We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It could be better....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #45 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It could be better....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Two years ago, my husband, sister and I went to the Royal Pacific, and it was a fantastic experience... the price was fair and the hotel was beautiful...
Now we decided to go to the Hard Rock Hotel and I'm sure we've made the wrong choice.
In both hotels, we got the Club Lounge room. In the Hard Rock hotel, for breakfast, sometimes we had to wait for a free table for a long time. The food wasn't so good as the Royal Pacific and three times during a week I had to ask for coffee because the employees didn't pay attention when it has finished.
The corridors showed how the hotel is needing a big renovation. The rooms doors are poor and ugly. We've made the reservations six months before arriving and we've got rooms so far from the elevators and the Lounge that we had to walk two huge corridors to get there.
The best thing is the Concierge personal, mainly a lady that, unfortunately, I don't remember the name. They are attentive and helped us when my sister needed.
But my advise is: go to the Royal Pacific if you want to stay by Universal Studios!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,927
    2,115
    738
    336
    193
See reviews for
5,430
1,241
63
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baytown, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I have nothing but great things to say about Hard Rock Orlando! This was by far the most fantastic hotel I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. Convenient location for Universal, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Wonderful food. Friendly staff. If I had to choose my favorite thing...it would probably be the pool. We would go back just to stay in the hotel and hang out at the pool. My boys had so much fun on the slide! This hotel is an excellent place to stay for families. We will be back!

Room Tip: Pool/Garden Rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
358 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

The hotel itself was pretty cool with lots of rock stuff to see, but the main reason to stay at this hotel is to be able to get the express passes for Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure and the hour early admission to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter. If I was going to those parks again, I would stay at one of the three onsite hotels, probably this one. However, if I was not here specifically to go to those parks, I would stay elsewhere. Yes, it is expensive, but you are getting those wonderful park perks that made US/IOA the best park days while we were in Florida. We liked Disney a lot, but we hated the lines.

We were able to see everything in the two Universal parks in one day each because of the express pass. Whew Hew!! We picked the pass up early in the day (way before check-in), went to US, came back and checked in after our phone call saying our room was ready, and then spent the night after enjoying their pool area for a little bit. The next morning, we got into IOA an hour early and spent the day there using our express passes for the second day, even though we only stayed one night.

The rooms in the hotel are average to nice, but starting to show some wear and really kind of standard. We had two beds in our room and our boys did not mind sharing a bed for one night, but we usually like a little more privacy when we are choosing rooms for our vacation. Beds were pretty comfy. Bathroom was nice. Nice tv. All standard stuff. I did not like that we could not take our own luggage to our room and had to wait for a bellhop for 45+ minutes just to get our swimming suites and enjoy the pool the night we checked in after having spent the day at Universal Studios. We were told the luggage would be right up and to go ahead to our room and wait. It was a long wait with two boys who wanted to get to the pool before it closed. :(

We never ate on site, so cannot comment about that.

The pool was great with underwater speakers and a fun atmosphere. They have waiters/waitresses that come around and take orders. Be prepared, drinks are very expensive here. Also, when considering a tip, remember that they automatically add one on here, so you really do not need to add more on top of that. The music was lively, but not overbearing. There is a little sandy area that you can enjoy here too.

Parking is not included, so be prepared for that extra charge. We parked our car and just walked to the parks - about a 5-10 minute leisurely walk. One night, we took the bike taxis back for a small tip and that was fun.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawni_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

My brothers family and I stayed here recently. We loved the pool, especially watching movies from the pool. The restaurant Kitchen was great in part because it had a kids area for the kids to play while the adults enjoyed their meals. The rooms are great and had a nice view. It is just a short walk to Universal. The staff was very nice and helpful. Loved this hotel and can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: You get better rates if you are a Florida resident
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susann616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed 2 nights in 2 standard rooms. We have stayed here many times (last time 2 years ago) and the rooms are looking very tired now. The hotel is huge and our rooms were a long way from the elevator. The river boat to the parks was never around when we wanted it - so we walked to/from the parks each day. The only reason I would stay here is to use the room key card for Fastpass on the rides. The hotel is so expensive and badly in need of an upgrade. We ate at the Royal Pacific Hotel one evening - food was fabulous, one of the best meals in Orlando. Harry Potter world in the park is fantastic. If you stay in the hotel you can get in early and boy do you need to. The queues were so long after the first hour. The pool area is always busy - difficult to find somewhere to sit and very noisy if you want to read a book - but great for teenagers and kids. I preferred the Hyatt Grand Cypresses - must better value and rooms are far more chic and comfortable. Only stay at the Hard Rock if you want to visit the parks.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenweed99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

My family loves the hotel. The pros: fun (but loud) pool area, comfortable beds and sheets, fun rock music playing all the time, friendly hotel staff, very clean, closest hotel to parks. The cons: slight urine smell coming from a/c vent, no cell phone service in room, not enough pool servers. Expensive but worth it! We went to the Portofino Hotel to swim one day. They have a large, quiet, relaxing pool and a few steps away from that a pool similar to Hard Rock's without the loud music. Very pretty area-nice quiet break from constant noise of parks and H.R. But, Hard Rock rocks!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0llyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We spent four nights in March with our family in late April -- it was as fun as always. We enjoyed dinner with Shrek and Scooby one night -- great interaction as there we not too many people there compared with a Disney character meal. Having the front of the line passes for both parks makes zipping through it a breeze.
The room was very nice -- no concerns at all. Free wi-fi in the lobby is a nice way to start the day with a coffee as the girls are getting ready to hit the parks.
The best part of the Hard Rock is probably just relaxing in the shallow pool after a day at the parks as the kids keep heading up and down the water slide. The DJ makes the afternoon a fun time for all -- "If its too loud, you're too old." Just makes me smile thinking about it.

Room Tip: Be friendly at check in - a smile helps often
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#20 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,722 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#34 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel
Hard Rock Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing