We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #65 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jupiter, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights the weekend of April 25th 2014. The front desk staff was so nice. LAURA helped us check in and she was fabulous & super helpful. I can't say enough about how sweet she was to us all. First impressions go a LONG way!
The room was nice, the beds were surprisingly comfortable. Pillows were great too. The bathroom was good size, with plenty of room for "extra stuff" that a family brings. Room was a decent size. My only complaint about the whole place was that there was not room in the refrigerator to bring things (it was a stocked mini bar) there wasn't a single spot to put a bottle of water or bottle of wine. We had great food & wine from the Italian restaurant & would have loved to keep it. That is not deal breaker for me & honestly the only complaint I have with this beautiful hotel. Just a warning for moms who need to refrigerate formula or milk. Maybe request an empty fridge?

The food available was GREAT & fairly reasonable for Orlando / Theme park hotel. You could by a bottle of wine at a restaurant & just walk around with a wine glass in your hand (big bonus for moms & dads needing a break). The grounds were spectacular. Two awesome pools! There was a great staff by the pool to take drink orders & get food. The service was fast & food was delicious.
I will most definitely stay here again without a doubt! EXCELLENT hotel & staff. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: If you are a mom & need a refrigerator for milk or formula...you may need to request it. The fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,213
    902
    363
    162
    159
See reviews for
2,432
655
20
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olrando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Have to say loved this hotel. Very beautiful. Most of the staff went very friendly. However, I had some completely wrong charges on my final bill and had a very rude agent when I expressed my concern.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure can be fun and also tiring. A great way to get away from the hustle and bustle of the theme park madness is to stay in a luxury hotel. Portofino Bay is that escape from the theme park exhaustion. This hotel is truly a luxury experience in the middle of a theme park. It is a beautiful retreat just minutes away from the entrance to the parks and a boat ride away from the noise and hurry that happens there. Once you get back to the hotel, it become a different vacation. The Portofino Bay is a lovely hotel with restaurants and bars; a pool with fun and games and a poolside bar and lounge. There is also a pool that is quiet and a beautiful spa! It is all you could want in a resort and it is just minutes away from the entrance of the theme park!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton, florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Love this place. It like an "Italian" get away. Grounds are nice, shops and restaurants on resort site! Italian Opera singer Saturday night outside, jazz by the lake. Pool(s) so nice!!! Employees are very polite and helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kaspertheghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olrando
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Service at the Portofino was magnificent, valet, front desk and everyone was very friendly. Rooms were very clean, beds were very comfortable, food is delicious, no need to travel out for dinner, Pizza in the Plaza!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Giselle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was my 4th stay at the Portofino, and it only gets better. Every time, I wish I could stay longer. The service is top-notch; every staff member gives exceptional attention. The resort is beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Portofino (Club level) for 5 nights/6days in May. I was looking forward to staying here for the first time, as we have previously stayed at the Hard Rock (Club level) and Royal Pacific (2x). We got off to rocky start after checking in. We had requested connecting rooms and at check-in we were told only one room was ready. Not a big deal until we went we went to find our room. We were placed on the top floor all the way at the very end of the wing of the hotel. We couldn't have been any further from the club lounge. It was a quite a hike to the lounge and for the money we paid for 2 club rooms, it was very inconvenient. As we entered the room that was ready, we immediately noticed smeared toothpaste on the bathroom counter. Then the in-room safe didn't work. We lugged all our stuff back down to registration and I explained that we were unhappy with our room location being so far away from the club lounge & the dirty room. The nice young man apologized and went into the back room. When he came out, we were given 2 new rooms that were located on the 4th flr, not to far from the elevator. A much more manageable walk. The rooms were clean, but our safe didn't work. I called and they sent someone immediately & it was fixed. The rooms are spacious & lovely and the bathroom was huge. The beach pool was fantastic, although we never saw any activities for the kids while we were there. We all enjoyed the pool slide. Drinks were crazy expensive. We didn't enjoy the poolside pizza from Splendido but the pizza at Sal's was terrific. Actually, everything we ate at Sals was great. The best meals we had were at Trattoria at Portofino, which was delicious. The other wonderful meal we had was at Mythos, inside the park. Another thing we were a little disappointed in was the club room offerings. Having stayed club at Hard Rock, we were able to compare the two and HR had much more to offer during the Hors d'oeuvre hour. I would not pay for club again at Portofino, we didn't feel that it was worth it. That being said, the staff at the Club Lounge were top notch! They were all very friendly, helpful and accommodating. They get 2 thumbs up and if I had more thumbs, they'd get more. Lol

We used the ferry boats and walked a few times to the parks. It was a lovely walk. One time, we took the short cut and walked across the street over to the Hard Rock before heading to the parks. Once there, I realized how much I missed it. Although the Portofino was beautiful, our next stay we will return to the Hard Rock. We enjoy the vibe there and the walk to the parks is much closer. For families, I would definitely recommend Hard Rock or Royal Pacific. The HR had lots of poolside activities for the kids when we stayed there. The Portofino, while beautiful, I would recommend more for couples.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank breebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate your choice to stay with us here at Portofino Bay and at our sister properties, Royal Pacific and Hard Rock. Now that you’re in on the secret… you know that you don’t have to sacrifice quality or comfort in a theme park setting! I do apologize for the initial trouble with your rooms, but am happy the issues were resolved to your satisfaction. When your travels bring you back to the Orlando area, we hope that you will stay with us again at one of our On-Site Universal Resorts. Until then, ciao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,346 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819-7880
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#16 Green Hotel in Orlando
#24 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#45 Business Hotel in Orlando
#54 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#80 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious escape inspired by the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy. Perfectly appointed rooms and suites, gorgeous vistas and incredible cuisine welcome you to celebrate la dolce vita-the sweet life. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Portofino Bay Resort
Portofino Orlando
Portofino Bay Hotel Orlando
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing