We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #45 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else!!!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had a fabulous time at the Hard Rock hotel (stayed here Dec 2011) and wouldn’t stay anywhere else if we return. Staying on property was the best choice! So close to everything and all you had to do was walk 10 min to get there! Having the fast pass was the icing on the cake! We also did the club level room and were so happy we did! Everyone has their own opinion on where to stay and what kind of amenities they want/need. I will do my review on our family’s needs/wants! We were a family of four with two daughters (14 and 18). We went knowing full well that this wouldn’t be a cheap choice, but we were celebrating several events! We wanted the added convenience of everything that the Hard Rock provides.

The hotel is very beautiful and loved the layout. The people/staff were the best and always so helpful. Never ran into one rude worker! Loved the Velvet Lounge and enjoyed several nights at the bar. The bartenders were entertaining for sure! The open lounge area in the main entry level has free wi fi and it was nice to just hang out and read a book there too! We only went to the pool once but it is a wonderful pool area. The grill/bar by the pool is a great option to eat or just have drinks and watch a game. We also ate at The Kitchen which had a great breakfast buffet and dinner was also very good. I will also note that drinks and food here are not cheap! So know that before you go and don’t come back complaining on TA about it!!!  If you are a drinker I would totally recommend stopping at a liquor store on the way….drinks and wine are like $10 each here!!! There is Emack & Bolio’s marketplace on the first floor that is like a small convenience store with snacks, coffee, breakfast items, ice cream; etc. We didn’t try anything here.

We stayed in the club level room and really enjoyed the added amenities. Again……to each his own but if we went back I would certainly do it again! It was great having the breakfast and the kids could go back and forth as they liked (we usually brought breakfast back to our room!). There was afternoon snacks and drinks that was nice to have also. The evening hours d’overs and drinks were a great addition and we took advantage of them too! Just to let you know the drinks were beer and wine only. The wine was just fine with me!! Again, stop on the way to the hotel for liquor!! The hours d’overs were “heavy” with items like meat balls, cheese, chicken wings, salad…..it changed every day. I’m sure some folks could make it their dinner if you wanted to!! Later at night they had desserts. We utilized them all and it was great to have with teens! There was always plenty of bottled water throughout the day and we always took several bottles to the room and then took 1 or 2 into the park. That is a savings in itself!!

The room was nicely laid out with plenty of room for our family of four. There was a small chair/sitting area with a table and two chairs also. The bathroom was a great layout, especially with two teen girls!! The toilet/tub area could be closed with a door and it also had a sink area which I have never seen in a hotel. Then there was a larger sink and mirrored area that someone else could use while the shower/toilet area was utilized. Plenty of toiletries were provided also. Then there was a bar area with a locked frig with pay amenities and on top of it was a fabulous Keurig coffee maker. We LOVED having this and used it every morning. It also had tea and hot chocolate! The closet area had plenty of room with hangers and it also had a safe. We fit in an apple laptop and two iPads and they fit perfectly! There was also a dresser with six drawers in the room for clothes, etc. If you want to be in a quieter area of your floor, make sure you ask upon check in. We were next to some horribly noisy people! We called to change rooms and Hard Rock did it with no problems. They were so helpful and never questioned us!

We had a great time at Hard Rock and if we return this will be our first and only choice! This is definitely a place for being spoiled and treated like royalty. We loved the advantages of staying on property for all the benefits. Would never return to Universal without the fast pass!!  Also, loved the club level rooms! Again to each his own and it was all worth every penny for us. Know before you go that there is nothing budget about this place so don’t come back to tripadvisor and complain about the expense!!!! Again……worth it all! Let me know if you have any questions!

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet area on your floor if you need it!! They are very accomodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gottavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,188
    2,204
    773
    349
    206
See reviews for
5,753
1,287
63
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Have stayed in the Hard Rock numerous times and we love it . The atmosphere around hotel is great .Hotel is spotless and also the pool area .The restaurant "the kitchen"is fab for breakfast great selection of food .
The fast passes are and added bonus while staying here the queues for the rides are normally only a few minutes wait which is great .
It is expensive to stay but I suppose you get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalton-in-furness
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I have just spent a most wonderful 5 days at this hotel and feel compelled to let you know just how impressed I was by the Hotel, rooms and the employees.
Angie, stood out as an outstanding member of the work force. She was polite, informative and nothing was too much trouble for this young lady, I hope you will pass on my thanks to her. All members of staff must receive praise for their politeness, caring attitude and good humour. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The facilities are excellent. The rooms large, spacious, well stocked and beautifully clean. I cannot praise it enough to do it justice.

Room Tip: garden rooms have a beautiful outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Our family spent Martin Luther King weekend at the Hard Rock Hotel. The most attractive incentive for this hotel is that they offer a package that gives you an early admittance pass (1 hour earlier) to the parks and a "skip to the front of the line" card for the rides. The pool area is also amazing! The location makes having a car unnecessary, as you can walk or take a complimentary water taxi ride to the City Walk area, which is where the 2 parks have their main gates.

Our room was rather spacious, though it had weird angles to it. For example, the wall on my side of the bed got increasingly wider as it went the length of the bed. (ie: think a triangular line) This made it difficult because the narrowest part was at the top and my head was faced right up against the wall. The bed was comfortable enough, however the pillow was the worst that I had ever used in my life. There were lumps throughout it and this made sleeping very uncomfortable. I did not find any replacement pillows in the closet. The sink area and the toilet/shower was separated. This was especially helpful because someone could be in the shower getting ready (it also had a small sink and mirror in it) while someone else could be preparing in front of the sink and mirror outside of the bathroom. (Great for family travel!)

Two of my biggest complaints are as follows: 1. The walls were VERY thin. The second night we had neighbors that we could hear everything they were saying. Luckily they went out for a late night evening, so we were able to fall asleep. However, they returned after 2 AM and the noise started all over again. We were in a room that had an adjoining option. It was connected to that room, so maybe that was why the walls offered less sound proofing? 2. Although the room seemed clean, if you look close, you could see some neglected areas and that made me question how clean the rest of the room was. For example, when I looked around the mirror, there was dust all around it and behind it. It looked as if it hadn't been dusted in months. Nevertheless, the lobby area appeared spotless.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for family travel. (They also have a "kids club" option on site.) If you're looking to be right near the parks,are looking for a beautiful pool area, or want to be able to spend your time at City Walk, this is the place for you. A few years ago we stayed at the Portofino, which is close to the Hard Rock Hotel. The Hard Rock has a better location and is more family/kid friendly. However, I thought the Portofino was beautiful and had a romantic feel to it. So if it's just the two of you, consider looking into that hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wishIweretraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
816 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

we did not stay here but we visited it and had drinks there. it is a nice place to relax. the staff were very friendly. It has a good shop too. the gardens are pretty and you can wlak through the park to get to the Universal complex or you can take the quaint free ferry, which we did. Well worth a visit. If you stay ehre you get fast track passes to the attractions and early access too, very useful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank streakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Went to Universal over Christmas. We've stayed here before and again it was a good experience. Definitely worth staying on at one of the three hotels on the Universal property. The hotel was decorated beautifully for Christmas. Rooms are a nice size. Maid service very good. Public areas very nice.Pool is great -- very large with ample seating/lounging areas. Only complaint was slow service to pick up a rollaway bed from the room, but that was minor.
One plus is that they have self parking so you don't have to pay for valet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bux1
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Spent long weekend at Universal and stayed at the Hard Rock. Club level rooms are small but well kept. You can't beat the value- breakfast, snacks, pop wine and beer all included. It beats shelling out each time someone in the group wants something.
Awesome pool area--weather was too chilly to use, would have loved to. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Universal Parks. Perfect location--and no need for a car! Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssnagy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,327 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#34 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel
Hard Rock Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing