We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why we stay here...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #45 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Why we stay here...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed here in October for 8 nights. This was our 7th visit to the Hard Rock Hotel in as many years. The Valet Guys remembered us from the year before as soon as we got out of the limo....."Hey, its the English Princesses" was our welcome!! All the staff are wonderful especially the ones by the pool who loved discussing fashion and hair with my daughters!!

When requesting a room i always ask for one on the same floor as the reception/shop. It is just our preference as it is easier to get to without having to use the lift.


Position of the hotel is ideal for the parks and the FOTL is worth its weight in gold. Harry Potter World was out of this world...the detail in the shops was brilliant. Well worth lining up for Ollivanders. If you utilise the extra hour in the morning and go just before the park closes it is possible to ride Harry Potter Ride several times - i rode it one night, as a single rider, 7 times in a row!!

Room Tip: 3085 for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GirlsonTour12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,839
    2,083
    725
    327
    188
See reviews for
5,312
1,223
61
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

When we first arrived at the hotel it looked great with a big drive up to the entrance and the fountain in the centre and that set the tone for everything else about the hotel. It was very clean, staff were always helpful and had great facilities such as restaurants, shops and a gym and very good swimming pool. Only downside is that it was about $12 a day for parking which is unusual for hotels in Orlando. Also the iconic memorabilia is all around the hotel.

The room was big and had nice interior but the facilities could be improved as you had to pay for wifi unless you had a hard rock access card, also you had to pay to rent the use of the fridge to store you're own drink in.

I don't think you could get a better location than this hotel if you want access to the Universal parks and City Walk, either a 10min walk or a free boat ride which arrives/departs every 20mins throughout the day from just outside the hotel and drops you off just outside the parks. There is also a service where people on bikes with a trailer for people to sit on will take you to the parks, it takes about 5mins and is good if the boat isn't there and you don't feel like walking. There is no charge but they earn off tips, I gave $6 each time.

There are very good benefits staying here aswel as the location. With you're stay you get a free fast pass for the Universal parks. As we were there over christmas this was very helpful, both parks became full at one point and the queues for the major attractions were between 2-3 hours, with out fast pass we were only waiting 20mins max so they are definetely worth it. At the time they were charging $70 for a fast pass at the gates for people who didn't have one. You always get priority seating at the Hard Rock Restaurant. If you sign up to the 'all access' card you can get free internet access and 10% off at the hotel shop and Hard Rock Restaurant.

Don't think you can get an overall better hotel in Orlando for the Universal parks and City Walk which has a good number of restaurants and nightlife. Disney parks are about 20mins drive away. Would definetely stay here again...great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BluenoseJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Unfortunately we stayed only one night, but what a great hotel. We were upgraded from standard to king studio and club floor privileges. Gorgeous rooms, and clean. Quality food on club floor and we had breakfast and early evening snacks. Beautiful room. The best thing was the pool area. I regret not having enough time to use the fantastic fitness room. Spacious lobby. Service was extremely friendly. Unfortunately had lots of problems with my room keys, had to have re-programmed a few times (for a one night stay)
Check in early am, room not ready, left with luggage services and got our room keys to take advantage of express pass privileges. I was texted at 3 pm that room was ready. Had a two day hopper pass and it was perfect. At Universal until 4 pm, went back and had snacks, swam in the pool and went to IOA at 8 p.m. Park was open until 11:00 p.m. So we went to Harry Potter, got butter beer, visited Ollivander, rode Dragon Challenge and Forbidden Journey (2x). Then went and rode Hulk and spiderman. Loved IOA. Didn't have to take advantage of early admission to Harry Potter so went to IOA again at 9:30 a.m. The park was really packed but express passes allowed us to ride all our favourite rides with minimal wait.
Will definitely return to Hard Rock Hotel.

Room Tip: One night stay allows you to use your room key as express pass for two days. So buy a 2 day park pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JadepearlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We took a last minute trip to Orlando and stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel. The hotel was awesome and the staff was even better! We had a regular double room booked and could not check in until 4pm so they upgraded us to a suite for the inconvenience. Pool was awesome, food was great, and the room was superb and beautifully decorated. We had access the the concierge lounge which had complimentary coffee, bottled water, snacks, etc. The staff was above and beyond and took care of our every whim including the waiter at the pool getting us a 3 hour late check out for free so we could hang out by the pool longer. They set up all our park passes, cars, dinner reservations, etc. Beds were new and excellent and the room had blackout curtains so we slept really late. We will go again!!!

Room Tip: Concierge lounge on 7th floor was a great perk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for your amazing feedback about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando! We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed excellent service and we hope to see you back. Rock on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

we booked just the one night so we could take advantage of the front of line passes with the room key.
'checked in' at 8am so we could get our room key, no problem at all...headed off to universal.
Rooms were beautiful. bathrooms were massive, Tv channels were great, coffrr/tea machine did everything but dance!!
Only complaint i would have is that we only booked the one night :(

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at the Hard Rock hotel in Orlando January 2,3,4 on the 7th floor Concierge level.
and were treated to an experience that made us feel like 2nd class citizens not rock stars.

The hotel more closely resembles a one star motel. Filthy, run down, poor service.

The concierge level does not have cold drinks but you can get cups of ice. Lunch was an offering of bags of pretzels and cheetos and warm sodas. We had to ask for warm bottles of water if we wanted water because it was not readily available. The dining area was filthy with no one cleaning the floors or tables. Mashed food in the carpet, on the tables and chairs was standard. No nightly turn down service. Our rooms were not cleaned until after 4pm every day.

The second night there when we returned to our room the lock was not working properly and we couldn't enter our room. It took the engineer well over an hour to fix it. When we asked to be compensated for the inconvenience we were reluctantly given 4 drink cards for the Velvet Lounge then told that it didn't allow children. We had 3 kids with us under the age of 13 and had to wait in the lobby until after 10pm to get into our room. The same experience happened the 3rd night only we were not given drink cards. Locked out of our room until after 10pm again. When we asked the managers Eric Delvin and Al Patnik to compensate us in some way they refused then reluctantly took $17.00 off our room charge. We demanded a room change and were given a room across the hall but the hassle of moving because the door still wasn't fixed was a nightmare and we were tired after being at the AWESOME Universal parks all day. We are a family of 5.

We have spoken to several people about our experience and appartently it is general knowledge that this hotel is known to be run down and provide poor service. Wish we would've known that before wasting our money. We have since been told that the Portifino hotel is a much better choice. Next time we will stay there.

Any reviews to the contrary about Hard Rock are likely written by people employed by this hotel because I cannot believe anyone would be happy at this hotel.


The second night

Room Tip: Do not chose this hotel if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at The Hard Rock for 2 nights between 30th oct and 2nd nov 2011. we were a party of 19 and we were married at the Hard Rock cafe on halloween. I cannot begin to tell you how fantastic our time was there,right from the moment we all landed there.The staff are amazing right down to the cleaners they all have a smile on their faces and nothing is too much trouble.We stayed on the 7th floor club level,yes it was a little more expensive but soooooooooo worth it. The hospitality room and staff was amazing and i dont know what the few people who do moan are talking about The food and drink was top class and let me tell you they are far beyond just snacks you can easily fill your boots and its constantly being replenished. Nobody is looking to see how much you are taking and if you are traveling with kids it pays for itself ten fold. The drink are all premium makes and they do not cut corners anywhere even the continental breakfast was massive in choices and again it was all lovely and fresh.We had our evening reception meal in the hotels restaurant "The Palms" OMG is all i can say i have never tasted food so good and topped my wedding day of fantastically and hy i even wen on the hulk roller coaster in my wedding dress !!! how rock and roll was that??. I only hope and pray we can afford to revisit this year for our anniversary and its a truly unforgettable place and just to note dont think im getting caught up with the whole awe of orlando as it was our 13th visit there and we have stayed many places there but nothing compares to the Hard Rock Hotel .

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but i would highly recommend the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#30 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,992 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#33 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel
Hard Rock Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing