We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, worth the money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #46 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
239 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great hotel, worth the money!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We loved this hotel.It is very hip and fun. They checked us in early they also gave my son a bag stuffed with candy for his birthday!we loved the cd that came with the room too.We loved the rock memorabilia around the hotel.The rooms are very modern & comfortable.The pool area was really great for the kids.Lot's of activities, video games by the pool was the kids faviorte.The kids loved the ice cream, which they my special for our birthday celebration.The hotel can be a little loud, but we didnt mind.It is also pricey but worth the extra money.(universal is next door & the universal express axcess is included with your room).You will pay for parking everyday .This is a great hotel for couples or familys with older kids.We will defintly go back!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluekarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,999
    2,138
    746
    338
    197
See reviews for
5,500
1,261
63
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

It was I think about our fourth stay at Hard Rock Hotel Orlando. This time we stayed for a couple of nights during our trip to Orlando. We always stay when we want to go to Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure as you get Fast Pass included with your room rate (room keycard accesses it). Its right onsite at Universal and a fun hotel. The kids love it so do I. It has such a friendly funky atmosphere. We stay on club level 7 so get snacks/drinks included but I will be honest over the years we have seen whats provided decline a fair bit! However its still good to have a snack/drink etc. The rooms are nice and we have stayed in many different types. The pool is lovely and the kids love the slide. There is always entertainment and something going on. There is a real holiday/party atmosphere. The staff are friendly and helpful. We ate in their restaurant " The Kitchen" and the food was great. Nice to have proper food of a near normal portion size not the usual huge OTT portion! I would suggest you see how much it is to stay there if you are getting fast passes as they are quite expensive and it may only work out a little bit more to stay at the hotel which is definately worth it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We have a large family, so we had two adjoining rooms. We arrived early, and though our rooms weren't ready we were issued our keys so we could utilize the Express Pass feature at the adjacent Universal Theme Parks. The ability to use your room key to cut to the front of nearly every attraction/show is outstanding. The fact this is included in the price of the room more than justifies the price difference between this and other Orlando area lodging. As our rooms became available the hotel called our cell phone to let us know which was a nice touch. The rooms are fresh and outfitted with trendy but comfortable furniture, Plasma TVs, and iPod compatible alarm clocks. The only negative was that our room was a 'Las Vegas mega hotel like' hike from the lobby/elevator.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMajestyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I stayed for three nights earlier this month with my husband and teenage daughter. This was our first experience of Orlando and the Hard Rock was a good start. I booked a garden view room but actually had a pool view from the forth floor. The room was a good size and eveything was clean and in working order. The down side of this location was the long walk from the lobby. There was no noise from the rather over air-conditioned corridors and the staff were friendly without being over attentive.

The hotel is in an excellent location for access to Universal and only a short walk way. There are also free water taxis which are good for a quick getaway when the rain starts. The hotel room key also gives front of line access to the rides at both Universal parks.

The pool area was busy with family groups when we were there. The pool itself is very shallow and the underwater sound system isn't worth all the publicity. If you are looking for a rock star experience the pool probably isn't the place to find it.

I don't think you should have to pay to park at a hotel of this standard, but you do, and it costs $15/day for self parking. The bellperson will look after your bags while you park the car. We had dinner one night at The Kitchen which was a little over priced but the food was of a reasonably good standard and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist_or_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Harbour Beach, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

My husband and I recently stayed here after a concert at Hard Rock Live. The hotel is a very short walk from Citywalk and the Universal Parks - the location can't be beat. However, for the price you pay the rooms are pretty average. We stayed in a king on the fifth floor with a connecting door, though which we could clearly hear our neighbors - not something you'd expect for a $300/night. The pool area was nice and the grounds are beautiful, but they do seem to nickel and dime you - $15/day for self parking and $5 for a soda and chips.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realityaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol, tn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My kids loved it, it was beautiful, but the prices were just ridiculous , my husband ordered a crown and a beer and it was 20 some dollars, my son got a slushie it was like $14.00, they add 18% gratuity to everything , whether you get good or bad service. We rented a cabana the last day, with this rental you are supposed to recieve a fruit basket, we were their forty-five minutes when my husband had to go to the front desk to get a waiter, we had to go to the bar at least 2 more times to place and order , but we still had to pay 18% gratuity. After we returned home , told hotel management about how unfair prices were and how bad our service was the day we rented the cabana, he said he was sorry and they would review their prices. That's it . Really a great , classy hotel, but $300.00 a night for just 2 beds and a bathroom ,, is way to much in this economy, even though we can afford it , it was a one time thing for us, felt like we were burning money. Going to St. Pete, in 2 weeks, Hard Rock is owned by Lowe's hotels, made sure we aren't staying at Lowe's hotel that is there.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelsalot4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I've paid less and have had more included in Maui.
Additional charges for EVERYTHING most hotels include. i.e. miro wave, small frig, WiFi.
The room had no ventilation to outside air. No fans, no open windows,only a small (the size of 2 pac of cigarettes) above the tub and that had NO FAN. My grandchildren to ill during the night and the stench from vomit and diaarea was impossible get rid of. The stale, stagnant air was choaking us. The prices at the bars and hotel Restaurant (The Kitchen) were outrageuos. If you lodge here, take lots of $$$$$.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meldona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,810 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#26 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#34 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel
Hard Rock Hotel At Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing