We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Gem in Orlando”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #66 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Hotel had undergone a recent renovation, & it boasts with beauty & 5 star amenities. All the rooms are beautifully re-done with high thread count sheets & duvet covers. The staff is extremely helpful & very professional. You really feel pampered & taken care off. The hotel has 2 large pools - 1 with sand & kids area & the other - more tranquil adult pool. Mama Della restaurant offers the best Italian food you have ever eaten (& we are spoiled by NYC restaurants). Not to mention, the nightly opera performance, which you can enjoy from a harbor piazza or from the comfort of your balcony. And, the hotel is 5 min walk to the parks (a beautifully groomed trail that takes you along the river through a butterfly garden & bamboo forest.) Overall, a 5 star hotel. We tie in Disney & stay at Portion Bay Hotel every year (some times more often). November is the most beautiful season for us as we catch the most amazing display of Christmas decorations, & still enjoy the pools & warm weather. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: ask for Bay View room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anyacoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review. When you still want to comment months after a trip, we know you truly had a wonderful time! We are glad that you enjoyed our lovely rooms, friendly team members and our signature restaurant Mama Della’s, which we have to agree… is superb! We hope that you can visit us again soon to enjoy all that the resort has to offer. Until then, ciao!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,986 - 3,992 of 4,461 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We selected the Loew's Portofino Bay Hotel since it was recommended by American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts. It also permitted pets, as we were bringing our small bichon frise. As part of the FH & R, you are entitled to an upgraded room, if available. However, at this hotel, there are designated "pet rooms", so an upgrade was not an option. Also, you get a $100 food and beverage credit; however, at this hotel, you had to use the restaurant, not room service. I find that very curious, as most hotels want you to spend time in your hotel room with your pet.

The hotel is old and not well maintained. It took a very long time to cool our room, as the outside temperature was near 90.

Breakfast was disappointing also. We asked for an "EggBeater" omelette, and the omelette maker didn't know what "Eggbeaters" was. Loews did not have them. Ritz Carlton's do, Four Seasons' do; this hotel is not in that class. Not sure how it ever made it to FH & R.

Instead of staying at Loew's, go to the Ritz Carlton. Cost about the same. Unfortunately, it was overbooked on the day of our stay. They also take small pets.

Room Tip: There isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattyanddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are concerned to hear your comments, as it is our intent to keep our product at a luxury level at all times and we have recently undergone a major renovation to both the interior and exterior of our resort. I do apologize for the miscommunication about your $100 Food & Beverage AMEX credit. You are indeed entitled to utilize room service as part of this credit. The complimentary breakfast for two each day, however, can only be used at Trattoria Del Porto. The breakfast benefit is where room service does not apply. To better improve our service, our Executive Chef, Leon, would like the opportunity to speak with you directly in regards to your breakfast request. If you would like, please contact him at your earliest convenience at lteow@loewhotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our problems began when the early check-in assured by amex didn't happen. With three young children and a three month old baby , this was torture. No privacy for my wife to breast feed and poor facilities for nappy changing etc. The attitude of the front of house staff was one of haughty arrogant dismissal. When we eventually checked in we decided to eat at the poolside bar 'Splendido'. We sat there without any service for twenty minutes, the only attention we got was from the rubbish falling from the fully laden bins which were wheeled through the dining area. We then decided to seek sanctuary in our room. Whilst waiting in the lift lobby one of our children was stumbled over by an inebriated client. The hotel reminded me of a very attractive but useless individual with a keen sense of entitlement i.e entitled to your custom. The duty manager did his best to remedy the situation but was let down by his team.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JIMMYS771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are so glad we were privileged to stay at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando in April of this year. The place is beautiful, the staff was friendly and very helpful. From our room we could the the fireworks at Universal. The pools were beautiful. Getting to and from the parks were easy, you could ride a water taxi or walk and both were really pleasant. The restaurants were very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your comments! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in offering convenience to the thrills of the theme parks, as well as an oasis where you can relax. We hope that you consider staying with us again next time you visit Central Florida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

this was a 5 star hotel overlooking the harbor. 5 min walk to boat transportation to take you to the park. great water views along the way-even sang happy birthday to my husband. hotel was spacious, clean, mattress super, large bathroom. k-cups coffee pot in room. love seat to watch tv from. large picture window to sit by and the view. resturants within walking distance. mamma dellas made the best homemade lasagna we ever tasted. strolling muscians singing happy birthday again! check in was a breeze, happy staff excited to help with anything, 4 pools were a beautiful site-felt like we were in the mountains, waterfall and sandy beach. Wow-we are going back! harry potter world in being connected by train, opening soon. felt like we were italy. great

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the harbor, sunny side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iffy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. The relaxing ambiance of our re-creation of an Italian village makes us a unique oasis in a theme park resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the dining options we offer. We are excited for the opportunity to welcome you back and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here with my family for four days before staying in a condo. The hotel is great for first arrival into the orlando after a long flight, not too far from the airport and quite easy to find. Reception staff ok but unfortunately we didn't get the room we had requested and were told the hotel was full and there wasn't much they could do. Found it hard to believe that the hotel was completely full. Hotel itself is great although perhaps looking a little tired in the bathroom of our bedroom. Restaurants on the pricey side and closed relatively early, much more reasonable to eat at universal city walk. On the whole very good though, would stay again.

Room Tip: Club rooms worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FieldH0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

After a poor stay several years ago we are happy to say that our most recent visit was wonderful. The staff was great. From Lauren at the front desk to the maintenance and housekeeping staff, everyone seemed to work together for the best guest experience. Upon checking in we had a small mechanical problem with our room. The staff were right on it with a smile and quick response. Although the hotel was full and we could not be moved to another room, they more than made up for it with wonderful customer service and a yummy treat of chocolate covered strawberries, not to mention making short work of the needed repair! To us it is the little things that count and we certainly appreciate those little touches as an effort to show that we are valued guests.
Our only complaint - the lack of interest on behalf of the waitstaff at the Thirsty Fish. It is amazing how a waitress can walk past you numerous times, make eye contact and say nothing. A " Welcome, I will be right with you" goes a long way. Instead I had to be our own waitress and go to the bar myself. But it's okay I left
myself a great tip ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bkskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and giving us a second chance! We are so happy that you enjoyed a true Loews Portofino Bay Hotel experience. It is feedback such as yours that helps inspire the team to excellence, and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know that we succeeded this time around. I do apologize for your experience at Thirsty Fish, and will forward your comments to them as we are always looking for opportunities to improve. We hope that when your travels bring you back to our corner of the universe, you will choose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 341 in Orlando
1,519 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 341 in Orlando
4,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819-7880
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#15 Green Hotel in Orlando
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#27 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#45 Business Hotel in Orlando
#54 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#80 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £211 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious escape inspired by the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy. Perfectly appointed rooms and suites, gorgeous vistas and incredible cuisine welcome you to celebrate la dolce vita-the sweet life. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Portofino Bay Resort
Portofino Orlando
Portofino Bay Hotel Orlando
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing