We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #65 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The Universal CityWalk is a five minute boat ride from the hotel. You get free fast passes which cost almost $100 at the gate. The service is amazing and the three pools give one plenty to do. One bad thing is the fridge is a fully stocked snack/drink bar so if you want a fridge, you have to rent it. Overall this is an amazing value and I would highly suggest it to anyone staying in the Orlando area.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank slaterbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I will certainly share it with our team members, who work tirelessly to provide an exceptional experience to our valued guests.

Our goal is to delight our guests with a taste of ‘la dolce vita’ – the sweet life, and we are so happy your stay embodied this idea.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel on your next visit to Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,496 - 3,502 of 4,048 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Signage is very poor and directions were awfully bad no resort map provided, tub/shower broken (water only from shower head, no tub bath for kids), AC worked poorly. Deluxe price with a bargain experience

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was the perfect location because it is just a boat ride away from City Walk. I did not have a car and I felt as if I was able to entertain myself for the entire week between the hotel and City Walk!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing us!

We are thrilled that you had a great stay here at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel. Our on-site location at Universal Orlando Resort allows us to offer the ultimate in convenience and benefits when visiting the Universal Orlando theme parks. It certainly sounds like you had a fun-filled vacation!

We hope that you have the opportunity to return again soon. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

What was supposed to be a special graduation trip for my daughter and our family turned into a nightmare. This was our second trip to Portofino Bay Resort.
Arrival: We had two connecting rooms.
Room Condition: There was a terrible stain on carpet and on the chair (different places), blood on front of bathroom cabinet, patio flower bed was littered with cigarette butts, gum on the outside door handle, hairs on bathroom counter, toilet gurgling, and sink bubbled something up (neither were used).
Understand, we arrived late in the evening so there was no rush to get the room ready. We immediately brought the issues to the attention of the manager on duty. He was unpleasant, as if we were wasting his time. After waiting quite a while, we were able to view six more rooms. All were unsatisfactory. There was food on the table and floor, private hairs in bathrooms, a lesser carpet stain, and stains on bed sheets and towels. At this point it was midnight and we had been trying to find rooms that were clean since 6 pm and had driven eight hours that day. We needed rest, so we reluctantly decided to accept the rooms. The rooms we accepted were also not connecting, which was part of our original request. When we went to get into bed, one of the queen beds had hairs (some that appeared to be from private areas) on the sheets. We immediately called housekeeping and asked for new linens. We stripped both of beds and made them ourselves. It is now 12:30AM on Monday morning. In the other room, we found what appeared to be a dead bug in the bed with a bloodstain beside it. The shower had private hairs in it. Urine on toilet and pink mold were also, found. During the ordeal, we asked to speak to the hotel manager who would not be in until morning. We asked for her to contact us. Also, as we walked through the hotel it was very dirty. There was trash in hallways and a broken refrigerator which remained in the hallway the two days we were there.
Day two: In the morning, the head of housekeeping called and said he would have better accommodations for us by the afternoon. I asked him when the hotel manager, would be contacting us. He asked us to please let him rectify the situation before contacting her. He said he would personally oversee the new accommodations, but they would not be ready until late afternoon. So, we packed up and finally made it to the parks around lunch time. We left the parks to check on the room around 4:30. We called head of housekeeping, but they said the room was still not quite ready. Around 5pm we viewed the new rooms, which they were still cleaning. They had upgraded us to a wonderful suite. Still, one of the bathrooms was not clean. However, they assured us that they were still cleaning. We did not turn down the beds or look extremely closely because the head of housekeeping said he personally inspected it. We trusted that he had.
When we returned to the room: The bathroom was in the same condition, hair was on the counter and in the shower. Hairs and more stains on sheets were found when the beds were turned down. We decided to call for more linens. Unbelievably, when we picked up the phone there were more hairs on the phone (private hairs) where it hangs up. By this time it is 10:30pm, we asked for linens again.
Final straw: When taking the blanket out from between the sheets, there were what appeared to be bugs, bug eggs and exoskeletons. Our family was finished; we left Orlando after midnight and drove 7+ hours back home. We were offered accommodations at the Hard Rock hotel, but declined because we were not confident in the cleanliness of any of the hotels. The manager on duty that evening said we would get a call from executive management the very next day. Guess what, no call.
Approximately a week after we arrived back home, we had yet to received a call from Loews. So I called their offices in New York and was able to find a Loews customer representative. She returned my call the next day, and was apologetic, but said the issues would be routed back to the hotel. She said the assistant to the general manager would call us prior to speaking with the general manager. Understand, again, the general manager never spoke to us while we were having problems--the Loews staff did not want her involved.
Our trip was on June 8th for 5 nights, but we left after the first night. We were told the manager would contact us the day we left (June 9th), but as of July 12th and several calls to the New York office, we have heard nothing.
Sadly, our trip for our graduate and family was ruined .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
15  Thank HotelsOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences in your room. One call to our team should have been all that was required on your part and I am sorry this was not what you experienced. We strive to provide efficient and courteous service to all of our guests. I’d truly appreciate another opportunity to reconnect with you about your recent stay. Please contact us at: portofinogeneralmanager@loewshotels.com so that we may schedule a phone call at your earliest convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We just got home today from a four day stay at Lowes Portofino. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the staff is beyond helpful, organized and friendly. The feeling of being welcomed there doesn't begin and end at the front desk like at some hotels, it extends from there to luggage services, help with getting your park tickets, the on site restaurants, the captain that drives the boat back and forth to the city walk, the shuttle bus driver and the housekeeping staff...all wonderful and amazing. The room was comfortable, clean and the beds offered the relaxing sleep that we needed to power through our days at both Universal and Island of Adventure. Both Hogsmeade and Diagon were amazing and the look on our 13 year olds face when she entered both parks for the first time made it all worth it:) Thank-you to everyone there that made our stay memorable and comfortable.
The only negatives that we encountered were that the Internet service that was free in the rooms and on the property did not extend to cover our entire room. You literally had to stand by the door or go into the bathroom to get reception and that we could not use the meal service plan at the on site restaurants. Neither issue made us have an unpleasant stay and one of the supervisors comped us a fifty dollar room credit for the Internet inconvenience, which we used on the water and snack in the mini bar. Thank-you to them for extending the courtesy of addressing the issue:)
Overall: We enjoyed this property so much that we have already begun planning our return to Universal at this hotel next summer:) See you all next year! Ciao!

Room Tip: We stayed in the west wing, which was right next to the boat shuttle, excellent. Ask for a first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is one of three properties affiliated with Universal Studios. It is an Italian themed hotel, so all of the restaurants on site follow that theme including the food provided at my conference. The hotel is beautiful. Everything about the hotel is fancy and luxurious. The rooms are huge, especially the bathroom. The water taxi to go to Citywalk is awesome. It's free and departs regularly from the hotel. My only complaint is that this hotel is HUGE. Expect to do a lot of walking. My room was very far away from the lobby. I was attending for a conference and stayed for 5 nights. I would recommend this hotel for anyone either for business or for a vacation.

Just a side note, there is no refrigerator in the room. This may be inconvenient if you are a nursing mom.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the Italian theme of our hotel. Since our resort is a re-creation of the seaside village of Portofino, Italy, we feature a unique lay-out, built around a bay. I sincerely hope you will choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, however, I couldn't believe that as much as we paid for our stay here we had to pay for parking too, There was a few everyday for that in their parking lot! They are pet friendly. There is a fee for bring your pet but it is nice to be able take our pet with us. It is a little more expensive to stay here instead of other hotels around Universal but it is a nice splurge. There are other hotels around here that do not charge for parking and some do not charge for extra for your pets.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank glorify40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 340 in Orlando
4,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819-7880
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#15 Green Hotel in Orlando
#25 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#45 Business Hotel in Orlando
#54 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#80 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £215 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious escape inspired by the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy. Perfectly appointed rooms and suites, gorgeous vistas and incredible cuisine welcome you to celebrate la dolce vita-the sweet life. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Portofino Bay Resort
Portofino Orlando
Portofino Bay Hotel Orlando
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing