We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #65 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AWFUL!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had blood on my duvet and it took 2 hours to get it removed - until 1AM! Iron was broken, 2 days to replace it, cockroaches in public bathroom, spa sink broken, lockers didn't work, and it didn't feel clean, housekeeping was slamming doors while supervisor walked the halls yelling each morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
7 Thank Timothy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,213
    902
    363
    162
    159
See reviews for
2,432
655
20
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Oh I really want to love this hotel. We booked a special family trip with two older teens to celebrate a milestone birthday for my husband. We paid for concierge level, and I specifically mentioned it was a celebration. At the very high prices, I had hoped for some mention, something in the room, anything from the hotel acknowledging our visit. This is the usual practice for a hotel at this level. The hotel is beautiful, the room was lovely and we had a nice view of the pool. We were not offered a map, and as we were checking in just as the world cup was kicking off the America vice Germany game, we inquired about where to watch the game. The staff had no idea. We were not told where the concierge room was, and when we asked a maid, she seemed to not know. We asked if anything special was happening at the park, and no one we asked on the property knew about any special events. Honestly, our biggest complaint was that the staff all seemed like it was their first day on the job. they were pleasant, but just had no idea. I asked the concierge for help planning a special birthday dinner - she recommended the hotel restaurant, but had not eaten at any of the restaurants on premises. I asked for help making reservations, but she knew so little about the food or the place that I decided to make reservations myself. I called Mama Della's and told them it was a special event. we had a lovely meal, the food was excellent but very expensive for small portions. I had hoped the waiter would bring dessert, offer music, anything - but again nothing. It was such a let down as we went to orlando to celebrate and just gave up trying to celebrate at the Portofino. Even after telling the hostess at the restaurant it was a birthday - nothing. It was a big disappointment.
all of this said, the views were lovely from the outside piazza. No one told us there was opera in the evenings - so we were pleasantly surprised to hear it when we were enjoying a glass of wine by the water. If only the staff was trained, and the concierge staff knew something about Orlando, Universal, or the hotel itself the hotel would improve immensely. It was a very expensive week that we enjoyed - but primarily because our room was comfortable, the pool was excellent and the poolside drink service was friendly and knowledgeable. Please Portofino invest in staff training and take a little effort to make people feel special. We never did.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view, on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingtheworld27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in two villa rooms with the club convenience. If we had taken advantage of all the club benefits, it would have been worth the extra price. Although the staff was extremely helpful, our time in the parks meant little time enjoying the benefits of the club. Our room was a standard room but larger than most other hotel rooms. The bathroom is large with both a tub and shower; however, during our stay, their was urine on and around the toilet and the shower door/walls had lots of grime and mold. Since there was a mix up with our room and we were not assigned a room until after 6 PM (although we arrived at 6:30 AM), when we finally arrived in our room after the closing of the park, we were too exhausted when we learned about the bathroom issues. Therefore, I ended wiping up the urine (yuck!!!) and living with the shower grime and mold (yuck!!!). Again, a beautiful hotel (we've stayed there before) but the uncleanness of the bathroom made this trip memorable in a negative way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank W. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback. Please know that your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. These issues you mentioned should not have been an inconvenience to you during your stay, so please accept my sincere apologies. Your comments about the condition of the bathroom and housekeeping are important to us, and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know where we can improve. As a Florida resident, we hope to welcome you back soon to experience our intended level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nice that it was clost to park. Room was dirty and very very noisy. Will be not be staying there again. Needed antispetic for a cut. Had to call security to get it and it took an hour. Security was nice but they should ahve a first aid kit at front desk. You could die from infection. Staff was very good and Mama Della's resteraunt was very good. Really enjoyed food,service and singers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Livewire2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at Loews Portofino hotel for one night with two adults and four teens. I have to say that the girls liked the rooms more than the boys due to the big bathrooms. The rooms are 450sgff, but I would have preferred more room in the living area. The staff were all very professional and willing to help. I was surprised that the showers did not have the curved out shower curtain rods. I also thought that the bath towels would have been more upscale. In all I would recommend this hotel based on the staff and their professionalism.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lthenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburndale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband & I took advantage of a quick get away during the week. We stayed in a West Wing Bay View room which was wonderful and spacious. The room was situated directly across from the water taxi transporting guests to Universal's theme parks. It was also very close to the main piazza where there were several shops and places to eat....not to mention the wonderful singing from a balcony while we had an evening drink at one of their quaint open bars.

I can't speak enough about the customer service. Each employee was gracious and attentive from the front desk, luggage service, valet, and food services. We felt as if our stay was in the best of hands and we can't wait to return soon!

Room Tip: If you are going to Universal ask for a room around the bay for the water taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamseyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olrando
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great location, gorgeous property, we had a balcony room on the fifth floor, which was perfect! Large bathroom, comfortable beds, very nice pool, close to the parks, the express passes were an amazing add on, early park entry very nice too! We all enjoyed our stay and we'll go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,345 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819-7880
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#16 Green Hotel in Orlando
#24 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#45 Business Hotel in Orlando
#54 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#80 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious escape inspired by the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy. Perfectly appointed rooms and suites, gorgeous vistas and incredible cuisine welcome you to celebrate la dolce vita-the sweet life. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Portofino Bay Resort
Portofino Orlando
Portofino Bay Hotel Orlando
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing