We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic, Fun, and Memorable Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #63 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Romantic, Fun, and Memorable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed here on December 16th for one night. While we did not get a renovated room (I've heard that they should have them all renovated by April or May 2011), we did have a lovely room in Building 2 not too far from the Food Court/main building.

We loved the tree lined walking paths and the quaint, romantic ambiance. It truly is the romantic resort we were glad we had picked 11 years ago for part of our honeymoon.

The kids loved the alligators playing instruments and all about the pool. It was entirely too cold for us to consider swimming while we were there, but the kids (8 and 6) both said it looked like it would be fun - especially the slide.

Our room was clean and fresh smelling. There was a small area chipped on a tile in the bathroom, but I'm not ranking the hotel much lower because I know they are renovating soon :) I like that they give several to-go cups by the coffee maker instead of just 2 like some hotels do. It's convenient if you want both water, coffee, or to have the kids split a juice, etc.

We ate at the Food Court and it was very good (review will be separate), though not excellent. I wish that they had just a little more variety as I'm sure if we had been here more than a 2-3 days like most people, we might have gotten bored with the menu. The beignets were wonderful though :) On my rating, I am putting that the hotel has a restaurant and room service, but please keep in mind that it's really a Food Court/Quick service restaurant and that room service is really just pizza delivery ;)

We did LOVE Elliott Dyson (the jazz musician that they have some nights for free in the lobby) as he was fabulous. We must have stayed watching him for 2+ hours and it was one of the highlights of our trip. The Scat Cat Bar open to where he played is also nice. Dyson was absolutely wonderful with our kids and all of the kids that stopped by with their families.

The hotel was decorated for Christmas and it was really beautiful, especially the lobby. It was one of the best decorated that we saw over the next 10 or so days (and we stayed at the Animal Kingdom, Beach Club, and Carribbean - we switch hotels a lot, lol).

We are hoping to go back for one night (as we are DVC ;) ) in the near future so we can try out a newly renovated room and see Dyson again :) I am overall giving this a 5, even though it's more like a 4.5 with the rooms that need renovating. Once the remaining rooms are done, I'm sure it will truly be a five star for its value.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BronteReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,605
    1,865
    535
    146
    69
See reviews for
3,098
1,108
80
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fergus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

This was our first visit to Walt Disney World. We were impressed the moment we arrived at the resort. We arrived at 9:30am expecting to have to wait for our room but check in was quick and our room was ready for us already. The room was very clean and comfortable. Transportation to and from any of the resorts was quick and easy using Disney's transit system. The hotel only has a quick service restaurant area but the food was good and portions were adequate. The staff were great, everyone was friendly and always willing to help. We will use this resort again on future trips for sure.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FergusRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

The last time we stayed here, we were not pleased, but I read that the rooms were being upgraded and decided to stay here again.
We had 2 connecting rooms, and they were excellent. The bathrooms have thankfully been retiled and regrouted. The new beds are queen sized. The rooms now have flat screen TVs. Everything is new!!!
As of today, buildings 6 and 7 have been redone, and they are now working on buildng 4, but by April, all the rooms should be done.
The only complaint I have is that when we moved the clock and phone on the nightstand, there was an inch of dust under them. This is a shame, since the room was redone within the last 2 months.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BackTooSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Our trip to POFQ was from Nov. 28-Dec 10, 2010. We've had nothing but good to say about all of the staff. The check-in process was flawless. My daughter had called the front desk about 5 days before arrival to request a pack-n-play, and told the desk that we would be traveling with an infant and wondered if we could have a quiet-ish room. By the time we checked in and walked to Building 3, our pack-n-play was being set up at the room. We had groceries delivered, and bell services brought them to us within minutes of checking in. My son-in-law needed to get some work done, and asked about getting a cab at the front desk. One was there for him in minutes. Our Mousekeeping was super. We had cute animals made from towels at least 7 of the 10 days. Our Mousekeeper also made the baby's bed up daily with her little pink blanket, and toys on her pillow. It was very clean and comfortable, and from what I'm reading, Building 3 hasn't been renovated yet. We loved the boat ride to Downtown Disney, and used it twice. The bus service was Ok also, however, there were a few days that it seemed we waited more than 20 minutes. Maybe we just missed the bus. We would absolutely stay here again. It is a quaint resort with beautiful grounds and super friendly castmembers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disneygrandmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Our family of four stayed four nights before Christmas 2010. We had stayed in All Star Movies, Coronado, Riverside, and offsite previously.
French Quarter has a lot of charm. We liked how compact it was, and how close Downtown Disney was by boat. (Super trip by Donna-a true information guide, great traditional Disney service not seen as much recently). The pool was warm enough even in 50º weather, and the laundry was well equipped. Nice holiday music in lobby (excellent guitar quartet when we were there).
The room was OK. There was water on the floor by the toilet--it was leaking, and the air conditioner/heater rattled so much we couldn't run it the first night. Both were fixed when we returned in the evening. There was a bit of a old dirty wax ring around the edge of the bathroom floor, grout was stained a bit, etc., but the room was clean. I hear that they are updating this resort, with good reason. It is old and has seen a lot of guests. My teenagers' biggest complaint was lack of Wifi. Wired internet is available for $10 a day. I do hope that Disney adds free Wifi to all their resorts before we return, but I would stay at POFQ again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

While this nice hotel is Family friendly it is also huge! There is so many things to do with your family no matter what the age they will have a blast!!! Our room was nice and comfortable it come with your basic needs including: Hair dryer, bathroom, sink, iron board, iron, and beds. I have a problem with sleeping in other peoples beds but these beds were so clean and comfortable. There was this boat thats takes you to the disney market place and the driver was so nice to us he saw that my mom had a new born and a bunch of kids so he took the extra 3 mins to wait for us I felt so happy that they care about us. The only bad thing is the prices for things like drinks and food I got this cappchino (please mind the spelling) and it cost like $4.25 and it wasent even that big. Overal this hotel was super clean and family friendly. And I would for sure stay here agin, and recommend this wonderful and magical resort to a freind. See ya real soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank modo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

I was initially (and wrongly) disappointed when we got to the resort and did not receive a recently renovated room in bldg 6 or 7, based on the reviews here. I was mistaken as our room in bldg 4 was Disney clean, a little outdated maybe but this was a perfcect home for our family Christmas. In the end having a room on the ground floor, close to the pool, laundry, cafe, bar, hot tub and other great amenities of this resort totally beat out a duve and queen size beds. After one night of getting used to the smaller beds everything was perfect. Great property, small, not overwhelming, very resort like feel and privacy. A perfect 10 for our trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nunzio_Rochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing