We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loews Portofino” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #75 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Loews Portofino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed one night at The Portofino and really enjoyed it. We were able to check in at 7:30AM...get our fast passes and early admission to the park. The kids loved taking the boat over. We had fun at Universal but enjoyed the hotel even more. Loved the pool, waterslide and all the activities. We also ate a nice meal and loved the Italian singers. Only negative was walls were very thin and I could hear the parties next door from 2:30am-4:30am. Overall, SUPER fun for our family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for your comments.
While the two theme parks at Universal Orlando Resort are a major attraction, we are proud to offer amenities to keep you entertained right here at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,937
    827
    336
    144
    145
See reviews for
2,130
600
16
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here at the start of May as part of our honeymoon, the whole stay was just perfect. On arrival we were upgraded to a Deluxe Villa room and it was amazing. The bed was so comfortable, everything was really clean and well maintained. The express passes were a real bonus we never queued once the whole time we were there and the early entry into Harry Potter was a great extra, we were able to get all of Harry Potter done by 9.15 and that includes a Butter Beer :) The styling of the hotel is so romantic and perfect for a honeymoon, I loved getting the boat to the parks and on the way back stopping at the Thirsty Fish for a drink and to listen to the singers on the balcony. All the staff were really nice. It is expensive for drinks but that's to be expected, on the first day we went to the pool bar as we had been travelling for almost 20 hours and we really needed a drink :) for two beers it cost $20, very steep. We only used the pool once as we were so busy at the parks but it was nice to relax away from the parks for a few hours. I can't comment on the food as we were always out and about, but the coffee from Sal's was good to wake you up on the way to the parks. I don't have any complaints at all and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleM1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We sincerely hope your honeymoon in its entirety was everything you ever dreamed of, and are honored you chose to spend a part of it with us. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests are enjoying the extras that we offer, and we are excited to hear you would definitely stay with us again! We hope to see you soon. Until then, ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This is the finest place I have ever stayed. Impeccable service and unbridled luxury. All you expect in a four diamond but the surprise?
Awesome pool area with DJ and and excellent staff
The slide, though short was fun
But!!! Spoiler alert! They have a nighty soloist who sings from the balcony!!! It was breathtaking!
This is a resort where you can just stay..and stay....

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 5 and have a hard time getting suites. We booked the 2 bedroom suite- pricey, but it was really luxurious and huge. We were totally satisfied. And, I don't think the pictures convey how really nice the fake port looks. They did an awesome job. We stayed at the Hard Rock last year & liked it, but this was even nicer.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coptest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Booked stay with American Express Travel and hotel is part of fine hotels program. Got all the benefits including room upgrade. Rooms were very nice and spacious. Hotel restaurants are very good - including the itailian restaurant. Our son was ill and they were very accommodative. The pool/beach area is great - my 10 year old son loved it. Short boat trip to park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WC8882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us!
We are thrilled to hear that you had a great family vacation and are glad that you enjoyed the benefits that come along with the American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts program. We are very proud to participate in the program. We hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again soon. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our experience of the Portofino was extremely good. One of the best hotels we have stayed in for the price. No complaints whatever during our week stay.
The ambience of the hotel is exceptional, as are the finsihings inside and outside, particualrly the rooms. We stayed in a club level room and the space for two adults and two children was almost as good a size as a suite. As for service, everyone from the bell boys to the managers were very good. We had high expectations before we arrived, which can lead to a let down. We weren't at all.
It is isn't cheap, granted, but we fully go waht we paid for. We will certainly return.
Minor observations - could do with more water taxis as wait can be long. Also, the club lounge Hors d'oeuvres and complimentary wine between 5-7pm could be later. Most people are in the parks then.

Overall though very good experience indeed. Very pleased.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are quite proud of our spacious accommodations, and are happy that they met your needs. Our goal is to create an experience that allows our guests to experience ‘La Dolce Vita’ – The Sweet Life - here in Orlando, so we are happy to know that you had a wonderful experience. Your observations are much appreciated, as we are constantly looking for ways to improve. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Food and service in their flagship restaurant Bice was terrible, over cooked and tasteless, long wait in mostly empty restaurant, people not served together, and excessively slow.

Excessively difficult and tedious to get my shaving kit returned to me despite multiple phone calls and emails. Promises not kept. Now they cannot find it. Pathetic customer service.

Horrendously disappointing. First and last time we will ever visit a lowes property again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819-7880
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#16 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#17 Green Hotel in Orlando
#28 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#45 Business Hotel in Orlando
#54 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#80 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious escape inspired by the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy. Perfectly appointed rooms and suites, gorgeous vistas and incredible cuisine welcome you to celebrate la dolce vita-the sweet life. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TravelUp, Ebookers and Destinology so you can book your Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Portofino Bay Resort
Portofino Orlando
Portofino Bay Hotel Orlando
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing