We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon and loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Ranked #162 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and i recently stayed at the Doubletree by hilton and were really pleased with our choice to stay there. The hotel is very clean with AMAZING staff. They are all so courtieous and willing to help whenever and wherever its needed. Even the staff at the door pleasantly greet you everyday and all of those factors create a very warm and welcoming atmosphere to stay in. We stayed at this hotel for two weeks, the rooms were very spacious, the bed extremely comfortable and I couldn't fault the housekeeping staff whatsoever. They know how to do their jobs properly and efficently! The longue/lobby area is fantastic and the outdoor facilities and pool are very enjoyable.The only negative things I could really say about this hotel is that although they do offer food and drink to purchase, it is extremely expensive in the hotel. The surrounding area has fast food options, as well as TGI Fridays and a brillant Japanese place. As well as the cost of the food options, the walls are really thin. My husband and I could often hear the TV of our neighbours (quite loudly) and anyone that even breathed in our hallway, we could hear everything. It wasn't unbearable but more annoying than anything. The hotel offers a shuttle service to majority of the theme parks, it is so close to Universal that we walked and could even see the hotel when we were on some of the taller rides. It also provides an option for a shuttle to disney at an added cost. We used this one day and then used the public transport service for the other days which took awhile but got us there a bit cheaper. I would recommend this hotel to any adults travelling the area, or families with older children. My last comment would have to be the internet. They only offer free internet if you are in the lobby or the main areas of the hotel (areas surrounding the lobby essentially) and this was very inconvient. We only wanted to check some emails and contact family and we had to sit in the lobby to do so each time. The connection wasn't brillant either, we found we were able to obtain better connections eslewhere like the starbucks down the road and even MacDonalds. All in all, couldn't complain, would definitley stay again. Our honeymoon was fantastic and part of that reason was we had a fabulous, CLEAN (I cannot stress that enough), and friendly hotel with an atmosphere that really suited us and made it the trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Ask for a room "on the end" so you only have one neighbour (which we did) as the walls are...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeenaLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Deena thank you for taking the time to send us this great review and your suggestions regarding the hotel. We are very happy you selected the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando as your honeymoon destination. We hope to see you again when you celebrate your one year anniversary. Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,552)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,326 - 2,332 of 3,552 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks. The location was good as we could walk to universal not too far but could be hot depending what time of day you went. There was also a good selection of restaurants nearby. Another plus was the I trolley green line stops outside so was easy to get around without the use of a car.

We were on floor 8 with views of the fountain in between the 2 towers and we could also see universal park and harry potters castle in ioa. The room was spacious. Thge bed was huge and comfy.

There are 3 lifts which we only had to wait once as 1 lift was out of order and there was a large conference on and everyone was trying to go down at once but it was no problem.

We would recomend this hotel to anyone we had a great time staying here. Cant comment on food, gym, pool as we didnt use them, the pool did look nice though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcwbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

We’re happy you had a great stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I’m delighted to hear that our room, location and your view made your stay more comfortable. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Three friends and I took a roadtrip to Florida in August, and our second stop was Orlando. We did not have any reservations, as the trip was spontaneous. We stumbled across the Doubletree and absolutely loved it! The location couldn't be more perfect, and the nightly rate was very low. This hotel boasts a lovely atmosphere and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The property is very neat and clean, and the rooms are very well taken care of too. The pool is great for relaxing along with the poolside bar (awesome frozen drinks!) The entrance to Universal Studios is right across the street; a very short shuttle ride is also available to go to City Walk if you are looking for great nightlife. Also, the ride to SeaWorld is just about 10 minutes. There are gift shops, restaurants, and other stores right next to this hotel in the shopping center. I highly recommend this hotel, everything about it was excellent.

Room Tip: Four (4) guests total, stayed in one room with two queens bed. Nice and spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelChickStigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you, thank you and thank you for giving us all 5’s on your review. We are very happy you and your three guests had a great stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. We will save a pool chair and a frozen drink for you on your next trip to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Excellent location if visiting Universal Studies, $5 taxi ride, well maintained hotel, great pool,very comfy rooms, especially bedding! Only complaint, drink prices in the bar crazy, but TGIF's just across the road. Staff excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m0yramcsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I’m happy to hear that our service, great amenities and our location made your stay more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

we stayed at this hotel recently and i must say the comfiest beds ever, the rooms were clean and towels changed every day, the staff were so well mannered and efficient and done the biggest variety of breakfast i have seen (we travel a lot). As an employee of a 5 star hotel myself, this hotels staff could learn a few, and beats a 5 star with the staff alone, I would love to know what mattresses they use I should have looked and cannot seem to email them. I would highly recommend this hotel.

regards Patricia

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Your comments about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (our Sweet Dream Mattress). Please use the following email address if you would like information regarding our mattresses’ stay@doubletreeorlando.com. Hope to see you again Patricia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Visited this Resort for Christmas and my son booked it because he lives in Orlando with roomate. I've stayed @Doubletree before therefore I was thinking more of a business type Resort. Much to my surprise this place was beautiful and beautifully decorated for Christmas.
The staff was very friendly and courteous. The Resort is actually in a perfect location for walking to attractions and food venues. The Resorts rooms were well insulated for noise, amenities onsite were great. I will visit this one again when in Orlando.

Room Tip: Corner suite large and roomy
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando specifically during the holiday season. We are very proud of our lobby decorations and hope you will visit again with your family. Sallie please tell your son thanks for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This was my daughter and her husband honeymoon they took us mum and dad with them mainly as taxi lol. we had a great stay here rooms were lovely and clean and bar staff very freindly and reception helpfull,would reccomend hotel.THANKYOU.

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor 18
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorryEngland_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thank you for your nice comments and sharing a very special time in your life with the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. We hope you visit us on your 1 year anniversary, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#122 of 340 in Orlando
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Address: 5780 major blvd., Orlando, FL 32819-7904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#136 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £66 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Doubletree Universal
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing