We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #39 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went to be with my 11 year old grand daughter while my son had a business trip.
Everything was excellent!
We enjoyed the water tours from the hotel to Universal Studios and the wonderful shops and restaurants in the hotel and all around on the City Walk and other.
We relaxed in the pool often between tours and had an awesome time.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the olive trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAVYCAPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,123 - 5,129 of 9,213 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this property for 3 nights and it was excellent from check-in to check-out. A lovely woman named Alexis checked us in and because our connecting rooms weren't ready (we arrived at 1, well ahead of check-in) she offered to upgrade us to 2 pool view rooms, which worked out perfectly, as the kids could see some of the rides at Universal.

We looked at staying at Cabana Bay (but you don't get the Quick pass and it is farther away) as well as the other two properties on-site and decided on HR - we are very happy with that decision. You don't feel like you are staying at a theme park, this is truly a Hard Rock hotel. You can see the park and city walk if you are on one of the higher floors, but you don't hear it, and you don't get any traffic from the park in the hotel.

Conclusion: I would stay here again, no question. Good room, great staff, fabulous access, family friendly (7 & 10 yr old), good food options, good wi-fi connection.

I will start with the Cons:
The hotel shows needs a little care, but given how many people stay at the hotel, it is not in bad shape at all. I notice everything, and I thought the room was in solid condition.
Pool service staff was very friendly, but on two of the three days they appeared to be short staffed and it was easier to go to the bar/restaurant and order food. Not a big deal at all.
Early entry is only for Harry Potter, as the rest of the park is closed, FYI & not a hotel issue.

Pros:
Rooms are comfortable, 4 people can live in a double/double, although the room is on the smaller size.
The mini-fridges are now empty, so you can store your own drinks/snacks in our room
The pool staff (lifeguards, activities staff, waiters) was exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The Pool entertainment is great for families. The DJ ran contests for adults and kids, the music was current but the radio edited version, the vibe was great. The dive-in movies are great and ran every night while we were there.
The 3 restaurants were good (one at the pool, The Kitchen, and the coffee/ice cream/morning grab a quick bite place). Room service was exceptionally fast and the food was good.
Proximity to the park. We walked and it took us 10 mins tops to Island of Adventure. The water taxi is great for the way home and drops you about 500 feet from the pool gate. They also have bike carriages you can take, for tip only, and they are super fast and fun for the kids.
Proximity to Citywalk. It is right there, but yet far enough away that you don't hear it or see any of the people.
Quick pass is worth it. We walked on to all the rides. It was so much better than the Disney Fast pass system.
Early entry to Harry Potter. We arrived at the park at 8am and waited 20 mins for the HP ride, while the dueling coaster and flight of the Hipogriff had no lines. We rode this ride once each day and then did the other two several times, all before the park opened. We left HP each day at 9am and the rest of the park was empty until close to 10, since everyone goes to HP first to try and avoid the lines.
Self park is very close to the hotel and offers in/out privileges.
Bell staff was awesome! The gentleman who brought up our luggage gave our kids a rundown of how best to do the park and his tips were helpful.
Conceirage staff helpful with golf reservations for grandpa.
Purchases in the park can be sent back to the hotel. Note - they don't arrive until the next morning. Great option if you want to purchase something early while at HP early entry.

Room Tip: Pool view/Park view, if you have kids that want to see the rides. On nights they have concerts in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbtravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I had a wonderful time at this hotel, definitely will do Club Level next time, Concierge was very helpful in helping me obtain extra Insulin in an emergency for my son. Arranged a call and visit to the nearest pharmacy so that we could go on with our vacation. Excellent room service food, clean rooms, I had nothing to worry about while I was here, whomever writes bad reviews about this hotel? The whole time I was there I was shaking my head at any bad reviews. Wow I didn't get it. My only complaint I would have to say is the reservation desk staff, I didn't find them to be as knowledgeable about what is going on. Don't exactly remember the specifics, but I was concerned that if I don't know what is going on and they don't know what is going on, well who does?? Overall Excellent stay! Loved it!

Room Tip: Definitely stay Club Level, Lots of food and drinks at no charge, even a happy hour, will save you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amberlynn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

amberlynn72 - Great to hear that your time at the Hard Rock rocked! We apologize for any inconvienence the gap in knowledge from the reservation desk staff may have caused you. By the sound of things, our concierge staff was able to make sure that anything you needed was within reach. I'm glad you had an excellent stay - we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for two weeks on our honeymoon, lovely hotel, great location, really couldnt be any closer to Universal Studios (5 min walk). Express passes for Universal theme parks were included as part of our stay and a great bonus we didnt expect, really worth their wieght in gold. Wouldnt stay anywhere else if wanting to enjoy the Universal theme parks and surrounding city walk. Easy enough to get from the hotel onto International Drive with an iride stop about 15min walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
1  Thank A. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

A.K. - Wow! Two rockers on their honeymoon! Thank you for choosing to spend such a special event here with us at the Hard Rock hotel. We hope this will become tradition for you two and that we will have you as our guests for many years to come! Congratulations from all of us here at the Hard Rock Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have stayed in a Disney "Deluxe" property and The Hard Rock surpassed our experience there and surpassed our expectations! Florida residents probably don't think about spending money at a hotel because we live so close, but it was a great and very worthwhile investment! You get a nice discount and unlimited Express Passes that come FREE with the room. That was in and of itself a huge benefit as it saved us, a family of 4, $503 over two days and the ones you purchase are only good for one time per ride. Standing on line for hours in 90 something heat with 100% humidity is no fun!!! The Express passes were a key factor, but the quality of the room was fabulous as well. Plus the Hard Rock is closest to City Walk (where we had dinner and hung out in the evening) and there are water taxis that take you directly to the hub of city walk between both parks.

The pool and water slide were awesome too! Listening to music underwater and created memories that will last a lifetime riding on the slide and playing in the pool with our kids made everything complete. We will definitely be staying at the Hard Rock and/or other properties in the future!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi Alex B. - Thank you for sharing your expereinces here at the Hard Rock Hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We strive to create once in a lifetime rock star experiences for every guest that walks through our door and we are thrilled to hear that your family has made memories that will last a lifetime. We hope you will be back with us soon! Rock On -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel was beautiful. All areas had wonderful food. My 16 year old son enjoyed the underwater music. Every single employee was outstanding. They each made us feel like rock stars. So much to do even when it rained.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Joyce - Thank you for the perfect 5 star review. We are the only hotel in Orlando with an underwater sound system so that we can keep the vibe flowing whether you are on land or underwater! It's always a big hit with first time Hard Rockers. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Despite the rain and thunderstorm, our stay was one of our best ever. Seems like this hotel gets more and more service oriented each time we visit. The rooms were apparently newly renovated and immaculate. I highly suggest staying at the Club Level (Rock Royalty) It is worth the little extra charged.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
2  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Maureen C. - Always a pleasure to have you with us at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We are having some "work" done off and on this year to stay fresh and enhance the rock star experience for our guests. We're thrilled you loved the new look of your room. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 341 in Orlando
4,635 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 341 in Orlando
1,519 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#32 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £197 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel
Hard Rock Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing