We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #64 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Fast passes early admission and it's absolutely beautiful really looks just like portifino in Italy . Staff was friendly and went out of their way to make our stay great ! Drinks at pool are very expensive

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,498 - 3,504 of 4,183 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was a great value for the price. Great room, perfect location, very convenient. The early access pass was fabulous. The room was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed in the Minion suite with my son and his friends for his birthday. The kids loved the bomb beds and the room was nice and big. Megan Labbe helped us from concierge services and we were able to have the room decorated with balloons and streamers for his birthday. With 10 people in our party, we had booked multiple rooms and they were all together just as we had requested. The kids enjoyed the pool and the fun activities that were going on. A wonderful family vacation and a birthday my son won't forget.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegC32063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A good location for early access to the universal parks. Room was good and well maintained. The lounge was ok a reasonable selection at breakfast but the other presentations during the day were pretty basic. Staff were friendly and efficient and the property overall looked to be in good condition. The transport to the theme parks was regular and efficient and it was only a 10 minute walk when we wanted a bit of exercise.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool which really suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart196905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Dirty hallways, dirty bathroom for our entire 4 day stay. Express passes and ferry service plus early park admission are awesome perks. But, apparently you have to deal with poor cleanliness and service and high price because of those perks.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My family and I stayed for 6 days in August 2014. Overall we had a great experience. I found housekeeping to lack a little as they didn't empty out trash or replenish the coffee tray. However, this didn't keep us from enjoying our stay. This was our 10th trip to Universal and we've stayed on site every time except once. I would always choose an onsite hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawleysscgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Loews and for taking the time to comment.
As a frequent visitor, you’re in on the secret that going to a theme park for vacation doesn’t mean that you have to sacrifice quality! I will, however, be forwarding your comments about your housekeeping service to the appropriate managers to ensure corrective action is being taken. We are looking forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked the Minion room and were quite disappointed with it for the price. Our nieces (age 11 and 14) loved the room and the rocket ship beds. The rocket ship beds were kind of cool, but otherwise it's really just wallpaper. We loved that they had their own room, and a separate temperature control for that room. Both rooms had ample space. Why we were disappointed: we didn't have a balcony, the rooms were tired looking, and the location (the east wing) was far away from the pool with the slides and the "beach" and far from the water taxi. This really was just your average hotel room, but the price was way above average. Still, the girls loved it and I guess that's what really counts.

Tip: take the water taxi rather than the shuttle. The shuttle stops at other hotels to pick people up, and there's a long walk after the drop off to get into Universal City, then through there to the park entrances; the water taxi takes you straight to Universal City, and the dock is located very close to the park entrances.

Early Park admission was the best! Never would have gotten into the Escape from Gringotts without this early admission.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
12  Thank 315terrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 341 in Orlando
4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 341 in Orlando
1,485 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819-7880
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#15 Green Hotel in Orlando
#24 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#45 Business Hotel in Orlando
#54 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#80 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £219 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious escape inspired by the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy. Perfectly appointed rooms and suites, gorgeous vistas and incredible cuisine welcome you to celebrate la dolce vita-the sweet life. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Portofino Bay Resort
Portofino Orlando
Portofino Bay Hotel Orlando
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing