We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #58 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel. My first was a few years back.. At that time, there was a Mardi Gras theme. The atmosphere made it feel as if you were actually in New Orleans. Three man bands walking around, jugglers, and a great party every day on the property. At this visit, I was disappointed. I was greeted by a someone giving away beads and coins to toss in the fountain. I was excited to hear the music when on the property, but was disappointed when I realized, it was being blasted through a speaker. The only people working on the property were maintenance people in golf carts. The entertainment were from the cute lizards all over the property.
I have no complaints regarding the cleanliness of the room. It was very clean and house keeping kept our room stocked fresh towels.
The pool was welcoming on hot days. There was entertainment for the kids in the pool and a nice bar for the adults.
As for the transportation, the buses run approximately every 20 minutes. Approximately is used very loosely at Disney, as we sometimes waited longer for buses. Getting to one water park took us 45 minutes to just get on a bus.
Honestly, the only perk of staying in the park is the meal plan. If you use it properly, you come out getting more than what you paid for. I honestly would stay outside the park on our next trip and rent a car. You can get in and out of a park on your time and not be stuck waiting for transportation to get you around. Most of the buses that run to the French Quarters, also had to pick up passengers at all 4 stops in Orleans Riverside, which means you are on the bus even longer.
On a final note, when using Disney to get you back to the airport, watch out. Our driver dropped everyone off in Terminal A. Even though my plane was in Terminal B, he parked the bus, removed our luggage and had no plans on taking us to the next terminal. Since Disney decides when you need to be at the airport, we had to run to make it to our gate on time.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is so spread out, you may want to ask for a room closer to transportation, if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DogRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,230 - 2,236 of 5,572 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had an emergency situation come up with our four year old daughter while at our hotel stay and managerial staff was excellent. They went above and beyond in assisting with taxis (and paid for our taxi travel) to emergency room and also double checked in on us when we got back. Tony, Housekeeping Manager, was unbelievably kind and professional. We were unable to visit the parks and spent the remainder of our time at resort. Great hotel. I enjoyed the fact that French Quarter was a smaller resort than other Disney hotels. It has appx. 1000 rooms compared to the 3000 at others. Bus transportation was superb when used and that is very important when booking a disney hotel. Wonderful pool, great laundry facility, nice food court and rooms were very clean. Close enough to Riverside resort to walk which has larger amenities. Great walking/jogging path. Boat to Downtown Disney was a big benefit. The trip was difficult and definitely not as planned, but Disney knows how to hire, and that made all the difference for us and our viewpoint in returning in future.

Room Tip: We stayed in a river view room and it was very nice...however all rooms appeared to be nice and quai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
11  Thank Blpatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our second stay in a Disney Moderate resort. The time previous we stayed at Coronado, which was nice, but we found ourselves spending a great deal of time walking around that enormous property, so we opted for something smaller and more compact this time around and POFQ was perfect. The pool and the bus stop and the lobby - as well as the boat which goes to downtown Disney - are all short walking distances from the rooms.

Otherwise the Hotel was fine. Typical Disney Moderate. Rooms were clean. The pool area was wonderful for the kiddos (ages 4-12) and there was a nearby bar for the grown-ups. The only dining was a quick serve type place that certainly was not exciting, but works for a quick meal in a pinch. The ice cream and beignets made a tasty late night snack.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool. Noise level is fine and it puts you in a good location. The hotel ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Buck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have been to Port Orleans several times ,very disappointed this year .When you wanted to go in cafe' you had to walk pass a cloud of cigarette smoke or walk on the opposite side walk around to the front.Never could have a cup of coffee outside without the stench of smoke.Very disappointed. I thought everyone would know second hand smoke is bad do you want to put your child at risk. Change the designated area so we can enjoy going for dinner! Port Orleans not for us anymore!

Room Tip: River views very quiet spend more to get more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is our second time staying at the French Quarter. We loved staying here. We have stayed here and at another moderate resort. We like the French Quarter better. The pool was nice but busy (expected because of how hot it was). We had the meal plan through Disney. The food was okay a little to much the same every day. It was quiet and relaxing. Our children liked the slide and the water ferry that took us to Downtown Disney. When we return to Disney, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sweetpea03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family and I have had the opportunity to stay at every WDW deluxe and moderate resort over the years, some multiple times. French Quarter is at the top of our list when traveling with children. We were reminded why on a trip this July that included two children under 10. The reasons:
1. French Quarter is small and intimate when compared to the other moderate resorts, Everything is close and manageable, unlike the sprawling grounds of Riverside, Coronado and Caribbean. Our room was convenient to the pool, restaurant and bus stop while still being tucked in a beautiful, quiet corner.
2. The pool rocks. We think it is better and more kid-friendly than any pool at WDW, including those at deluxe resorts such as Beach/Yacht and Polynesian. French Quarter's pool is whimsical, beautiful and fun, with a really cool sea serpent slide. And there are enough lounge chairs available for the demand (even on hot July afternoons) which isn't always the case at other resorts.
3. Smaller resort means fewer people waiting for the buses. There is one bus stop at French Quarter (not four) and we always got a seat.
4. It's fun to take the water taxi to Downtown Disney, an option that doesn't exist for most WDW resorts.
5. The hotel and grounds are truly beautiful. Even the kids notice.

Room Tip: Garden View rooms are the best option -- a little more $ than Standard View but less $ than Water Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank Photobug4727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Well this was our families first trip to WDW after doing Disney Cruises the past two summers. My wife daughter and I traveled there at the beginning of July 2014.

Well this trip was a surprise to both my daughter who though we were going to the Smokey Mountains and my wife as well who believe we were staying at an economy motel in the Orlando area. First thing I can say is if you can spend the extra cash make sure and stay on property at WDW the convenience of transportation is well worth the extra expense.

We arrived at PO French Quarter at about 4pm and we began the check in process on site as we had not completed the new online check in feature. I cannot comment on the benefits of the new feature but checking in on site was a breeze and allowed my daughter a chance to hang with a few cast members, and get a butt load of mickey stickers for free. The entrance to the Resort was beautiful and really had a feeling of New Orleans except a bit cleaner.

Our room was a Garden View room with two double beds. It was nice, a bit dated but definitely much nice then most economy stops in the area. The linen was clean and the beds were very comfortable. One word of advice be careful when going into the bathroom area the change in flooring is extremely slick and I almost cracked my head open more then once while wearing flip flops.

The pool was wonderful, plenty of towels and not too crowded. I don't like crowded pools and was able to enjoy myself. My daughter had fun playing with the other kids and participating in the pool games administered by the staff. I enjoyed sitting poolside as well drinking an ice cold Blue Moon, life was good.

Don't miss out on the boat ride to Downtown Disney. The ride is a blast in itself.

There are plenty of other activities put on by staff weather permitting such as, Movies under the stars and bon fires.

The only real negative thing I can say is there was a bit of construction going on near the main building. It wasn't to bad and the noise levels were minimal, but still it sucks to see dudes walking around with shovels and bo cats while you're on vacation.

Room Tip: Try and get as close to the main building as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £165 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing