We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Ranked #185 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A weekend getaway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We wanted to get out of Boston and get some sun to work on that tan (May 4-6, 2012). Chose the Doubletree for it's convenient location (~10-15 min walk) to Universal's City Walk. The AAA price of $118/night was also reasonable.

First impressions of the hotel were favorable. Warm cookies at check-in and friendly staff.

Requested a "Pure" room when I made the reservations on-line due to allergies. Upon entering room there was an odor that I'm not sure that I could quite explain (but it wasn't a fresh scent that made you think clean). My fiance commented that it smelled like urine. There was an air filter next to the dresser which reminded me that this was a "pure" room. I have to admit that it did seem to eliminate any sneezing.

The bed was very comfortable and slept well. The bathroom was decent nothing to special.
We did enjoy the pool and the pool bar. There were plenty of chairs and towels were provided. There was a buffet for breakfast, but we chose to order off of the menu. It was just "ok".

The one frustrating part of our stay was that in the South tower 2 of the 3 elevators were non- functionable for a better part of our second day. the elevators are small so couldn't hold more than 8 comfortably. There were convention/meeting groups held in the hotel on the weekend that we stayed so that made waiting for the elevator an exercise in patient.

At one point I grew so frustrated with the wait that I decided to take the stairs up to our room on the 10th floor. Quite winded when I reached my room. That's when I decided that I would stay somewhere else the next time I came to Orlando.

If not for the elevator issue I would have said that the stay was comfortable and would consider the hotel again. But that and the room odor will make me reconsider.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. We truly appreciate your feedback about the elevator problem and odor in our PURE room. We’ve worked with our maintenance to fix the issue of the elevator’s that day, but we’re very sorry that it wasn’t resolved sooner. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    1,442
    883
    395
    275
See reviews for
1,668
1,041
116
707
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from Good Friday. I had read some Bad reviews but we liked the hotel , it's big , clean and Purfect for Universal, it takes 10 mins to walk, we were happy to do this as no old or toddlers in our party, however, without a car Disney is a long trek! But if you read TA u should already know that!!! We were impressed wih the large rooms and comfy beds, no complaints, would stay again!! The only thing I'd like to see is a more affordable breakfast ( we went to Golden Corral) and more of the restaurant open for dinners etc!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacmacKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We’re happy you had a great stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I’m happy to hear that our large rooms, comfortable beds and our location to Universal Orlando made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on several occassions for business. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but the furnishings are basic. The corridors on each floor are drab and in need of updating.

Lobby is nice. There is a Starbucks and several nondescript restaurants. Had lunch buffet and the chicken parmesan was like eating shoe leather. Fortunately, there are a number of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel and restaurant. We’re very sorry that you were disappointed with your entrée, and we’ve shared your comments with our culinary team. As you have stayed with us frequently we hope the next time you’re in Orlando you will stay with us again. Thank you for helping us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here recently for one night on a trip to Universal Studios. The room was clean and the hotel was very quiet. Loved the warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in.

Eating options in the hotel and nearby were limited but you can easily drive somewhere or go over to Citywalk for more variety!

The location is perfect if you want to walk over to Universal. It is about 10-15 minutes on foot. We found the Doubletree to be a much better value than staying in a Universal property!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor facing the pool were quiet and had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you Liz for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I’m happy to hear our location to Universal Orlando made your stay more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivanhoe, MN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The front desk staff was less than helpful. I was disappointed that they couldnt arrange our requests (we booked a King but were given 2 queens- My husband is 6'6" and needs a king!) and that was out of their realm of assistance. The cookies at check in were nice. Rooms were very clean, but the pillows were awful. Our view consisted of the rusted out roof top of the building next door. The poolside bar staff was great. Lovely atmosphere. Also the hot tub was huge- which we liked very much! It was nice that its right across the street from Universal and also provides a free shuttle. Was disappointed that they could not accomodate a little more as we were there on our honeymoon. TV Channels left little to be desired.

Room Tip: Get a Universal view, they usually have a fireworks display at night. Worth the extra cost to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaleyPmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your review of the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. We are very sorry that you weren’t happy with your guestroom during your recent trip to Orlando. We try to accommodate all reservations but occasionally we can’t meet every room request. Please give us a second chance if you return to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Decent hotel but facility needs to be updated. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Paying for parking was a little over the top, especially for this hotel. As stated decent hotel for the price $119 per night but there are nicer in the Hilton family close by.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of Universal Studios so was nice seeing fireworks from our room at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspective about our hotel appearance helps us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Another Hilton, another country, but still somewhat tired. The good points and bad points balance each other out - there are no major issues but neither is there anything to make you feel that "WOW" factor.

The room we had was comfortable - facing out over the pool area, lack of opening windows and no balcony means you can't really sit outside on an evening and enjoy the air. Doors were showing bad wear and tear inside the bathroom area. To say there are four people (including two children) in the room, the amount of storage space is somewhat lacking unless you bring plenty of coathangers for the wardrobe. The Air Conditioning was effective but bloody noisy !(see alternate review i did of Disney's Animal Kingdom Jambo House for another A/C comment).

On checking in, we were offered a free gift if we went to the Concierge Desk - when we got there they were simply trying to get us to attend a TimeShare meeting to buy into one of their new developments, if we attended we would be rewarded with a $100 American Express card. They also ask for a $20 deposit (as places book up fast apparently). The Concierge desk also appeared to have no understanding of the area unless it related to Universal or anything on the i-Trolley. When i asked best way to get to Disney they had no idea, then i walked around twenty yards to the Valet area where the Bell Boys told me they had a shuttle service available to Disney resorts (book the day before).

The cookies were nice which the kids enjoyed when we checked in (the rooms weren't ready and we waited an extra hour before we could get in).

Food is good, breakfast is just over $58 for the buffet (that was for two kids two adults and adults are $17.99 a head) don't forget they add 16% gratuity which is included in my price above.

Most of the staff were helpful (other than concierge services).

All in all it was ok, but you wouldn't stay if you had time on your hands, best used as somewhere to sleep after a day at the parks but don't expect much else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinnyCelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry you were unhappy with your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#109 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Property: Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Address: 5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-7904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Doubletree Universal
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing