We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but the devil is in tbe details.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Ranked #169 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location but the devil is in tbe details.”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great lobby area, easy (but expensive) parking, and very good staff.

The hotel is located direcly outside the gates of Universal Studios and near restuarants. The room was nice but the details were poor. The carpet was filthy and stained, the toilet was tilted to the right, and there was old dried blood on the sink wooden mount. The bathroom also needed some small details repaired.

Pics attached.

A positive note is that the hotel has comprehensive security on site. The room next door was having a small party securitu handled it promptly after I called.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtraveler8001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear gtraveler8001 ,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I am sorry sorry for the issues you had with the cleanliness and condition of the room. There is no reason for the room to be anything but perfect. I have forwarded this on to our Housekeeping department to correct. I hope you will visit us again soon. please let me know when you will be traveling so I can personally handle your reservation.

Sincerely,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    1,198
    698
    292
    204
See reviews for
1,282
844
92
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very nice hotel with a decent price. We stayed one night when visiting Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure for two days in November. The room was clean and quiet and just what we needed for resting between long days at the parks. Just make sure you get "boarding passes" (which are free) for the shuttle to the parks if you don't want to walk the 1+ mile to the gates. Great buffet breakfast, too. TGIFriday's is right across the street if you didn't want to dine at the hotel. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Joanne K,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay so much and were able to relax after the long days at the park. We hope to see you again soon when you return to Orlando.

Sincerely,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Room was clean, modern and large. Full breakfast in the morning with lots of options on the buffet. Would recommend. Lots of parking and staff was very friendly. It is kitty corner to the parking garage at Universal but I would still recommend driving as it is quite a walk from parking garage to Universal.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Michael B,

Thank you so much for staying with us. I am so happy to hear you had such a great time staying with us and our location worked so well for you.I have passed on your kind words to our housekeeping staff. please come to see us again soon.

Best Regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel was a fantastic place to rest our heads after spending the day at Universal Studios. We were greeted with a stack of warm chocolate chips cookies by Linda, who was wonderful, upgraded to a room facing Universal so the kids could watch the evening firework show and then bedded down with our specially requested memory foam pillows. Never have I been checked in on so often to make sure we had everything we needed and was comfortable! Well done Hilton!
The room was very large and was showing it's age a little, but it was immaculate and had very comfy beds. I would recommend it to anyone traveling with kids or heading to the theme parks. We had dinner one night at Disney and it wasn't really a long drive back. Well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristeneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear ChristeneH,

I am so glad to hear you had such a great time with us during your stay in Orlando. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. I have shared this with Linda and it made her smile. Thank you for recognizing her!!. We all hope to see you again soon. We will keep the cookies warm for you.

Sincerely,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, MA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Double Tree Hotel across from the Universal Studios in Orlando, FL is a great place to stay. You can't get much closer to the entrance of Universal without actually being inside. Very reasonably priced and a nice clean hotel. Staff is extremely agreable. More expensive hotels don't have a better breakfast buffet. Real orange juice and an incredible omlette station. Lots of good food. Wonderful staff too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Robert E,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review with us. I am so happy to hear that our location was so perfect for you. I have shared your comments about our staff and breakfast experience with our entire staff. Thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. We walked to Universal both of the days we were there. We were even close enough to walk to a Walgreens and several restaurants. The hotel staff is very attentive, we even were able to buy our park tickets at the hotel for a cheaper price. The first night we were there, our wallet containing out park tickets for the whole trip got stolen in City Walk. The ticket counter at the hotel was able to reissue us tickets which was a HUGE relief. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Kristina M,

I am so happy to hear you had such a good time with us during your stay. I am glad our location was perfect for you and that our desk was able to help you when your tickets went missing. Thank you foir staying with us and for taking time to give us such a great review. I hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Everything was great, the room, the bed, except the noise. I had 2 very loud people next door who stayed up late and got up very early. I was there for business and I woke up several times through out the night because of them. I think at the time of check-in they should ask if you would like a quiet floor because of business travel. Other than that, I thought everything was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Leann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Leann P,

I am so happy to hear that everything was so great!!. I do apologize for the noisy guests next door. I will do all I can to make sure we get you a quiet room the next time you are in town for business. Thank you for sharing your comments with me.

Best Regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#119 of 338 in Orlando
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Property: Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Address: 5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-7904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Doubletree Universal
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing