We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #67 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Minion Room”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked the Minion room and were quite disappointed with it for the price. Our nieces (age 11 and 14) loved the room and the rocket ship beds. The rocket ship beds were kind of cool, but otherwise it's really just wallpaper. We loved that they had their own room, and a separate temperature control for that room. Both rooms had ample space. Why we were disappointed: we didn't have a balcony, the rooms were tired looking, and the location (the east wing) was far away from the pool with the slides and the "beach" and far from the water taxi. This really was just your average hotel room, but the price was way above average. Still, the girls loved it and I guess that's what really counts.

Tip: take the water taxi rather than the shuttle. The shuttle stops at other hotels to pick people up, and there's a long walk after the drop off to get into Universal City, then through there to the park entrances; the water taxi takes you straight to Universal City, and the dock is located very close to the park entrances.

Early Park admission was the best! Never would have gotten into the Escape from Gringotts without this early admission.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
10 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,149
    885
    356
    157
    155
See reviews for
2,350
648
19
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lawrence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We took our vacation in May and stayed at the Loews Portofino Bay Hotel. Our room was nice, the property was well maintained and the boat ride to Universal CityWalk was a pleasure. The Portofino Bay Hotel is a low key resort, which we loved. It was relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This property is beautiful but just not worth the price. It is a very large property and in my opinion not for families with small children. The valet is 27 night and self parking 20. I had a difficult time communicating with valet and bell services. There is an extra charge for weight room. Must take water taxi to parks & city walk because the walk is a little far. The line for it gets backed up and can take time to get on one. Sometimes they must run more than 1 to keep up. Checkin process needs work, very lengthy and not always clear on some amenities and procedures

Room Tip: If your looking for 5 star amenities this is the place but service needs work
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Beach pool was our favourite, great staff, service and food. Pool always has chairs for us. We went to wet and wild for a day trip and ended staying one hour just to return to hotel pool as was much cleaned and nicer.
Our room was large and comfortable with nice beds. Stayed in a deluxe villa room with 2 queen beds. Express passes for Universal that come with the room, made the trip much more enjoyable, as were able to bypass lines consistently.
Wish we had booked club level rooms after seeing the spread daily.
Only thing we didn't like was the doors that slam shut and wake you very early or late in evening, but this is with most hotels and can be mitigated if others would learn to gently close doors and not have their kids scream at 7am down the hallways.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimmCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This resort goes well beyond earning its reputation as Universal Orlando's "Flagship" resort. It easily rivals the quality of resort theming and overall experience of even the finest Disney World properties. Couple that with the comparisons between the available discounts at the two theme park powerhouses, and it becomes easily apparent how Portofino Bay deserves its excellent rating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robski305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We strive to provide a supremely comfortable experience that feels like home but exceeds its offerings. We hope that as a Florida resident, you have many opportunities to visit us in the future. Until then, ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have never stayed at a hotel that we have wanted to share a review on. After all if there is nothing good to say then you shouldn't! However, we will never be able to stop sharing stories of the good times we had while staying here. My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend. When we arrived at the hotel we were amazed at how nice the property was. The staff was extremely polite and does everything to make sure that you are comfortable during the stay. It was impossible to pass a staff member without getting a smile and hello. There is plenty of activities for family's and couples to enjoy across the resort. The parks and dining at Citywalk are just a boat ride away. However, Sal's restaurant at the resort has the best pizza! The Gelateria was.....WOW! Nightly music in the harbor area was very nice and relaxing to come back to after a day at the parks. The room, pools, restaurants, and everything else was great! We have to give a special thanks to Kemoy for making sure that our stay was one to remember!! This was the best anniversary we have ever had!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casper9697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your stellar feedback!
It’s so nice to know we exceeded your expectations. We are honored that you chose to spend your anniversary with us, and are absolutely thrilled that we could help make it the best one you’ve ever had! When your travel plans bring you back to Orlando, we would love to welcome you back for another taste of ‘la dolce vita’ – the sweet life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Loved, loved, loved staying here! Even my teenage son said he felt as though we were back in Italy! Everything was exquisite, service wonderful and the views of the water such a plus. The only negative was the service in Sal's , very disappointing. The water taxi service works well except during the thunder/rain storms. The water taxis quit running and no one could tell us how or where to get the bus back to the hotel, that component needs some work. The live opera singer was incredible and made the night perfect. Thank you Loews for doing such a wonderful job of making our vacation spectacular!

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad room here...any room would be acceptable to us. If you can afford a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelConnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 338 in Orlando
4,257 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819-7880
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#15 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#17 Green Hotel in Orlando
#27 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#45 Business Hotel in Orlando
#54 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#80 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious escape inspired by the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy. Perfectly appointed rooms and suites, gorgeous vistas and incredible cuisine welcome you to celebrate la dolce vita-the sweet life. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Portofino Bay Resort
Portofino Orlando
Portofino Bay Hotel Orlando
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing