We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #65 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Just returned from a 10 night stay at the POFQ and wouldn`t hesitate to return or recommend to family / friends.
We flew Virgin and were able to upgrade our prebooked seats at the airport to extra leg rooms seats at £50pp (though there is no charge for the window one as you do get part of the emergency exit door in your legroom) you can also upgrade to premier `on the day` for £149 pp which is half the price of pre booking this service but is subject to availability.
For this trip we didn`t hire a car but used the Magical Express and Disney transport with great success. On arrival at Orlando Int.airport we made our way straight to the Magical Express pick up counter and collected our onward and return coach `tickets` we decided to take our own luggage with us as we wanted to arrive at the hotel with it and not wait for it to follow us on later, but you can have your luggage tranferred for you.
The check in at the hotel was very efficient and you are given an info.pack.
There is a South Quarter comprising buildings 1-3 and a North Quarter comprising buildings 4-7. We had requested a king size bed but unfortunately none where available but the room does have two doubles. In the room there is a table & chairs, large drawer unit with TV and coffee machine with supplies replenished daily of coffee/sugar/whitener. There is a also a fridge in the room and a padded bench. A tiled area is off the main room with two large hand basins, hanging space for clothes, ironing board and a small safe is in here behind the curtain which is there to divide this area from the room if you so wish. There is a bathroom off the tiled area with bath, over bath shower & a toilet, there is a pull out clothes line over the bath. You get bath/hand soaps and shampoo/conditioner supplied and replaced throughout your stay. The room was clean enough and sheets changed every 3/4 days. Towels seemed to be changed everyday whether you wanted or not!
The resort is small so everything is nearby. There is a good sized pool with water slide open until midnight, there are plenty of sunloungers and tables/chairs and courtesy towels are available. There is also an outdoor hot tub in a shaded garden area, it seats about 8 people and is operated by a button on the wall where the shower is. There is the Mardi Grogs pool bar open 11.30 til dusk.
Between the pool and hot tub is a laundry building with plenty of washers / dryers and soap powder machine. .
There is the Jackson Square gift shop / convenience store, it`s here where you can also collect items bought at the parks which are then delivered here for you usually the following day, saves you carrying things around all day that you buy in the parks, the only exception being any food items.
You have the Scat Cats Club Bar open 4 - 12pm with live music Weds.-Sat. and then there is the Sassagoula food court which has a bakery open from 6am-midnight. Breakfast is served 7-11am. Lunch and dinner 11am-10pm with a limited late night menu after 10pm. There is a good choice of cakes,pizza,pasta,burgers,sandwiches,salads etc. Good value is to buy a drinks cup which you can then refill free from a self service drinks counter.
There is a bus stop A and B at the front of the hotel, the buses run between all the parks approx.every 15mins. You have to expect there are peak times that they will be a bit busy but we found them to be regular and efficient.
You also have the rivercruise at the rear of the hotel, behind the pool area, this operates between the French Quarter / Riverside and Down Town Disney. It makes a pleasant change but they do only hold about 38 people so can fill quickly and takes a little longer than the buses.
We got to Sea World and Universal studios by booking at the reception with a company called Mears, they collect at the hotel using either cabs, mini buses or coaches depending on numbers. I think you can also use the I trolley but you would have to get to Down Town Disney first to catch one?
There is cycle hire available from Riverside and you can take a horse drawn carriage ride which take a route around POFQ & Riverside lasting approx.half an hour which operates between 6 - 9.30pm, I`m unsure on the charges for these.
Anyway, if you`re going I`m sure you will not be disappointed with your choice of resort. We thoroughly enjoyed it!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank offeringmyopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,702
    1,927
    554
    152
    69
See reviews for
3,222
1,139
86
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Port Orleans is an OK hotel - it's in a good spot to see Disney World. The transportation is efficient (buses, boat) and the service is spot on. The rooms are dated and the bedspread is a little thin. It's motel-style, so your door opens to a common walkway. The walls are somewhat thin and you can definitely hear what's going on next door!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devineka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We have just returned from spending a week in this hotel and I was very impressed. This hotel was everything we expected and more. After previously staying the the Value Resorts we decided to try a Moderate Resort and we were not disappointed - it is worth paying that little bit extra. The location was excellent and the small size of the resort was a bonus as we never had to wait long for the Disney Transportation buses and they were never full. The rooms were well appointed and although they could have been cleaner at least the important things like the bed and bathroom were spotless. The boat trip to Downtown Disney was lovely too.

The end of April is an excellent time to visit as the parks are generally quiet and the queues short.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sambolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Just got back on Wednesday from POFQ. I had a great stay.Magical Express was great and our bags were at our hotel an hour after we go to the hotel. Check-In went so smoothly just had to show ID and off we went. Theres a cast member in the lobby mid-day who has great advice and is sweet w/ the kids. Lobby bathroom was clean but had a bad stench just a heads up. The room was spacious but okay. Can definitley use remodeling. There was a broken tile, shelf in closet can use retouching and the bathroom floors were dated and yeah the toilet makes a noise when you flush but nothing that would wake you up from sleep. Mostly cosmetic, cleaners were nice and proficient; no prob. there. Pool area great, bartenders friendly, boat to downtown/riverside relaxing and always on time. Buses to parks were on time & I went to the parks at 8AM even earlier so i do not know what the previous reviewer is talking about..Hot tub was relaxing after a long day; a lil snug but being in tight quarters we got to meet other people. It was a quiet resort and the food court had everything you can need, we enjoyed it. The store has pretty much all the souveneirs the other disney stores had even a lil cheaper check it out. In all the landscaping, buildings, music made me feel like i was in new orleans and there were no worries in the world. I would turn corners and cast members were throwing beads at me and wishing me a great stay. I would def. stay here again,

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennyfar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2009

I wouid absolutely not recommend this resort, although I realize that most of the reviews have been positive. I am in the process of writing a letter of complaint to the resort and Disney Guest Relations. The room had a slightly run-down appearance. I couldn''t tell if the sink area tiles were dirty or discolored/scratched from age. Our room had mildew in the shower and on the shower curtain liner, caked on dirt in the shower corner, a previous guest's hair wrappaed around our toilet seat hinges, a layer of dust on the baseboards, splattered water, toothpaste and handprints on the bathroom mirrors, some brown liquid splashed on the wall and a tag and some string (maybe used dental floss?) on the bathroom floor when we checked in. I waited a day to see if perhaps they'd been especially busy the day we arrived and maybe they'd fix it, but it was no better. So, I called and requested it be fixed the next day, and it was not. In addition, the staff at the restaurant was not at all friendly, and the sink area for the bathrooms is part of the sleeping area, only seprated by a curtain that can be drawn. And we ran into trouble getting to a 9:15 a.m. character breakfast at the Beach Club (although I had spoken with the concierge and followed her instructions, she never mentioned that the buses don't start until 8:30) because the buses don't start running until 8:30 at the resort and 9:00 at Downtown Disney (where you have to change buses to get to other resorts). I would definitely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We made a quick overnight trip to WDW and the French Quarter met our needs completely... moderately priced (for a Disney property), clean and very quiet. We had a spacious corner (more windows) room with a comfortable king size bed and especially appreciated the dual sinks outside the shower/commode area. We were in Building 3, overlooking "Jackson Square", very convenient and within easy walking distance to the lobby, parking, pool, food court, bus stop, boat dock, etc.

There was, however, some confusion when we checked in. Following discussion among four "cast members", we were finally assigned a room number. Then we were visited by two others--- one said her records indicated our room was vacant. The other had to key in some code on our phone. ??? Not sure what that was all about but they were all very cordial and professional.

Busses ran frequently between Port Orleans and the various theme parks. We were fortunate to visit during the "slow season", never waiting longer than 20 minutes for any attraction. Most were a 5-10 minute line, even those rides without FastPass.

Dining options at the resort are limited to a small food court. We had dinner at Downtown Disney then took the boat excursion (dock is next to the Rainforest Café) non-stop to our hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savvy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2009

The hotel grounds are absolutely fantastic! We enjoyed the ambiance of the French Quarter, the horse drawn carriages, dixie music, and street names only added to the enjoyment of our stay. The rooms were spotless and we enjoyed returning to our rooms to see what new creation was made from our towels. The pool was warm, even on the coldest days and our son stayed so long his fingers were pruny. After our long days of walking around Disney, it was wonderful to sit in the hot tub and relax our aches away, and enjoyed the quiet night life as we walked back late at night. We would recommend Port Orleans French Quarter to families and honeymooners alike - a true getaway from the hustle and bustle of life. The poolside bar was fantastic and the mai tais went down smooth. The food was great and cast members always had a smile and a joke or something nice to say. You can't go wrong with this place, we can't wait for our next trip to the same resort!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller33k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing