We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coronado Springs Resort; what a letdown!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Ranked #173 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coronado Springs Resort; what a letdown!”
Reviewed 28 December 2006

We recently made a trip to Disneyworld in Orlando, Florida. We visited Disneyworld 4 years ago, and stayed at the Wilderness Lodge, but decided to stay at a less expensive resort this time (figuring we wouldn't spend much time in the room).

After a 10 hour car drive (from Raleigh, NC) we were tired, and our kids were cranky. We entered the resort, which was very pretty and decorated beautifully for Christmas. We weren't very happy when we saw the check in line, and were really unhappy by the time we were finally checked in, one hour later. It seemed for every employee working behind the check in desk, there were 2 wandering around looking lost.

We were given 2 rooms in the Casitas, which must be Spanish for small, dated room. The rooms were advertised as sleeping 4 people. When we got to the rooms, and saw the size of the beds (very small double beds) we knew we would never get two people in one bed. We called the front desk to enquire about a rollaway, and were told there would be a $15 a day charge. We went ahead and got the bed figuring it was worth the money to make sure our 3 kids all got a good night's sleep. We also had to pay $9.95 a day for internet access in our room. There was free wireless access at the pool, but there aren't many hotels anymore that charge for internet in the room. There were also far fewer channels available on the TV than in the average hotel.

The rooms were very small and very dated. I felt like I had gone back to the 70's. The bathroom was small and cramped, the fixtures were old and rusty, and the bathroom was stocked with the bare minimum of one bottle of shampoo, 2 small bars of soap, and thin, small bath towels. There was a notice that if we wanted to go to the quiet pool we would need to bring room towels with us, as none were provided at the pool. I recently stayed at a bargain type hotel, and that hotel had better towels, better toiletries, nicer bed linens, free internet, etc. etc. etc. for about 1/3 of the price of the Coronado.

The other negative of this resort is the size of it. It's a huge resort, and it's quite spread out. Our kids are older, so it wasn't bad for them, but if they had been younger we would have been doing a lot of carrying them around. Since the resort is so huge, everything from the arcade to the restaurants was always crowded and busy.

I spoke to several people during our trip and we all agreed that there just isn't a good time to visit Disneyworld anymore. For the money we spent on this vacation we could have gone to Hawaii or the Bahamas and stayed at a much nicer resort. I know you are paying for the Disney brand, but it seems to me that Disney doesn't worry about quality anymore, because they know people will still come.

The only positive thing I can really say is that the Disney employees are top notch in friendliness, helpfulness, and politeness. Unfortunately for me that just isn't enough.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,762
    2,173
    1,186
    566
    321
See reviews for
2,939
1,147
107
931
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago,illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed here from Dec. 14, to Dec. 19th and I must be honest and say we will never stay at this resort again. We have both stayed at various resorts over the years and never experienced the problems that we did over a course of 5 days. It all started the first day of getting at the resort. We asked a bellman if they could bring our bags to our room while we got something to eat. They told us they did not feel comfortable going to our room without us being there. We explained our situation how we have not eaten yet that day and they assured us that we could leave our bags with them, they will store them in the "luggage storage". So after eating, we went to the bellman and asked them for our luggage and a ride to our room. They said they would have to have someone go get our luggage from their storage but we should wait outside in front for them. Upon walking in the front, we couldnt help but notice that our luggage was still on the cart in front of the resort where we had left it. Not only that but completely unattended. Any one could have come up and walked away with it. So we went back in and told them that it was out front still and did not even recieve an appology. One of the bellman looked at us and said that our room was right out the back and we wouldnt have to walk far. Not knowing anything about this resort, we asked someone else who told us there was no way we could walk all the way to the back of the resort to our room, it was over a mile away! On the way to our room all the bellman could say was how terrible the staff was and how they are trying to cut everyones jobs. We had asked about 4 different people what time the pool and the pool bar was open until and all 4 people had something different to tell us. There was mold in the bathroom and when you first walk in, that is all you can smell. Customer service at this resort was HORRIBLE....The resort is is beautiful in many ways, however not worth all the problems we had encoutrered with the employees. The food on the other hand, we thought was very good. Over all, would not go back there again.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank rnj105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2006

My Group and I from the University at Buffalo stayed at the Coronado Springs resort as part of a group/convention booking and as a result we are unaware of the exact rate per night but it was discounted rate for sure. It was truly exciting yet a hell an expedition staying at this DISNEY resort.
We arrived at central registration directly from the Orlando International Airport via the Disney Magical Express that was efficient and speedy. They even collected our luggage (A+++) At registration we checked in receiving our Disney room key / credit cards. At that point we were issued maps of the resort to guide us through our expedition. Arriving at 9PM the buggies to our rooms (located on the opposite end of the resort) were on a thirty-minute schedule. (D-) We had to walk with our luggage (no other choice) through the resort. Not cool!
The resort is a theme park on its own. HUGE and awkwardly arranged with a big lagoon in the middle. It was a bit confusing to navigate especially since the 24 of us were in different buildings throughout the resort. Once at a building we walked in circles looking for an elevator. How confusing it was. Perhaps easier to cross the Rio Grande
Rooms were clean and comfortable featuring southwest tex/mex design. Rooms come with a minifridge, which you have to fill yourself. It would of been great if the rooms were bigger in size since luggage of four occupants can really get in the way with the lack of space. Rooms opened up to an exterior hallway, which was cool for the young college crowd to mix and socialize but a con for other guest since they tended to be a bit noisy on while walking. Nonetheless it was great to party from the balcony hallways alla Mardi gras style but don’t get to loud or the Mickey Police will get you!
During convention days we had to walk 10 to 15 minutes in cold weather to get to the main convention center. Buggies were available but were completely full at all times. This became annoying since all convention participants needed to be in professional attire, which doesn’t consist of walking shoes in most cases.
In the main building they are shops and eateries among them the Pepper Market that is set up in a food court style. They give you a card and you walk around choosing your food cafeteria style. The food is not to bad but be careful since it is easy to overspend since prices are not noted until you reach the register.
Traveling to the parks is another journey that can take about 25 minutes during peak times. Buses were always packed and you can tell little was done to accommodate the 3000 participates of the convention. Personally I had a great time but in terms of access, comfortably and lack of better transport I would not recommend this Resort.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Abraham V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2006

This was our first stay in a Disney resort; previously we had great experiences staying at Marriott resorts in Orlando. As other reviewers have said, the Coronado is beautiful. Although we requested a room in one of the Cabana buildings (closest to main building El Centro), we were given a room in Ranchos 7B. The resort is spread out, but we did not find the walking distances a problem, contrary to many other reviewers. The walk from the main pool (Dig Site) to El Centro was relaxing and scenic. The room itself was quite small, as I am told is typical in Disney hotels. The size of the room was an issue for us - a family of 4 with 3-yr old twins. The vanity/sink is in the main part of the room, the tub/shower and toilet are in a small closet-like commode room. There is no separate closet; there is a bar to hang clothes right next to the vanity, so 3-yrs old washing their hands can splash the hanging clothes! It was a bit claustrophobic for us, even though we spent little time in the room.

The bus service was not as convenient as I had hoped/read about. We took the bus 4 times and had to stand all but one time (which is not fun with small children) because it was so crowded. The wait for the buses was very short, less than 5 minutes.

The real problem I had with the resort was the restaurants. Pepper Market was obscenely overpriced, too loud, and the people who worked there were rude or had an attitude. They seemed to hate their job. The layout of the food stations was confusing. The food was okay, but if you have young children you will spend most of your meal getting up and down to fetch food for the family from the various stations. For breakfast, we spent almost $60, for 2 kids meals, a breakfast burrito, eggs and hash browns, side of bacon, side of fruit, tea and coffee.

We also tried the Maya Grill for dinner. Food was overspiced for our liking. We spent $120 on dinner for the four of us. Service was great there however, with very friendly people. By comparison, we also ate at Ohana at the Polynesian Resort, that cost us $125 and was fantastic!

The Dig Site pool is terrific. There is a playground area and sand area for the little ones, plus a small kids pool in addition to the main pool with water slide and water sprays. My nephews ages 6 and 9 gave the water slide enthusiastic thumbs up.

Overall, the resort is pretty and a decent price for a Disney property. The details show why its a moderate and not a deluxe Disney resort. Going out to eat at other resorts will probably cost you the same money for better quality.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank twoplustwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Chasse, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2006

My grandparents and I stayed in this hotel the summer I was entering high school. The hotel is beautiful! There is so much to do: a pool, a gift shop, wonderful dining, and so much more. As a guest, there are so many great benefits. For instance (and this is my favorite), the free shuttles to and from the Disney parks, water parks, Downtown Disney, and even a bus that will take you around the resort. My grandparents and I will be going back in July to Disney, and we have all agreed to stay in this hotel again. If you plan on staying in Disney, I HIGHLY suggest you stay in this beautiful hotel!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Abosuletly Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at the Pepper Market. It has great food and a nice atmosphere!
  • Stayed August 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank laurenlovesmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf City, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2006

Ok, I read so many reviews bashing this place that I was a little worried when we checked in. Yes, the place is large, but they tell you that on there website. You have to walk to get to the registration area. Its not that far though, and the scenery is beautiful. They will help with luggage if you need it or if you flew in. We drove, parked close to our room, and checked out on Dec.8, 2006. We were there for 8 nights. Everyone was friendly, the room was clean, and we found that the there are signs telling you where you are and where the elevators are. We ate that the Mayan restaurant for breakfast once, but every other day we ate at the McDonalds which is just blocks away and there are signs for it at the exit of the resort. My husband and I enjoyed stay. They only thing that was annoying where all of the children in the 22 person hot tub at night. We learned to suck it up and just get in. They would eventually get out! The staff was helpful and we saw a lot of people being taken to there room by the golf carts WITH their luggage. We were even given a voucher for complimentary champagne at check-in!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank XZERA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2006

We stayed at the Coronado Springs resort as part of a group/convention booking and as a result we paid discounted rates of $133 per night. Considering the fact that we were in a MOTEL, not a hotel, the quality of the accomodations didn't even come close to what you might expect at Disney World. My impression is that we paid way too much for much too little.

There are no valet/bell staff to help you with your luggage. You drive to the closest parking lot and then have to haul your luggage to your room. The motel is 4 stories high and it is without question the most confusing set up I've ever seen. We walked in circles looking for an elevator, we got lost making return trips to the car for more luggage and we actually searched for more than 20 minutes one time just trying to find the parking lot!! All the buildings look exactly alike and they are numbered, Casitas 1, Casitas 2, which just adds to the confusion. We found the grounds crew had difficulty giving us directions to our room!

We were lucky to stay in the same building as the convention center; for those folks that were on the other side of the lagoon it was a 10-15 minute walk (in 40 degree temps. in December) just to get to the convention center. The lobby and the two restaurants are also located in the same building as the convention center so if you want to do anything (eat, attend meetings, go to the gift shop, etc.) it is essential that you make sure you are in one of the Casitas buildings. Otherwise, bring your hiking shoes or your patience because I've heard the shuttle service is SLOW.

The Pepper Market is the "food court" dining experience which leaves much to be desired. They give you a card and you walk around choosing your food cafeteria style. The food is mediocre at best and over-priced for what they give you. (Although, that is in keeping with the Disney tradition.) The Pepper Market only seats 435 and considering there were 1800 attending the conference, long lines to enter the food court were standard. The other restaurant, the Mayan Grill, also could not accomodate the number of people at the convention so there were 30-40 minute waits there as well. There is a mini-fridge in every room and travelers are advised to STOCK UP BEFORE ARRIVING.

The rooms open up to the outdoors and the noise from people passing on the concrete catwalks outside the rooms was LOUD. The beds are doubles, not queens and the bathroom was so tiny you couldn't close the door......no bed skirts, really cheap blankets and bed linens, thin carpeting......the TV in the room was a 17 inch Sony. Internet access in the room (with an ethernet cable - no wireless in the rooms) is $10 for 24 hours. Geez! Even Embassy Suites gives guests free wireless!! For what we paid for the room we could have stayed in a much nicer hotel with much finer appointments. Unfortunately we had to stay on site and had little choice. I would advise everybody to pass on this Disney property and look elsewhere. We've stayed on many Disney properties before and have never experienced the difficulties we've found here.

  • Liked — Not really anything.
  • Disliked — The difficulty in getting around the resort.
  • Tips/Secrets — Look elsewhere for better accomodations.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nombre60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.4 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
2.2 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
1.8 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Coronado Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Coronado Springs Resort

Property: Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Address: 1000 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8403
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#94 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#139 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Coronado Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1921
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relive the romance of Spanish-colonial Mexico as you follow in the footsteps of explorer Don Francisco de Coronado at this Resort hotel. Find your own mythical city of gold in a Southwestern-themed haven of brightly colored Casitas, rustic Ranchos and beachfront Cabanas encircling a glimmering 22-acre lake. Each accommodation provides a unique escape and a welcoming home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Coronado Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Coronado Springs Hotel Orlando
Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Resort
Disneys Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Hotel
Disneys Coronado Springs Hotel
Coronado Hotel Orlando
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing