We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #62 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very satisfied”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We have been coming to Disney for Christmas for 10 years and this was the first time we stayed at French Quarter. We feel it is our favorite because when we get back from the parks the cafeteria is still open and there is a jazz night club right on site. As always the staff bent over backwards to give us anything we asked for, not just on a surface level but if you needed anything above and beyond they would happily accomodate you without any questions. We weren't happy that the smoking area is right outside the store and the restaurant and we have to walk thru it every time we go anywhere, and if you have daughters, don't get the meal plan, it would be appropriate for growing boys but not for daughters who don't eat alot. The boat that goes to Downtown Disney was something different as opposed to the buses, and if you like a quiter experience I would definitely recomend the French Quarter. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christmasvacati0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,748
    1,957
    564
    155
    69
See reviews for
3,294
1,149
87
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Loved this hotel! We stayed at building 5 (third floor) which overlooked a quiet garden and fountain, but was close to both the pool and main building.

Transportation was awesome. The hotel only has one bus stop, which makes it great because you don't have to stop on your way to the park in order to pick up other people. The buses came every ten minutes or so. We took the boat to Downtown Disney almost every night, and they run until 11pm or so. It was so handy, because it gave us lots of options when trying to get back to our hotel.

Our room was clean, we got two towel animals and it was relatively quiet. Our fridge didn't work and spoiled the fruit we'd bought, but they gave us $20 cash to buy more food when we complained. VERY nice staff.

They could use another hot tub, as groups of people (from conferences or whatever) would be in there forever. One girl admitted to being in the hot tub for an hour! The pool was great and really big.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, because it's small and compact. No waiting to drop people off at multiple bus stops (like most of the resorts) and quick to get back to your room after a long day at the parks.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junkforjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK, London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Hotel was very clean and well looked after, rooms clean and quiet, entertainment poor.

The only thing that lets this Hotel down is the food, it is too sugary and fat.

It does not cater for european taste, healthy.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank triangle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

My family (wife and 2 daughters, 10 & 8) stayed there at the end of January through the beginning of February. It was a terrific place to stay!

I ilked the French Quarter layout of the property. Very nicely landscaped. Honestly, I would have liked the buildings to have been closer together to enhance the French Quarter experience, but this in no way detracts from my impression of the property.

We stayed in a very clean room with two Queen beds. It was more than adequate for our needs - sleeping. We were out of the room by 8:30 a.m. and did not return until the parks were closed. If you are going to stay in the room for an extended period of time, then you might consider it a bit small.

The pool was large and nicely-arrayed. However, we did not use it because it was a bit cool the whole time we were there and I don't believe the pool is heated.

I thought the food at the food court was much better tha I expected when I first saw the food court. The prices were not wallet-gouging. In fact, I expected to have spent more than what was charged.

For Dads, you can buy beer and/or liquor at the on-property store. To my chagrin, it took me a couple of days to figure this out!!!!

Though we did not take the water taxis to Downtown Disney, it appeared that they ran quite efficiently.

The staff was quite friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benwa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallston, MD
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We spent 4 days at the POFQ from January 21 to 25. This was our 5th visit to the FQ and won’t be our last. This resort has a nice feel to it. There are wide peaceful walking paths along the canal that lead you to the Riverside resort. The ride aboard the riverboat ferry to downtown Disney is relaxing and scenic. The kids love the huge heated pool with its Mardi Gras theme and dragon slide. Our family really appreciates the bus service to and from the parks. The resort is small enough so that there is only one bus stop. You will be the first to be picked up by the bus going to the parks and the first to be let off from the parks when returning. The rooms are average size and accommodate our family of four comfortably. The bathroom is small and the beds are doubles. We wish they were queens. Some of the rooms have a king bed. There is a small refrigerator, coffee pot and a safe in the room. The food at this resort is pretty good and the cost is moderate. We eat breakfast here daily and dinner occasionally. A family of four can eat breakfast at this resort for about $30USD and dinner for about $40USD. It is cafeteria style so there’s no tipping. We like to take the riverboat to Downtown Disney and eat at The Earl of Sandwich while sipping on a cup of there great Kona coffee. A family of four will spend about $40USD to eat at the Earl. Planet Hollywood has a neat theme to it and the food is pretty good as well. We spent $70USD including the tip to eat at Planet Hollywood. You may spend more but we tend to keep it simple. Downtown Disney has a large selection of restaurants from which to choose. If you like fast food there is a McDonalds as well. Disney’s Magical Express will get you to and from the airport flawlessly. We always visit Disney in January and have observed the parks are getting more crowded with each passing year. The staff at the POFQ is pleasant, helpful and easy to get along with.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelieveInYourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

We loved our stay at the French Quarter. The style and layout of this relatively small resort is a nice alternative. The grounds are stunning and immaculate. We had a teriffic room location on the ground floor walking out onto the river. The pool and ferry dock were nearby, and the foodcourt and other amenities were also very convenient. Ferry service to Riverside and Downtown Disney were easy and dependable and the shuttle service to the parks was great. Food at the hotel was quite good and the Riverside foodcourt had some additional offering that we took advantage of. ( the collard greens at the French Quarter were awesome) We realized that not buying the meal plan was the right decision for us early on in the trip. As 2 adults and a 6 year old we would have had to eat way more food than we need to take advantage of it. The restrictions would have also been a downside. 9 and under meal options are available all over Disneyworld and are great value options. My wife and I shared meals most of the time, often with an additional side, and were always satisfied.
All of the staff encountered at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The grounds, pool area, foodcourt and other public areas were extremely well maintained. The maintenance of our room was unfortunately not up to quite the same standard. It seemed that the daily service was rushed and not overly thorough. This may have been due to lack of staff or just a particular staff member. It seemed better at the beginning, then dropped off. The room could use a little cosmetic work, and queen sized beds are a must. There is plenty of room for them and the doubles are really undersized for two adults. The very basic cable would have looked better on a modern flatscreen.
Despite these few shortcomings we would strongly recomend the French Quarter. If we ever return we intend to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredheadsaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

This resort was beautiful. Not only is Disney the happiest place on earth, it is also the cleanest. We had a wonderful time. The weather was unexpectedly cold the first week in January, but our trip was great. This has one of the best pools of the Disney resorts. The food was great and reasonably priced. The room was nice, love the double sinks! We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MardiGras7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing