We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Ranked #173 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 12 November 2013

So, I stayed here with my wife so I could attend a conference. Then we stayed through the weekend after it was over. The area outside the rooms is very nice. There is a beautiful lake that all of the buildings making up the resort are built around, as well as a few pools, a few bars, etc. So when after you get through registration and start walking to your room, you get excited about what a nice week you're going to have. Unfortunately, when you get to the rooms, you realize that they were built for people to get a few hours of sleep and take a quick shower in between spending money at all of the Disney theme parks and stores. The beds are uncomfortable, the decor is dated, the bathroom is claustrophobic, and there's not a couch or anything for relaxation.
We paid less to stay at a hotel on International drive back in May and had a much more pleasant in room experience.
It's worth noting that Disney does people moving well. We took their bus to and from the airport (they handled the luggage) and also took their buses back and forth from Downtown Disney.
If I attend another conference at a Disney property, I'll hope for a better hotel, or I'll stay on International Drive and rent a car.

PROS: Location is near the attractions, their bus service is great, the lake is beautiful (especially at night when it's lit up), and the bars and pools are comfortable.
CONS: Dated and small rooms. The prices for food are ridiculous, similarly for drinks at the bar. Kids running around the room above you as well as pathways in front of the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,278 - 3,284 of 6,326 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was traveling for work - a conference so pretty much locked in to the location. Rooms were clean but they really need updating. There was coffee maker in room and a fridge - which was very nice. However being a frequent traveler i have come to expect this as standard features. The place needs more eateries. Options were very limited and nothing to do there at all. Downtown disney was a busride away but how many times can you do that. Other parks closed early so really not much else to do but hang there. People were friendly - for the most part.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pac0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This place is probably tolerable if you like saying in cheap motels, it was more or less clean. But it is by no means a Disney experience, and the restaurants need a LOT of work. Horrible food and bad service. Staff seemed indifferent and overworked, many had trouble speaking English, many seemed unhappy to be working there. Rooms feel cheap, minimal water pressure, HVAC systems that are hard to adjust, very few amenities in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rexwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife & I spent our 20th Anniversary at Coronado Springs Oct 17th-23rd. We normally stay at the Value Resorts, but opted for the Moderate Resort Coronado Springs this year due to the dining plan incentive.

We immediately noted that the Pepper Market Food Court could learn a few things from the Pop Century Food Court. There are 2 lines to order your breakfast items, and neither line has a discernible starting point.. and the menu.. if you don't get Menu's on your table, (as we did not the first time) we weren't for sure what our food options were. Pop Century has VERY recognizable marquis with your food options. Peppers Market has two little signs on artists paint easels at the END, of the food line.. so you didn't know what you could get, till it was your time to place your order. Food was good, portions were good. Just, difficult to navigate & to understand what you could get.

Now the flip side of that, is the Maya Grill. HUGE Portions. The Fajitas offer a nice twist on what is becoming a "American/Mexican" favorite. Instead of refried beans, they offer black beans. If you have an adult dining plan, you can EASILY Split entree's here so you can use Double food points at some of the more pricier locations like Yachtsman Steakhouse, Le Cellier Steakhouse, or Disney’s Spirit of Aloha Dinner Show at The Polynesian.

Sadly, on the day before we left, Oct 22nd, I had given my wife a new Anniversary ring in front of the castle, she accidentally left it on the sink that morning while washing her hands. When we returned that evening, the room had been cleaned & the ring was gone. My wife is very particular & tidy, there was nothing on the sink, towels, linens etc that it could have been picked up by accident. we called hotel management, security & the police. There were only 2 ladies in that room that day, the cleaning lady & the lady that dropped off a package from the DVC that we toured. One of those two, took it. Period. I've even posted a Craigslist add, hoping if someone would see it. But the ring is probably forever gone, ruining what would have been one of the most memorable vacations ever. http://orlando.craigslist.org/wan/4150635570.html


.

Room Tip: The 300 building is VERY close. But we did buy a "preferrred room" add-on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had considered our options when planning our Disney Florida holiday.

The choices were either staying outside of the Disney complex or otherwise book a Disney resort and be locked into the area. We chose a Disney resort. You are then classed as a "Disney guest" entitling you to free airport transfers, a dining plan and free airport shuttles. You also have the benefit of the early and late closing times for the theme parks as a Disney guest.

More on these benefits later.

The Coronado Springs resort is large. The grounds were immaculately maintained. Transport was available for rooms distant from the Lobby. We didn't mind the walk to our room at all.

Bag transfer on arrival is even available to your room from the airport.

We are a family of four with two teenagers. We booked two rooms. The rooms ended up being a fair way apart. Our kids are of the age now that the separation wasn't an issue.

The rooms were dated. Actually the rooms were EXTREMELY dated and did smell musty.

However, the rooms were clean and very well maintained. The beds were large and comfortable. There was a fridge and coffee making in the room. Wi Fi was available in the room. We also had a fridge.

The most important thing for us was a good night's sleep. We found the resort to be very quiet at night. Despite our distance from the lobby there was a free Disney Shuttle bus stop one minute's walk from our room.

Our room was a good 8 minute walk from the Lobby. We enjoyed the stroll each time.

We were concerned at being locked into a Disney resort. Food and beverage prices were reasonable. They weren't cheap but I guess they could have been a lot more expensive. We found quite a variety and ate breakfast each morning in the restaurant area called "The Pepper Market".

Prices for this resort varied immensely. We found it cheaper to book through another party rather than direct through Disney. BUT......if you elect to do it this way you cannot join a Disney dining plan so do the sums for your group or family.

Also.......when booking direct with Disney the dining plans and free transfers are basically just button clicks on-line. We had to contact the resort separately to organise our free airport transfers because we didn't book directly with Disney.

We were happy with the Coronado Springs. On our day of arrival resort staff had checked in 1600 guests as there was a conference there. Check in was conducted quickly despite the numbers and there were extra Concierge staff present.

Disney do it well whether it be the free transport, the resorts or the theme parks. Probably the best thing is the new Disney wrist bands you are issued with. These wrist bands (if you want them to be) are your door key, are your theme park entry, your fast pass entry and enable you to have items charged (securely) to your room. The wrist bands operate inter-actively via an IPhone App enabling you to pre book up to three fast passes at once, check ride wait times, navigate the theme parks and after all that you can keep them as a souvenir.

My son lost his wrist band on one theme park ride and Disney Guest Relations staff cancelled his lost band, replaced and reprogrammed his new one in just a few minutes.

In closing our Coronado Springs stay was memorable as was our Florida Disney experience. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have just returned from Coronado Springs this is our second visit to Disney world we loved it the pool dig sit was fantastic the food was great and the staff there were so friendly and helpfull.
Any body thinking of going i would say go for it it was a great resort to stay .you are very close to the parks only Magic kingdom is a bit away { 10 mins ]. So people have said the main building is a long walk or the bus stops are a good walk from where you are staying well i say its a lovley walk and your on holiday We enjoyed the qiuet walk on a morning with the sun coming up Looking forward to next year when we will try old key west .

Room Tip: we stayed at Ranchos 10/10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 146Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband, daughter 14, and I visited the resort in October. We had a hotel package that included dining and tickets, for a six night stay. We arrived around 10 am. Check in took about 10 minutes- and our room was ready early. The resort is beautifully landscaped and decorated. Our room was bigger than a standard hotel room with sliding doors to separate the bath area from the sleeping area. The colors are very calming. There is a ceiling fan which I thought was a nice touch. Our room was very clean when we arrived and well maintained during the week. I would recommend the resort for those wanting to get away from the busyness of Disney and relax on your time away from the parks. We loved Peppers Restaurant. The quesadillas are wonderful. We had previously stayed at Pop Century in a preferred room that was next to the main areas. Pop Century preferred rooms are much more convenient for getting to the restaurants and main areas, and the bus service is faster. Coronado Springs is quite big and takes more time to get around but everywhere you walk is so beautiful that you don't mind. There is also a bus to get to the main areas from your rooms. If you're not in a big hurry- its not a big deal. I would recommend Pop Century (or one of the other kid themed resorts) if you have children. The arcade is much bigger, the store is bigger and it just has a more "fun" Disney atmosphere. Pop Century also had ready made hot cocoa that was free with your resort mugs- which Coronado did not. Coronado Springs is beautiful, relaxing, quiet....a nice getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mygeorgiapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Coronado Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Coronado Springs Resort

Address: 1000 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8403
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#94 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#136 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £131 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Coronado Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1921
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relive the romance of Spanish-colonial Mexico as you follow in the footsteps of explorer Don Francisco de Coronado at this Resort hotel. Find your own mythical city of gold in a Southwestern-themed haven of brightly colored Casitas, rustic Ranchos and beachfront Cabanas encircling a glimmering 22-acre lake. Each accommodation provides a unique escape and a welcoming home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Coronado Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Coronado Springs Hotel Orlando
Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Resort
Disneys Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Hotel
Disneys Coronado Springs Hotel
Coronado Hotel Orlando
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing