We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short and sweet stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Ranked #185 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Short and sweet stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and found the location perfect for our itinerary! There was a complimentary shuttle to Universal & Islands of Adventure, the outlets are a short drive away, and Greg, Glen and Ryan in the Carnivale bar are diamonds! Carlos, the Assistant Head of Housekeeping, just couldn't do enough for you. Don't be afraid to ask for a complimentary cookie from reception, either; they're warm, soft and LUSH! Would highly recommend for those seeking a short-term Orlando base.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bryony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    1,442
    884
    395
    275
See reviews for
1,668
1,041
117
707
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Not that I should have expected but this is very much not a business site - so far the other way in fact. It was full of school trips. Also rooms are a bit flakey; at one point the shower broke for example. They fixed it but I don't know why it wasn't identified by housekeeping and instead left to me to flag.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Disappointing service and quality of a Hilton property. Halls were very hot, receptacles in rooms would not hold device (phone charger, hairdryer, etc.), phones were very static filled that caller couldn't hear, housekeeping was very poor. Stay was 7 nights bathroom linens were never complete. Housekeeping was called each night of stay to deliver towels/washcloths. Front desk associates gave excuses instead of resolutions. Service was certainly below what I would expect from a Hilton Doubletree.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skicrazy3778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear skicrazy3778,

We want to apologize once again for the cleanliness conditions and services of your guest room. We can assure you this is not typical nor acceptable and we're making every effort to ensure rooms meet our high standards, with your comments in mind. We hope we can invite you back for the comfortable accommodations you expect and deserve.

Best regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Location - approx 15 min brisk walk from hotel to universal studios. The walk is safe and nicely treed/landscaped.

Hotel - 2 separate towers. Convention on when we arrived and the elevators struggled to handle the volume of people. After convention was over the elevators were fine. No balconies in any rooms. View of universal from rooms on the parking lot sides of the tower. Fireworks at night spuratically around 9-9:30 but not worth getting really excited about.
Overall rooms are adequate with good beds -2 doubles in ours, mini fridge, decent wifi in room but they are a bit "tired" and could use an upgrade. Furnishings and decor is dated...including the bathroom.
We found our room to be quiet even when the hotel was full during the convention.
Price is under $100

Pool - nice amount of lounge chairs. Towels are pathetically small - slightly larger than a hand towel. Kids enjoyed the pool which is 9 1/2 ft deep at the deep end. There is a hot tub but we weren't in it so can't comment.

Starbucks in the lobby area

We would not hesitate to stay here again if we planned to visit universal Orlando. It's close enough to walk back and forth a couple times/day and escape the park in the heat of the afternoon. Good value and great location. Basic hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somanytrips2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My family just returned from a trip from Orlando where we stayed at the Double Tree which faces Universal studios. We were greeted by Linda who in our opinion was a rock star. She gave us tips on how to save money, explained the free transportation to and from Universal, and gave us warm fresh baked cookies. We then went to our room which was clean and spacious enough for the four of us. We then
explored the complex which has a small food court,restaraunt, star bucks, arcade, laundry room, large pool with hot tub, etc. The only negative feedback I have is housekeeping forgetting towels which after one call was taken care of in less then 10 minutes. In closing, I highly reccomend this hotel not only because of its proximity to Universal, but because of the service the Double Tree staff provides.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Ria P,

I am so happy to hear what a great time you had staying with us during your visit to Orlando. I have passed your comments about the shuttle to Universal Orlando who provides the complimentary shuttle service.Thank you so much for your review and please come see us again soon. We will have the Universal view waiting for you.

best regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocala, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Only stayed one night. But great place to stay if going to Universal you can easily walk and don't have to pay for parking at the park. The warn chocolate chip cookies are great. Has lots of places to eat. Every thing is close by including outlets if you have family members who like to shop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Loved this hotel. Price is right on the money (get it) and the staff is extremely accommodating and nice. I arrived 3 hours before schedule and Cathy was able to put me in a different room that was ready. It wasn't on a HHonors level but it doesn't matter it was the fact that she helped me get into a room asap and the room and view was still awesome. I was only there for the night so I wasn't able to check out the pool but I dug it. for the price and location this place cannot be beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank AlexT1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#109 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Property: Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Address: 5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-7904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Doubletree Universal
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing