We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #65 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Hagerstown
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful !!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed at the Port Orleans, French Quarters in April, 2009. What a wonderful resort. Everything was clean, and the staff was extremely helpful. (Espically Beau the doorman, Beverly @ the front desk and Bertha, our housekeeper). We traveled with a 6 year old girl who was treated like a princess everyday. The grounds were well kept, the pool was better than great, and the room was spectaular. We had a room in building #2 overlooking the river. The boat from the French Quarter to Downtown Disney arrived just as promised. This resort definately received an AAA +++ from the 3 of us. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzemaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,681
    1,908
    551
    151
    69
See reviews for
3,198
1,131
83
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I had so much trouble trying to decide where to stay at Disney World, that I wound up reserving a split stay between Port Orleans French Quarter and the Villas at Wilderness Lodge. The New Orleans theme and the landscaping of the French Quarter really appealed to me. It definitely met my expectations and then some!

When we initially arrived, we found we had a FedEx that required a signature that would need to be brought to our room, and also a delivery of water and other items, and my husband wanted extra hangers, and we were having trouble adjusting the temperature of our refrigerator and needed assistance with that as well. We were anxious to get out and about and were concerned that we'd be waiting around for deliveries, etc in our room for a long time. But everyone arrived very quickly -- we were so impressed! The staff was absolutely wonderful at this resort.

The room was very clean and charming. As we departed for a park early every morning, I loved opening the door to dazzling sunshine and the beautiful, tranquil landscape of trees and cobblestone streets and horsehead "hitching posts". And there would be a cheerful doorman who would hand out a Mardi Gras coin to our five year old -- what a great way to start off the day! We later took her to the pretty fountain on the grounds so she could put her coin in and make a wish.

She participated in the Pirate Cruise leaving from Port Orleans Riverside. We enjoyed a lovely walk on a sunny morning along the river to get there. My daughter absolutely loved the pirate cruise! When I arrived to pick her up, she just walked by and said "It's not over yet." And it wasn't. The children had one more treasure chest to find, which was located in the Riverside Lobby. All of the children were having so much fun! This was a really wonderful experience for my daughter.

She also loved the dragon slide at the pool. She had a lot of fun at the Wilderness Lodge pool as well, but this was her favorite.

We all enjoyed the boat ride to and from Downtown Disney -- what a unique way to get to and from a shopping/restaurant area! The bus transportation from this resort was excellent as well. We never had to wait long for a bus to any of the parks.

I can't say anything about the food court here because the only thing we bought here to eat were beignets. We were on the regular dining plan and would have a light breakfast in our room and lunch and dinner either at the parks or at other resorts or at Downtown Disney.

The one thing that began to wear on us towards the end of our four night stay here was the double beds. We are accustomed to king-sized beds at home. And my daughter, being in a strange place, insisted that I sleep with her -- so my mother, daughter and myself wound up together in one double bed, if you can imagine that! But I knew about the double beds going in, which is why I scheduled the second half of our stay at the Wilderness Lodge Villas. I think if we were to do an entire stay at the French Quarter I would reserve two rooms for the four of us, just to ensure we all got a good nights sleep.

Anyway, I just loved the tranquility and beauty of this resort, with jazz music quietly playing -- such a relaxing place to return to after a busy day in the parks. It really is an excellent value when compared to other resorts at Disney.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank labeckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
250 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

This is the 3rd year we stayed at POFQ. We like its central location and compact size. Our children are 6 and 8 and they love the serpent slide at the pool. We walked to Riverside twice to use their pool - the slide is higher and faster. The pool is also slightly deeper from 3 to 5 feet versus POFQ 3 to 4.5 feet. We went to Disneyquest twice and Typhoon Lagoon, both of which are near by. The wave pool and slides at Typhoon Lagoon are great. We went swimming every day except for one when it rained.

The key to doing a lot of rides is getting there when the parks open and using the fastpass for popular rides. Read the Unofficial Guide to Disney for the touring plans. Because the POFQ is centrally located, it takes about 15 -20 min to get to the park once the bus arrives. It saves so much time compared to staying out of the park. Trip time depends on whether they stop for Riverside. Coming back from the Magic Kingdom after the Spectromagic light parade (highly recommended) only took 12 minutes!

We used the quick service meal plan (available this year) as we didn't rent a car and used the Magical Express. The meal plan really worked out well this year and saved us money since the menus are pricey (see www.allears.net for menus) The first year we went they only had the Table Service plan and that was too much food and too much time eating. The second year we skipped the meal plan. This year with the quick serve plan ( 2 quick service and 2 snacks per person per day), we ate breakfast items we had ordered from gardengrocer or had brought along (toast, yogurt, cereal). For lunch and dinnerwe would usualy eat at the parks or Downtown Disney. The food at POFQ was standard Disney fare and not a great selection. We ate there 2 times for lunch/dinner and that was enough.

Be warned - Toy Story Mania is extremely popular. They ran out of fastpasses by lunchtime and waits were 90 min to 2 hours by then.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swansfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Flights with Virgin-they were fine and on time both ways. Used the bus transport to hotel as we didnt want to hire a car. Check in was fine. Our room in building 2 was dead handy for the pool area, foodcourt, reception and riverboat dock.We couldnt have had a better location. Rooms in FQ are adequate but could probably do with a refurb. Room was clean and everything worked which was most important. We missed having a balcony/patio as we normally do on European hols.The hotel foodcourt wasnt really a place we could enjoy a proper meal-paper plates and plastic cutlery. It was OK for a croissant /pastry or a quick snack. Get the souvenir mugs-theyre good value 12.99$ and you can refill at the hotel with hot+cold drinks. The pool area was nice. But it did get crowded in the afternoon (as it was school holidays). We used the Disney buses and even though it was Easter break and busy we always got on our bus. We made use of the Magic Hours and were up early most days but it was worth it. Used the riverboat loads for Downtown Disney-every 20mins fm 10-4 then every 10mins till 11.30pm.(Got a bit tired of the commentary on the new Disney Vacation Club Tree Houses!!!!). We were really near to Epcot and Downtown Disney fm this hotel. One thing we found though was that the Disney people werent very helpful when it came to asking how we get OFF the site to I-Drive without a car. 'Take a taxi' they said. They werent up to speed on the bus services-we found out ourselves from our 'Brits Guide' that the Lynx 50 from outside Downtown gets you to Seaworld and there you connect with the Lynx 8 to I -Drive and also the outlets malls in the opposite direction. Ask for transfers when you board the 50 and it costs you 2$ each way AD and 1$ KIDS.Downtown Disney was a bit too noisy and overpriced for us to enjoy a meal so we ate off site most nights. We walked to Riverside a few times. Its a nice walk or you take the riverboat. You can hire racer boats etc there and also eat in the foodhall if you wish to. The Port Orleans was a good base for us as we wanted to do Disney properly over the 2 weeks+taking in to account it was school holidays we did and saw all we wanted to. Parks, water parks, parades, fireworks are really super and even though we had to get up at 6.30 a lot of the time it was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We stayed at POFQ 2 years ago and we loved this resort, we had 2 rooms for the five of us. The staff was friendly, the pool was awesome, we saw horse and buggy rides. The resort is not as big as some of the other Disney World resorts we stayed at in the past. The restaurant, gift shop and the lobby were a short walk from our room. There is a small playgound area for younger kids. We took a leisurely walk over to it's sister resort PO Riverside to check it out and it was not far at all. That is another beautiful resort that we would like to stay at. Port Orleans French Quarter resort has dock with boats, I believe they are pontoon boats that take you over to Downtown Disney, which was very convienient and relaxing. We did not wait long for them. Even the wait for the buses were not long. Overall this is a great resort!! We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We are Florida residents and take advantage of DisneyWorld every chance we can and have stayed at a variety of locations in and around DisneyWorld. In April 2009 I decided to give Port Orleans- French Quarter a try. What a nice surprise! Of all the moderate level hotels, this one is now my favorite. It's a smaller property which means less walking from your room to lobby/shuttles/food court/pool etc. If you want more, it's a quick and beautiful walk along a very scenic path to get to the Riverside section if you want to boat/bike/fish etc. Riverside offers more ammenities, but I liked the tranquility of the French Quarter best. For the price (off season) you can't beat this one.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarySLakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We went to Disney World during Passover/Easter week. I know, but it worked out well without the crowds and madness, if you plan well. Three kids, and we chose the Port Orleans for the price, and for all of the Resort benefits, like early park hours and the meal plan. I liked the French Quarter theme and the family style restaurant was VERY family oriented. The pool was gorgeous and fun for the kids. It was clean and nice and I have no regrets. Transportation by boat to Downtown Disney was a plus. I think the reason that I like the French Quarter was that it was not too "over the top" Disney-wise, and a good price. I hope it stays this way!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidawedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing