We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay if you are going to Universal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #65 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Portofino is an absolutely beautiful hotel! If you are going to Universal Studios and parks, STAY HERE. The rooms are spectacular and comfortable. The hotel provides a water taxi to the parks that is so enjoyable to ride. The most important part of this stay is the early admission and fast pass that comes with the room. That alone is worth $75+/pp. For us, that was almost a free night at the hotel--but the time and energy saved was priceless. I cannot tell you how wonderful the early admission and fast pass were!! Worth every penny to stay and get these benefits. Plus, you can leave during the hottest part of the day (and most crowded) and go for a swim or rest, then go back at night to the parks or restaurants refreshed. Just so you know--Sunday has the least amount of park people and Tuesday the most. Don't know why, but Sunday morning was fantastic!!!

Room Tip: We had a garden room and it was nice and quiet and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KPDandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed a true Loews Portofino Bay Hotel experience. Our goal is always to make you feel pampered and supremely comfortable, and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know that we succeeded. We are also glad that you took advantage of our complimentary resort-wide water taxi, and the Universal Express Pass. These are some of the many benefits to staying at the Universal Orlando Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,422 - 3,428 of 4,172 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel was wonderful in every way! From high end luxury accommodations to an exceptional service from everyone at the hotel. We were treated like we are the most important guests there. Express pass and early park admission could not be beat. Would love to stay at the hotel in the future again ( hopefully would be able to afford it) but it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jenya76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

It means so much to us that you took the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the many benefits of staying on-site at Universal Orlando Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

What a great base to take full advantage of Universal Studios and all its facilities. Using Early Access and Fast pass.
If you want to maximise your Universal experience then this should be your first port of call

NB They charge for self parking as well as everything else

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We are thrilled that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary Universal Express Pass, and Early Park Admission. These are some of the many benefits to staying at the Universal Orlando Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My grandson and I just returned from a pre return to school Universal vacation. I had already decided to stay on property for convenience sake. The Universal Unlimited Express access that came free with the room along with early access to Harry Potter World made it a very good value. We were able to take the resort boat back and forth during the hot part of the day. The beach pool was very nice as was the Italian singer on the balcony in the evening. The rooms were spacious with very large bathrooms. We ate at San ' s on property. We had wood fired pizzas for a god price. The other meals we had at the two theme parks and City Walk. My only complaint during our stay was the terrible WIFI connection. I could not even check email and did not want to pay $19.99 per day for the upgrade.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gregdfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We are delighted to hear that you took advantage of our complimentary water taxi service to and from the Universal Orlando theme parks, along with complimentary Universal Express ride access that lets you bypass the regular lines on most rides and attractions. We apologize that you experienced issues with our Free Wi-Fi during your stay. Our goal is to make our guests feel pampered and supremely comfortable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

So nice out. Really enjoyed the relaxation of the resort. There was lots to do but it wasn't in your face. You could listen to the sunset opera singer over the harbor area or watch a movie at the pool or go back to your room. Noise control was handled properly. Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all the amenities our resort has to offer our guests. The Opera singers are always a popular attraction and find that most guests plan their day around their performance. We look forward to have you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We arrived late to the hotel after flying in with the kids and found our room unsatisfactory. Blood stains on the toilet seat. Reported to Manager but hotel extremely slow to respond. Took them over two hours. Service in restaurant in also bad. This was our first trip into Universal and its hotels on premise and can say its not Disney World. No attention to detail at this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

I am sorry to hear about your experience with the room and our restaurant service. It is always our goal to make each guest feel welcome and appreciated from the moment they arrive. I assure you that this is not typical of an experience here, so please accept my personal apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Hotel is impeccable, the staff is really friendly and always willing to help.
If you are planning on visiting Universal Studios this is the best place to stay as your stay includes early access to both parks as well as Unlimited Express Pass to most rides. Literally did both parks in one day..

My advice, go to the new Harry Potter part as soon as the park opens it doors. You will finish in one hour max and you can enjoy the rest of the day exploring both parks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gabrieldxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We are proud to offer complimentary Universal Express Pass as well as Early Park Admission, and are glad that you were able to take advantage of these benefits. Your advice to take advantage of the early park access for “Diagon Alley” is perfect for our guests. Thank you for your kind remarks and hope to see you again at the Loews Portofino Bay Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 341 in Orlando
4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 341 in Orlando
1,483 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819-7880
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#15 Green Hotel in Orlando
#25 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#45 Business Hotel in Orlando
#54 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#80 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £218 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious escape inspired by the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy. Perfectly appointed rooms and suites, gorgeous vistas and incredible cuisine welcome you to celebrate la dolce vita-the sweet life. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Portofino Bay Resort
Portofino Orlando
Portofino Bay Hotel Orlando
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing