We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #47 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So convenient!”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it was awesome! The location cannot be beat. My husband and I are more universal/IOA/Harry Potter fans than Disney so this was perfect. Check in was awesome cuz the first thing i noticed: NO KIDS. Pretty magical in the land of children. We had them hang on to our luggage until our room opened up (got there at 11am). Cool thing is they text you when your room is ready (that was like, 3 on the dot). We didn't mind cuz we simply grabbed our flash pass, and caught the water taxi to Universal. I kid you not, we were done with this park in an HOUR. Easy Peasy. Had a nice lunch and hit up City walk while we waited. Two drinks in at Margaritaville and we got our room. The room was spacious and clean. Awesome Keurig machine and bathroom with 2 sinks. After we got situated we hit up the pool area. Relaxing, beautiful, and huge :). The drinks (though you get the glass with it) were SO expensive..I'm talking $15/drank. I had read about this so i was ready for it but MAN. Ouch. I highly suggest happy hour at the Velvet Lounge with $5 drinks...Me and hubby did power hour here and slammed back a few cuz 5 bux was looking RIGHT. The water taxi took us to Citywalk which was even more fun! I loved it throughly...delicious restaurants and lively. GREAT location; can't say it enough and we looooved the taxi. Now here comes the true reason I stayed here. As a hotel patron we got to go in to IOA/Harry Potter earlier than everyone else. Literally we were 2 our of 60 people in the HP section. It was EVERYTHING i dreamt of. We had time to explore the stores which are usually mobbed. Had a great English Breakfast w/ butterbeer at 3 broomsticks (1 is fine for 2 people if you want to save some bux). Rode the HP ride 3 times...running through the zig-zaggy lines happily like a 5 year old on pixie-stix. We conquered IOA/HP in 3 hours. Went back to the pool...then went BACK to the park and did it over again in even LeSS time. Staying here allowed us to do the rides and amusement park thing yet relax and decompress at the same time. As for getting to Disney-EASY cab is right outside and keep it moving. Awesome. I'd def. do this again in a heartbeat when i get kids. Such a carefee easy environment. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlieshaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,993
    2,138
    744
    338
    197
See reviews for
5,493
1,261
63
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We traveled to Orlando strickly to visit the two Universal Parks (primarily Wizarding World of Harry Potter). We stayed here for 4 nights. The staff was great - friendly, curteous, & helpful. Our room was clean & well attended to each day. We were put on the first floor - surrounded by rooms with dogs! I love dogs but would NEVER entertain the idea of bringing them on a vaction like this and locking them in a hotel room all day. One of the dogs was extremely yippy & we needed to report it twice. The staff offered to move us but the dog was checking out the next morning & I didn't feel like packing up our all of stuff after a fun filled day at the park. I do not know if all floors allow dogs but most definitly the first floor does so I would keep that in mind. The food at The Kitchen restaurant is great! We were pleasantly surprised. The breakfast buffet is HUGE & Roger at the bar makes a mean rum & coke (not for breakfast!). The pool is lovely w/ a great slide & two hot tubs plus a mini kiddie pool. The water taxi is great but does not run when storming - which it did alot while we were there. The walk to everything is not far & the paths are well maintained & labeled. Over all we enjoyed our stay. We did a package deal & staying on the property is worth it for the Express Pass alone. As they say in Hogwarts - it was "WANDerful"!

Room Tip: Hallway noise & barking dogs come right in on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sedonamoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Huge rooms, beautiful location, close walk or boat ride to city walk and the parks, good service. Big bonus was getting front of line access at the parks as an on site guest. Well worth while and not having to drive around was good. Good food choices ( we used cafe/ ice cream place) and the pool, slide and underwater piped music was rated very cool by our kids. A top stay!

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank thefunfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for your amazing feedback about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future! Rock on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at Hard Rock for 5 nights and originally chose it as it was close to Universal Studios. We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We had a King Suite with a queen connector which was very comfortable for the 4 of us. The kids loved the pool (even though its shallow) it has a great slide and movies on at night that the kids can watch in the pool. The Kitchen had a great breakfast buffet and Natasha at the Pool bar was lovely and very friendly and we enjoyed her company a few times. The free unlimited express pass was fantastic and I would imagine priceless when the parks are really busy. We never waited at all and the kids could go straight back on the ride if they wanted to. The water taxis were handy even though it's only a short walk to the parks it was pretty hot. Definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: Try to travel in off peak times I imagine it's pretty crazy in peak times
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We just returned from our stay at the Hard Rock in Universal Studios Orlando and it was awesome! They have a beautiful grand lobby, lots of music memorabilia, great places to eat, nice shops. The pool area was fantastic with a slide for the kids, live music, hot tubs, very relaxing. We had a garden view room which was nice sized and kept clean. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. It was a short 5 min walk to Universal Studios and City Walk or you could wait for a boat if you wanted. Overall the experience was wonderful and we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yyhill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for your fantastic feedback about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We are so glad that your stay went well and everyone was friendly and helpful! Hope to see you again! Rock on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Me and my husband will never stay at The Hard Rock again! Why you ask? Well I will keep it sweet and short. We had 2 cockroaches in our room! The cleaning staff is horrible! We travel often and this is the worst I have ever seen. I am disgusted! I had one crawling on my leg in the bathroom and my husband had one in his bed! I can go on about how gross the rooms were but just read other reviews and you will see. They say that cleanliness is so important to them but obviously they do nothing about it since we had the same issues that are mentioned in these reviews from previous years.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed there for 10 nights from the 20th Sept and were booked in a garden view room. We were put in a pool view room and on speaking to the front desk, we were immediately moved to a garden view room. The rooms are basic Orlando hotel room standard but the rest of the hotel is excellent. Music playing throughout the lifts and lounge and around the pool area. The bar staff were very helpful and friendly particularly Robert and Will who looked after us. We had to pay for parking on the hotel car park which averaged around ten dollars a day. Only minor complaint was the noise from adjoining rooms and corridors. There was a sign on Floor 1 asking guests to respect other guests peace and quiet but would have been helpful to have been placed on each corridor. Ten nights was probably a bit long to stay there but is worth a two to three night stay. Good location for easy access to City Walk and Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure.

Room Tip: We stayed in pool view room for one night and it can be noisy due to movie shown by pool or live mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidB986_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,805 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#34 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel
Hard Rock Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing