We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What we'd expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Ranked #174 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We were surprised to find out on arrival that we had been upgraded from the Pop Century resort to Coronado springs even though it was our first visit there. The staff at pop century were friendlier than Coranado even though it is a value resort which was surprising.
Rooms @ at Coronado were very nice, but the bathroom could do with an upgrade. It was very clean though. Nice flat screen tv which wasn't used much. There are 3 pools in the resort, 2 of which are heated - so good to relax in after a long day at a theme park.
Internet was expensive and one has to pay for every 24 hours of contiguous use.
If I do return to Disney, I'd probably stay at another resort.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoBugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,164 - 5,170 of 6,245 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2009

We didn't love staying here. Note that the weather was awful and we were both sick which is no way to start a vacation and I'm sure this plays into our review a bit. Reasons not to like this place: (1) we were in building five or six which was about half-way around the lake so it was a long walk from the front of the hotel to our room -- there is a bus stop closer but the busses do not alway stop there and we often needed to get bottled water or other supplies at the hotel store so we almost always got off at the front of the hotel (2) mediocre decor, furnishing, and amenities for the price (3) so much condensation on the inside of the windows that we joked that the condensation was actually the waterview that we paid extra to have. On a positive note, leaving a tip for your maid gets you a landslide of extra tissues, shampoo, and soap -- it was so excessive that we wondered if anyone that stays here ever tips the maid. Also there is a coin-operated laundry which turned out to be very handy. The bakery in the hotel was pretty good. The restaurant was not a good value. In short, I've had better hotel experiences at Disney.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snickerseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This was our first time staying in a Disney resort and we were disappointed by the service provided by Disney.

The hotel rooms and the pool were nice. The room had recently been decorated and was clean. The small pool and large Mayan style pool were good, We ate out of the resort so we can not comment on the food.

Check-in was appalling. We arrived at the resort at 1:30 p.m. and went to registration to check in. We were told that check-in was between 3 & 5. We had booked 3 rooms and 1 of those rooms was ready and we would have to ring in half an hour about the other 2 rooms. We had 2 children in our party and the room that was ready was given to the couple with no children. Anyway we left our suitcases in the one room and went to explore. At 3:30 p.m. we rang to check if the other rooms were ready. They were not. We rang at 4:00 p.m. one room was ready. We rang at 4:30 p.m. the other still wasn't and they couldn't tell us which room it was. The man on the phone was rude and debated the booking being in my name. At 4:55 p.m. the third room was finally ready. We had paid extra for 'water view'. We were infact given rooms with a distant view of the pool. We went to reception about this and they refunded the $15 per night we had paid. The point was that we actually wanted a water view of the lake! Apparently water view can mean a view of a fountatin, pool, etc.

We stayed here for 3 nights but this was not the worst of it.
On the second morning we were woken at around 8:00 a.m. to the sound of wall being scraped, tiled and drilling. There was 3 workmen refitting a bathroom suite, decorating, fixing mirrors and shelves to the room directly next to ours. When we looked out of our door the tools were on the landing, these included drills, planers, saws and electrical equipment. There was an electrical lead running along the floor which we had to walk over. I was devastaed due to having a 2 year old. The workmen explained that it took them about 2 days to complete a room and they had apparently been working on other rooms on our block. We were appalled that Disney would actually put clients in this situation. We didn't ask to be moved due to the checking-in scenario. However, we have taken this further with our holiday agent.

My advice is don't bother with disney. For the price you pay they don't give you anything extra. The only disney feature in the room was a mickey imprint on the mirror. As we hired a car we didn;t even use their transport! You could stay at one of the hotel chains and be treated better! Prior to staying here we stayed at a Hilton hotel and wished we had booked the Hilton in Orlando.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RCashmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Our group traveled recently to Orlando to take part in a Soccer tournament and had the pleasure of staying at Disney's Coronado Springs Resort. I am not one for a lot of words but I just wanted to express how happy we all were with our stay at this resort. Our group ranged from age 10 to folks in their late 40s and we were all equally satisfied. Our only area of dissatisfaction was in the area of food. High prices and not enough variety. All in all a fabulous place to stay. Clean rooms, beautiful grounds and conveniently located.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TriniJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Beautiful hotels set in a Mexican setting. Didn't get the view I had asked for when I booked but still a great room in the Cabanas Building, great location near Dig Site (main pool area). Pool area was nice, always stocked with clean towels. Lifeguards were friendly. The pool slide rocked, my kids loved it! Room was always cleaned by afternoon and staff was friendly.

Hotel restaurant was pricey but food was good. The Maya Grill had great steaks. The Pepper Market was a little confusing but had many good options. I would recommend that you use the Disney Dining Plan, worth the price then.

Overall a great Disney moderate hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rererosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

My AP was about to expire, I was having Disney withdrawal symptoms...I needed a fix...stat! And oooo look at those pretty rooms! It didn't take me long to decide on Coronado Springs. I travel a lot for work, and I tend to stay in Hampton Inns because they're my favorite. If you look up those rooms, I can pretty much guarantee you that's where Disney got the inspiration for the CSR rooms. The style of the rooms at CSR is like a Hampton Inn plussed. I liked it, I was hooked.

At the time when I made my reservation (May) the only section that had been fully completed was the Cabanas, so I put that on my reservation as a request. By the time my trip rolled around, all the buildings that were open, were renovated...I didn't bother sending in a fax since a renovated room was all I was really after.

Some background...I'm 24, female, no kids. My boyfriend was sane and decided that FL and August didn't sound like a fun mix to him, so he stayed home. My family currently lives in FL, so I persuaded my younger brother (21...and single ladies!) to come up and spend some time with me. So we have 2 adults on this trip, but it's not a romantic trip...GA-ross.

Anyway, I took an early morning flight down to MCO and picked up ME. My family lives south of WDW, so it didn't make sense for him to drive all the way up to the airport to pick me up and then back to the resort...plus, did I mention he was 21? And still in college? Picking me up at 9:30 wasn't going to happen, but I felt fairly confident he could make it to the resort by 10:30...and I was right!! This also happened to be my first time using ME. I loved it! It was sooo incredibly convenient! My flight was pulling into the gate around 9:30am. I walked down to ME (happened to be on the other side of the airport) and waited for about 10 minutes before they loaded the bus. The bus stopped at CSR and AKL; CSR was first. We had an awesome bus driver, and I was off the bus before 10:30am, waiting in the online check-in line.

I checked-in online exactly 10 days before my trip (what can I say...I was a little anxious...) I found the line instantly when I came into the lobby, it's very well marked. Only problem was, no one was at the designated counter...hmmm... The front desk Cast Members helped 3 people in the regular line before a manager reminded them to be sure to help the online check-in line first. Then the manager helped me. I had no problem with it taking a little longer since I was still waiting for my brother (he showed up a little after 10:30, so we're not talking like it took ages here, but if I got in the regular line instead, I would have been helped faster...) My packet was ready and so was my room! But it was in Ranchos...building 7A...the farthest one from the main building. I confirmed that it was renovated, and indeed she told me that the only buildings left are 1 & 3 and they just went down.

Most of the CMs that I encountered at CSR were extremely pleasant. From check-in to check-out, I was very pleased.

The rooms were absolutely gorgeous, just as I had hoped. Very clean. We were on the top floor, which helped the room stay quiet. The toilets in the rooms are not power flushers, I enjoyed that...haha. The doors that block off the bathroom area from the rest of the room were very useful. I woke up before my brother and got ready...he was able to sleep and I didn't bother him at all when those doors were closed. I can see if you had a family that being very useful!

The Dig Site was very neat. I loved the theming there and the entire pool complex. I'm not a big swimmer, but I spent a ton of time at the pool due to the heat.

We only used the buses once since my brother had a car. It was to get to EMH at the MK. We really lucked out on timing, I don't really think it says anything about the bus service, just about our luck when it came to it! Catching the bus after dinner at the Pepper Market we were about 10 ft from the bus stop when the MK bus pulled up. When we left the MK, the bus was already sitting at the bus stop and we hopped on and only sat for about 30 seconds before it pulled away!

My biggest gripe was the size of the resort. Being in the farthest building and with the heat? Ugh...it made for some long walks. I can tell you that if I would have gotten my request for the Cabanas, I wouldn't have noticed. But being in that far building? Oh...I noticed!! And if it hadn't have been so hot, it would have made for a very pretty walk...but it's hard to take in the beauty when you're melting. Prior to trying CSR my favorite mod is POFQ because of it's size. I'm probably going to have to stick with that. However...if POFQ is ever booked up (or I can get a significantly better rate at CSR) I would switch to CSR in a heartbeat. I like the size, but it's certainly not that I disliked CSR!! I would recommend it to anyone, but I would definitely recommend requesting Cabanas and faxing in the request...and if you don't get in there, politely asking if there are any available rooms if you're stuck in the Ranchos! IMO, the Ranchos have the best theming in the resort, but I just hated the location!

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at CSR and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kat228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I'll say right off that we didn't do much on the resort other than sleep because we spent SO much time in Disney World. We spent a week, but that just isn't enough time!

CHECK-IN: Very quick and efficient. Staff was very friendly.

ROOM: Right next to the "beach." Our view was so incredible. The beds were very comfortable. The room was clean and I loved the decor. My son was especially excited to have a Mickey Mouse waiting for him on his bed.

ARCADE: We had gotten a free voucher for 30 minutes of play in the arcade. My boyfriend and son had a lot of fun. There isn't a huge variety of games, but who cares? Who goes to Disney just to play in an arcade?

DIGSITE: There was a fun little playground that my son loved. It was really cool and he asked to go back to play in it regularly.

THE POOL: The pool is HUGE. I especially loved the Aztec pyramid. We went one early evening and it was nice, only a few families. But the last morning (Saturday) it was very packed. There is also a small very shallow pool for little ones, which my son also had a lot of fun in.

OTHER: Seeing that the beach area was right across from our room, we spent some time out there on one of the hammocks. Let me tell you, the pictures we got were beautiful. One staff member walking by even offered to take our picture together as a family.

I'd definitely return to this resort. It was beautiful! We didn't use room service or eat at the restaurant though because we ate all meals in Disney World. Its very, very clean and I couldn't ask for a prettier, more relaxing place to return to after the hustle and bustle of Disney.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank joylyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Coronado Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Coronado Springs Resort

Address: 1000 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8403
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#94 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#139 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £150 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Coronado Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1921
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relive the romance of Spanish-colonial Mexico as you follow in the footsteps of explorer Don Francisco de Coronado at this Resort hotel. Find your own mythical city of gold in a Southwestern-themed haven of brightly colored Casitas, rustic Ranchos and beachfront Cabanas encircling a glimmering 22-acre lake. Each accommodation provides a unique escape and a welcoming home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Coronado Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Coronado Springs Hotel Orlando
Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Resort
Disneys Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Hotel
Disneys Coronado Springs Hotel
Coronado Hotel Orlando
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing