each day anyway! The resort was very quiet, which was brilliant, perhaps because each room leads outside and it was not like a hotel with corridors and people constantly walking by to get to their room each night. It was very peaceful and we encountered no interruptions at all.

The resort is only a short walk away from its sister resort Port Orleans Riverside. We only had time to explore this resort on our final day and while it is also lovely, it is much bigger than French Quarter and judging by the map (and the four disney bus stops) some of the buildings would be quite a distance from the main building. This is fine for a party like ours with two adults, but I don't know how convenient this would be with children in tow, particularly in the morning when heading to breakfast. If you're looking for a smaller, quieter resort then definitely opt for French Quarter over Riverside.

The main building in French Quarter comprised of the counter service dining area 'Sassagoula Floatworks and Food Factory Food Court', the bar 'Scat Cat's Club', the reception, Jackson's Store and a games area.

I was really impressed with the Food Court. At first I was a bit reluctant, having been used to buffet breakfasts but the Food Court was brilliant. It comprised of five different counters, each serving something different. We gradually worked our way around the counters, trying something different each morning. From bagels, croissants, beignets, Mickey Waffles, grits, pancakes, omlettes - the list is endless! The food at each was superb and the staff were very polite and quick. Although people rave about the beignets, our favourite had to be the Mickey Waffle (it's a Disney classic!). We never had trouble finding a seat in the mornings and it was really convenient and had something to suits all tastes. The only negative was that there was no option for a character breakfast. However, there are many different opportunities to attend a Disney Character meal in the parks or other resorts so you don't miss out (we booked one for our last full day in the Animal Kingdom and it was so much fun - even for two adults!).

We were never around to try lunch or dinner in the food court but if the food was anything like breakfast then I can safely say it was brilliant and well worth trying!

We had drinks in the Scat Cat's Club one night when we decided to take it easy and had a great time sampling some of the different cocktails on the extensive menu. Our personal favourite was the Magical Star Cocktail which even came with a glowing cube- something which fascinated the kids sitting nearby! The bar was quiet at night, as expected, but it was nice to get a break from the hustle and bustle of the parks and Downtown Disney.

It could not be easier to get to the parks or Downtown Disney either. On our first night we got a boat from our hotel down to Downtown Disney, which was lovely and peaceful but if you're in a bit of a rush down for reservations at a restaurant you're probably better off catching the shuttle bus, which arrives every 20-30 mins. There is a bus for each of the four main parks and they all arrive fairly frequently, dropping you as close as you can get to the parks. We were particularly impressed when we were leaving Downtown Disney one night quite early in the morning and we were still able to get a bus to our hotel. We never had to worry that we would have to spend money on a taxi home or anything and there is always someone around to help you.

Overall, I cannot recommend this resort enough! The staff were so friendly and helpful (helping us with our Magic Bands and even arranging transport for us to Universal!). The resort is absolutely beautiful and so peaceful and the rooms are lovely and spotless. We cannot wait for our next trip back to experience the magic of Walt Disney World and Port Orleans French Quarter one more time!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in building 5- it's the perfect distance from the main building. We had a garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank UFeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My family and I have stayed at Port Orleans French Quarter twice. This resort is beautifully themed and has all the magic expected from Disney. In the Lobby area, there is a delicious quick service restaurant called Sassagoula Floatworks and Food Factory. They have many options for any appetite or time of day. Also, in the lobby area, there is musician playing traditional New Orleans music. He definitely made the atmosphere very exciting.
Although the rooms were not connected to the main lobby building, they were all close to the lobby. We would usually walk back to the lobby and fill up our mugs each night.
The rooms are very nice. The outside of the buildings are ornate and feature many bold colors. Inside the rooms, the bedspreads are purple and gold, fitting with the New Orleans theme.
In my opinion, this hotel is the nicest moderate and a good alternative to deluxe resorts when staying during the holidays.

Room Tip: Request a room closest to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DisneyGirl345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £165 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing