We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service is not dead”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #48 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Macon, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Customer Service is not dead”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

If you want to be treated like royalty, the Hard Rock Orlando is the place to go. I will not go into all the details, but staff, from the front desk. Concierge, wait staff, and the bartenders are sensational with customer service. They go out of there way to make it pleasant. I stayed at the boardwalk in Disney last year, but this exceeded even the famous Disney standards.

Room Tip: Concierge level is great, but floors are great. Plus free fast pass if you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,999
    2,138
    745
    338
    197
See reviews for
5,499
1,261
63
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for one night and were able to just walk in and make a reservation for that night. This was before the 4pm check in time, yet we were able to access the room straight away. Within the price of the room, you get express passes for use at Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure which would normally add about $70 each to the cost of park tickets. You can buy your tickets for the park from the concierge. The parks are a pleasant 5 minute walk away, through beautiful gardens although you can take advantage of the hotel's shuttle boat or rickshaw service (free except for a tip). The pool area was lovely and open until late, with a relaxed atmosphere. Bars and pool attendants are available. Inside the hotel there is dining and drinking options; we spent a few hours in the Velvet bar, which stayed open past its 1:30am close to serve us a last drink - excellent service! There are also plenty of bars, restaurants and shops by the parks. We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay and would definitely recommend staying here when visiting the parks.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetheelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in a standard room with partial view across the pool area. Main reason for this choice was because of the location. We had chosen not to hire a car so the ability to be walking distance from the parks was crucial.

Overall, this is an impressive hotel but lots of room for improvements and I am sure that they are successful based purely on location.

Costs of food and drinks are very high.

Room was of a good standard and included 2 double beds - this was a bit tight for 2 Adults and 2 teenagers for 2 weeks but manageable.

There were 2/3 occasions during our stay where private functions were taking place and these seemed to take priority. The whole reception area was closed off for these events and it did spoil things.

Pool area was good but always crowded and we struggled to get sunbeds during the afternoons.

Also disappointed with Virgin as there was no rep available in the resort and we were told to go along to another hotel for a welcome meeting but it was not in walking distance. This made us feel a little isolated.

Overall, an excellent location within walking distance to Universal. Good hotel but not 5*

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank perfectionists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Spent six nights with my girlfriend and loved it. Standard room had two beds, if king was available for standard room and a large tub was availalbe, it would be a 5 star candidate for me. Besides that, this resort had pretty much everything. Volleyball, plenty of room to sun, great pool, plenty of things to do. Catch Velvet Sessions if you get a chance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcman0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Just spent 4 days at the Hard Rock Orlando to start out our vacation. The ease of going to Universal, as well as early entry, fast pass (priceless) and having everything you need without leaving the resort as big benefits. The service, the room (Kid Suite) and the atmosphere, were perfect for our family of 5. My 9 year olds (yes, 3 of them) could navigate the property and pool at ease and felt special everywhere. LOVED!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skeldani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Loved staying at the Hard Rock Hotel in Early June. Booked here based on recommendations from Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. From the moment we walked in the door everyone was very helpful. Busboys will help unload your luggage and take to your room (will not let guest use luggage cart) and check in was very fast and easy. Fast pass machines were right next to check in but expect a drivers license type photo instead of a small portrait. When picking up tickets for universal, check at the concierge for information about the park and area activities. (Gary was awesome!) Hotel staff and surroundings more than made up for a slightly above average room.
After an afternoon rain storm, we decided to enjoy the pool instead of going back to the park. Pool area was large and very family friendly. Kids (15, 17) said the water slide landing area was very shallow but very safe for younger children. Pool only went to 4 foot with a beach type entry so it was easy to find a depth and just sit in the water. Hot tub felt great on tired muscles. The movie was a good idea but the sound was bad so you could not hear the words very well. We ordered from the pool area waiters and had a little snack while swimming and charged it to room. (18% surcharge added for tip before we ever saw the bill so know price will be higher than shown on menu. Also the only time we saw our waiter was when he handed us our bill so not happy about giving him such a big tip.) Fortunately the pool waiter was the only bad employee we encountered during our entire stay.
At night our room was very warm and after 2 nights we asked the front desk about the air condition. They volunteered to move us to another room or call engineering to fix the problem. We decided to try and fix the air in our room since we had objects from the park being delivered the next day. The gentleman on the phone said that each room has a motion sensor and the cooling system turns off when movement stops. They were able to manually override the system so that the room stayed cool even when we slept. Had heard about this issue from a previous review but forgot until the second warm night. If you are a person who sleeps better in colder temperatures, ask early in your stay about turning off the room sensor.
The gift shop had a large selection of items but it was fun to just walk around and look at all the rock and roll memorabilia. Found the ice cream shop one afternoon and I can recommend the cookie dough/brownie ice cream. So many things to do around the Hotel, we almost felt we didn't get our money out of our stay since we spent so much time at the parks. Take time to explore the hotel, all the shops and restaurants, and beautiful tropical surrounding.

Room Tip: Hallways are long so ask for room 1/2 way down hall. Rooms overlooking garden area are less expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksg-Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

What a fabulous hotel, we spent 6 nights at port Orleans before moving here for two nights. We visited with our 5 and 11 year old and grandparents.
Loved the room, ate in the restaurant (the kitchen ) on two occasions although we found it expensive. I had booked a meal at the city walk but couldn't get there with two young kids due to torrential rain!
Fabulous location within walking distance of the parks.
Spent half day at universal then back to the hotel pool (great pool) for a break and got up early for the extra hour at islands of adventure and Harry potter which was worth the extra money to stay here. We had bought wands and done the Harry potter rids by 9.15 am. The priority pass was fabulous, lines were an hour long but we walked straight on some or had little wait.
Would definitely return as the rides were great although I found that universal suited the 11 year old more so than the 5 year old this time but great time had by all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmbug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,808 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#26 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#34 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel
Hard Rock Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing