We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Disney Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Ranked #174 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Typical Disney Resort”
Reviewed 15 November 2008

I just got back from Disney World. It was my fourth visit but the first time I had stayed at the Coronado Springs. In my opinion it was what I'd expect from Disney.

The staff was always nice. I don't think we came across one person who was not friendly and willing to help us.

The grounds were clean and nicely maintained. The rooms are standard hotel rooms. We had a king size bed and for two adults the room was just fine. It may be a little cramped for a family of four but most hotel rooms would be unless you get a suite. The rooms were cleaned daily and the only problem I had with cleanliness was when I checked in and found a bottle cap and a piece of granola bar on my night stand. I just tossed it and moved on.

The pool was nice although we only used it once on account of the cool weather we had. There are a lot of deck chairs around it and towels available for use while you are there.

The shuttle service was so convenient when going to and from the parks. (Note: The shuttle service was not always this good. Many times you could not go directly to the parks from your hotel. The shuttle took you to the Ticketing and Transportation Center and you took the Monorail from there)

Probably the biggest rip off was the Pepper Market. The Pepper Market is the on premisis food court. There are different stations (grill, Mexican, Italian, etc). As you order you get a card stamped and you pay at the end of your meal. As far as people saying it is expensive, it depends on what you are comparing it to. At a national burger chain here in NJ we pay about $8 or $9 for a burger and fries so paying $11 at the Pepper Market for the same thing was not a huge stretch of the imagination considering we were on vacation and expected to pay more anyway. What I did not like was the surcharge the cashier adds to your order. It's something like 10%. I asked what it was for figuring that it was a tip for the server (who only brings you your drink). She told me that 6% goes to the cooks at the stations and 4% is split among all of the servers. In other words your money goes to several people who pay you no mind while you are there. We found that getting muffins at the Rix bakery for breakfast was a great way to save time in the morning rather than having a sit down meal. Just know that the juices are less expensive in the gift shop next door so we picked up juice at the gift shop instead of at Rix.

As far as the layout of the Coronado Springs, it is pretty typical of all of the Disney Resorts. With the exception of a few resorts, the buildings are spread out on a large plot of land for each resort. If you stay on property, expect to walk if you want to get around the resort. If you want to minimize your walking find the closest bus stop to your building and use that instead of walking to the main stop in front.

As far as going back to the Coronado Springs, we are not sure if we would. Although, we were not disappointed in the slightest, there are so many resorts now that we probably would not immediately say we'll go back to CS just because we want to see what else Disney has to offer.

  • Liked — The Convenient Shuttle Service
  • Disliked — The Pepper Market
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chm0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,759
    2,171
    1,183
    566
    321
See reviews for
2,932
1,146
107
931
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Having been to Coronado springs some 7 years ago - I had read the reviews and was worried. We had a wonderful time there 7 years ago, and I have to say I was not disappointed this time!

It has great atmosphere and a really pretty setting - our room was lovely and we even got a water view thrown in for free!

There was a large convention on at the time of out stay but it made no difference to out stay at all.

  • Liked — Great atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank haywardmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

The resort landscaping and layout is very pretty with pools and sandscape areas which are located around a manmade lake. It is very pretty at night when all of the lights pop on. The bus transportation from the airport is included in your rate which also seems like a great deal as you do not need to rent a car. There are also buses which take you from the hotel to the various Disney properties.

The problem is, the accommodations while well kept and very clean are old, small and outdated. There are no curved shower rods here. Bedspreads do not match with drapes and there is a sliding curtain (also did not match anything) to separate the sink area from the rest of the room which also has an exposed clothes rack. A 13 inch TV is in an old hutch. The mattresses have seen better days. The bathtub is very old with no rubber mat to keep you from slipping and sliding. WIFI service was an additional $10.00 a day.

The other issue with not renting a car is you are trapped on Disney property. The food is expensive and generally of poor quality. At the Pepper Grill, I order a hamburger for lunch one day which had been previously cooked and was reheated; for $15.00 with a drink I expected better!

There are so many nice properties in Orlando these days which are less expensive and much newer which many dining choices nearby; I do not understand why anyone would want to stay here unless attending a conference like I did. I will say that the large pool area with many separate play areas around it was nice for young children and could be beneficial if you are less concerned with room accommodations and staying on a Disney property which does allow for early park entrance is of importance to you.

  • Liked — Conference Center
  • Disliked — Accomidations
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tdboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Just our second time to disney in as many years. The first time we stayed at port orleans Riverside, excellent place. We decided to try a different resort and coronado looked nice. The atmosphere was nice and was the room. The place was huge with a lot of walking to get to most places. Which really didn't bother us. The cost was comparitable to other places we stayed at, your at a vacation place your going to pay top dollar. My biggest complaint was the bus stops at 4 places at coronado just to tell you how big this place is. The souvenier mugs you can buy and get free refills, well your just too far away from the restaurant to make it worth while. The first morning we were there we tried the Pepper Market. What a mistake! They seat you and get your drinks for you while you get your own breakfast. For this they tack on an additional 10%. My wife and I both had eggs,home fries and meat. The eggs were cold and soggy. The meat and home fries were also cold. This meal cost us $28. I don't what the last review ate for $5. The place is just way too big and their restaurants are too expensive for the service you get. The $28 dollars wouldn't have bothered me if it was a hot meal.

  • Liked — scenery
  • Disliked — size and access to transportation and restaurants
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disfanmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

A simple room on a beautiful property is what you get here. We were pretty far from the front lobby area, but enjoyed the walk.

The rooms are not large but do include a refrigerator which was only available for an extra charge when we last stayed here. Our room was very clean and the mousekeepers were generous with the towels. Our kids couldn't wait to get back each night to see where their stuffed animals would be arranged. Had one small problem with a tv remote and it was replaced in less than 30 minutes.

We liked the Pepper Market as everyone in our family could make their own choices. Breakfast was about $10 per person including drinks.

"Sal" at the Maya Grill was an excellent server and we really liked the food there the one night we tried it. The margaritas were just "ok" not great.

Loved the "quick" food area, can't remember what it was called. Pricey but the food was fine and it sure was easy.

The Rix Lounge was loud and fun.

I'd say that this is a good "home base" for families planning on spending most of their time at the parks. It's just a simple room and decent food, nothing fancy. Bus transportation was fine, we waited from 1-20 minutes but there were places to sit in the shade.

Magical Express is AWESOME!!

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — 8 days in a room with 2 adults and 2 teens
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at Coronado Springs for our honeymoon. We had some concerns that it was a hotel geared towards conferences, but for the 5 days we were there you couldn't tell at all! I had been a little concerned that the spanish theme would be tacky, but when we first walked in we were amazed at how beautiful the lobby is! The front desk staff were really helpful and friendly, despite the slight language barrier. The resort is large and spread out, but the grounds are gorgeous, so we didn't mind the walking at all. We didn't take advantage of the bike rentals or any of the other activities the hotel had to offer, but we saw families having a great time on them. We went to see the pool, but because it was late january it was too cold for us to swim (even in FL!) but there were some children enjoying themselves. (I wanted to try the slide!) Our room was pretty far from the main building, on the other side of the lake, but the bridge makes it quicker and the long way around was nice to just stroll and hold hands, a few nights we felt like the only people there. The food was pretty good, we only ate the Pepper Market once. Our room was comfortable and clean, we had no complaints at all about the 'mousekeeping'. Because it's an open air set up, we could hear plenty of people coming and going, but not enough to complain about. Overall it was a great trip and we would highly reccomend Coronado Springs for couples!

  • Liked — the decor, the landscaping and how easy it was to get around Disney
  • Disliked — the language barrier with the staff (most spoke spanish far better than english)
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsBerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Was very disappointed with this hotel. Have stayed at numerous other Disney hotels and never encountered problems like we did here. Several members of our party became physically ill after eating at the Pepper Market. It was painfully slow reporting incident and management would not credit any of the charges. Also was overcharged on park ticket prices since management in hotel was not aware of Florida resident specials. Despite showing management rates on line Disney web site, could not get incorrect billing changed. In addition the marina and bike rentals were closed with no alternate activities provided. Was advised this was due to winter! Winter in Florida, amazing! They have pool open till midnight and you are suppose to get towels by the pool, but they take away the towels around 10 pm so you have to walk back to your room cold, remember it's winter in Florida! If you are a light sleeper don't stay here, you can here toilets flushing from all over the hotel. Management was incompetent and ill informed of Disney amenities. Not worth the price. All Star hotels are nicer than this one. If you are looking for a quality moderate resort, don't pick this one, choose the Caribbean Beach Resort instead if you are going to stay at Disney.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.4 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
2.2 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
1.8 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Coronado Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Coronado Springs Resort

Property: Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Address: 1000 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8403
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#94 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#139 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Coronado Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1921
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relive the romance of Spanish-colonial Mexico as you follow in the footsteps of explorer Don Francisco de Coronado at this Resort hotel. Find your own mythical city of gold in a Southwestern-themed haven of brightly colored Casitas, rustic Ranchos and beachfront Cabanas encircling a glimmering 22-acre lake. Each accommodation provides a unique escape and a welcoming home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Coronado Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Coronado Springs Hotel Orlando
Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Resort
Disneys Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Hotel
Disneys Coronado Springs Hotel
Coronado Hotel Orlando
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing