We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome for families with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #45 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome for families with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My expectations were low after we had been at Disney World for 5 days. I thought the hotel would be loud and rowdy and we would be out of place with 3 young children. Wow I was wrong. Everyone we encountered was so super friendly and helpful. They all were genuinely happy to be there doing their jobs. The kids were welcomed and made to feel comfortable at all times. We loved it and would choose Universal and Hard Rock over Disney any day

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
1 Thank Devin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,915
    2,110
    737
    335
    193
See reviews for
5,417
1,237
63
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Hard Rock is close to the Universal parks. You get the benefit of early admission to Hogwarts and you get free Express Pass. The rooms are great and comfortable. Staff are good. The pool is awesome. We stayed four nights. We could not complain about cleanliness or service. However, our room was HOT. The AC would not cool down. After sweating all day I like a cool room. So, if you like a "hot" experience then stay here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Wayne P. - Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Hard Rock. While we're delighted to hear that the service and pool were awesome, we are disheartened to hear that there were troubles with the air conditioner. After being out in the Florida sun, we understand the need to relax and cool off in your room. Please be assured that your comments have been passed along to our engineering team so that we can ensure the issue is not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pataskala
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a wonderful resort/hotel. Great customer service from check in to check out. Staff is friendly and seem to really like their job. The DJ at the pool was terrific, and movies at night was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Without doubt this is a hotel worthwhile staying in for any holiday that includes a visit to universal studios- the free fast passes change your whole experience for the better. And of course this is a beautiful hotel.

However, we came here to celebrate one of the most special occasions of our lives so far and picked this place because I had stayed here before with my family and I thought they would be the ones to make us feel that way. Now I know that hotels are under no obligation to give you free upgrades or anything like that, but this is an expensive place, who knew we were on honeymoon so a card in our room or some rose petals on the bed would have sufficed. Unfortunately there was nothing. I saw my new husbands face crinkle in confusion and he told me that he had actually emailed in advance to ask them to arrange champagne and strawberries for our room and that he would sort out payment separately as it was a surprise for me. Even that was ignored! I did complain about this the next day and it was sorted, but it did make me feel like I had to beg to be treated right! Something that's very frustrating in a place were you can't eat in peace without 10 members of wait staff making a massive deal about someone's birthday!

The front desk staff generally treated me as if I was stupid, bar one lovely lady (wish I remembered her name). All the bar staff and restaurant staff are fantastic, but of course all the bars are very expensive.

I wasn't overly impressed with the room itself- pretty standard of an economy hotel- and we had some problems with feathers not being removed from the room. Towels weren't cleaned properly, if at all, but toiletries were always well stocked. On another strange housekeeping note- the halls don't get cleaned regularly enough and we know this because a couple of doors down from us in the hall sat a chicken bone and a couple of crackers for two days!

The pool here is amazing- the slide is actually so much fun and we loved the dive in movies. It's open to 11pm so it meant we could get a decent swim after an evening out.

The awesome pool, friendly bar staff and close proximity to universal make this a hotel you really don't want to leave much. Just as well though, because unless you have a car and are paying for parking there they don't make it easy for you to get anywhere! There are no really close bus stops and they don't do shuttles to other attractions and the taxis are luxury vehicles and very expensive. I recommend doing what we did and splitting your trip between this hotel and another one on i-drive.

We are planning another trip back to Orlando next year already and I do think we will be back at the hard rock- we are thinking of trying another universal resort to see if they understand the importance of encouraging repeat visits.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Lisa B. - Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hard Rock Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel. It is however dishearenting to hear that we were not able to create a memorable rock star experience for you and your husband on such a special occasion. We hope that you will return to the hotel in 2015 so that we can ensure a flawless stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at the hard rock hotel. Kids and adults both enjoyed the pool and pool area. Was a great place to relax after a day at the parks. The proximity to universal studios was a huge benefit. We did not get in our car after parking. We did have a couple of issues that were easily resolved. Paid for parking but computer were down at check in. Had to pay parking again to get out, but was easily credited. Also, room rate on final bill was not what we booked for. Again easily corrected with a phone call to customer service prior to check out. Overall a great place and we all look forward to going back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glezell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Glezell - I'm sorry for any inconvienience caused by the issues you mentioned. It's great to see your time at the Hard Rock Hotel rocked! We're looking forward to having you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 25th May 14 ripped me off from the start picked up my free car hire from Alamo not free at all $400 insurance got to the hotel had to pay parking $20 each day + tax asked about my free park tickets nope not free $400 room was overlooking the garbage collection point not recommended

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Absolutely loved the Hard Rock! I stayed as part of a business trip and was pleasantly surprised at how cool the property is. Great music; friendly staff; great value. I Will stay there every time I go to Orlando.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Jacqueline M - You Rock! We couldn't had said it better ourselves. Whether you are here for business, a family vacation or just a night out, the Hard Rock Hotel can provides a unique rock star experience for every guest. We look forward to your next visit very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#20 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,714 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#34 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel
Hard Rock Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing