We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #45 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Too loud! Pool music starts early and lasts until late. Rooms average and not worth the money. This hotel is for teens. Yelling teens were pounding on doors and walls!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We greatly appreciate the feedback. We apologize that you had some noise related concerns during your stay as the music does play at the Beach Club from the time it opens at 8:00 am until it closes at midnight. We have 24-hour security to monitor guest noise concerns such as the one you have expressed, and we apologize that we did not have the opportunity to address it during your stay. As always, if you have any further feedback for us, please feel free to reach us at HardRockCustomerService@loewshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,851
    2,085
    726
    327
    190
See reviews for
5,325
1,227
61
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Unfortunately, I did not care for this resort as much as our teenagers. We stayed at the Portofino Bay last time and I definitely liked the serene atmosphere and decor MUCH better there. Beyond the lobby and grounds of the Hard Rock I thought we could have been at a Holiday Inn. I did not feel like that at the Portofino, it was gorgeous throughout. However, the teenagers wanted to try a different Universal resort, so we did. There were some positives, of course. The deluxe room was quite large which was a huge plus for our party of five. The room was ready early which was also great as it started pouring at about 1:00pm the day we checked-in. The resort is a little closer to the parks than the Portofino which was nice as there is a pretty walkway. It absolutely cannot be understated how much of a plus it was to stay at one of the resort properties and get into WWOHP early. I was able to get some wonderful pictures (not to mentioned ride the attractions several times) before the general public arrived. Nevertheless, the next time we stay at a Universal property (and pay upwards of $450/night) I will stay at the much classier Portofino again or try the Royal Pacific Resort.

Room Tip: Spring for a deluxe room, the extra space is grea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoccerMom77Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Excellent location with early admission to Harry Potter ride and a nice pool area to kick back and relax and then an easy walk (or bike pull, or water taxi) back to fun restaurants.on City Walk.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFamily11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We were in Florida to see a Shuttle Launch and to go to Universal Studio’s. Front desk staff was pleasant and check-in was fast and simple. Rooms were nicely appointed and clean.

The hotel offers some nice perks if you are also going to Universal Studio’s. Some of the big perks are; “Early Park Admission” which allows you into the park one hour before the park opens and “Express ride access” which allows you to go to the front of the line by showing your room key.

Overall I would dfinitely stay here again when I’m in Orlando.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Texas-Tiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Two years ago, my husband, sister and I went to the Royal Pacific, and it was a fantastic experience... the price was fair and the hotel was beautiful...
Now we decided to go to the Hard Rock Hotel and I'm sure we've made the wrong choice.
In both hotels, we got the Club Lounge room. In the Hard Rock hotel, for breakfast, sometimes we had to wait for a free table for a long time. The food wasn't so good as the Royal Pacific and three times during a week I had to ask for coffee because the employees didn't pay attention when it has finished.
The corridors showed how the hotel is needing a big renovation. The rooms doors are poor and ugly. We've made the reservations six months before arriving and we've got rooms so far from the elevators and the Lounge that we had to walk two huge corridors to get there.
The best thing is the Concierge personal, mainly a lady that, unfortunately, I don't remember the name. They are attentive and helped us when my sister needed.
But my advise is: go to the Royal Pacific if you want to stay by Universal Studios!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I have nothing but great things to say about Hard Rock Orlando! This was by far the most fantastic hotel I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. Convenient location for Universal, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Wonderful food. Friendly staff. If I had to choose my favorite thing...it would probably be the pool. We would go back just to stay in the hotel and hang out at the pool. My boys had so much fun on the slide! This hotel is an excellent place to stay for families. We will be back!

Room Tip: Pool/Garden Rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
325 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

The hotel itself was pretty cool with lots of rock stuff to see, but the main reason to stay at this hotel is to be able to get the express passes for Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure and the hour early admission to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter. If I was going to those parks again, I would stay at one of the three onsite hotels, probably this one. However, if I was not here specifically to go to those parks, I would stay elsewhere. Yes, it is expensive, but you are getting those wonderful park perks that made US/IOA the best park days while we were in Florida. We liked Disney a lot, but we hated the lines.

We were able to see everything in the two Universal parks in one day each because of the express pass. Whew Hew!! We picked the pass up early in the day (way before check-in), went to US, came back and checked in after our phone call saying our room was ready, and then spent the night after enjoying their pool area for a little bit. The next morning, we got into IOA an hour early and spent the day there using our express passes for the second day, even though we only stayed one night.

The rooms in the hotel are average to nice, but starting to show some wear and really kind of standard. We had two beds in our room and our boys did not mind sharing a bed for one night, but we usually like a little more privacy when we are choosing rooms for our vacation. Beds were pretty comfy. Bathroom was nice. Nice tv. All standard stuff. I did not like that we could not take our own luggage to our room and had to wait for a bellhop for 45+ minutes just to get our swimming suites and enjoy the pool the night we checked in after having spent the day at Universal Studios. We were told the luggage would be right up and to go ahead to our room and wait. It was a long wait with two boys who wanted to get to the pool before it closed. :(

We never ate on site, so cannot comment about that.

The pool was great with underwater speakers and a fun atmosphere. They have waiters/waitresses that come around and take orders. Be prepared, drinks are very expensive here. Also, when considering a tip, remember that they automatically add one on here, so you really do not need to add more on top of that. The music was lively, but not overbearing. There is a little sandy area that you can enjoy here too.

Parking is not included, so be prepared for that extra charge. We parked our car and just walked to the parks - about a 5-10 minute leisurely walk. One night, we took the bike taxis back for a small tip and that was fun.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawni_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,003 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Floridays Resort Orlando
#18 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#33 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel
Hard Rock Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing