We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old dependable Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Ranked #161 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good old dependable Holiday Inn”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Good place to stay if you're going to Universal Studios Orlando.

What's good:
1. The breakfast is good. Opens at 6AM, I think.
2. The room si nice and clean.
3. Channel selection is OK

What's not so good:
1. Don't depend on the shuttle going to Universal. Seats are limited (Book early) and it picks you up a bit late than what we wanted it to be.
2. No convenience store in the immediate area to get your junk food and other necessities. Need to walk a bit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jovanpuyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the review! The Universal shuttle is operated by Universal Studio's and departs at scheduled times depending on the park hours. If the shuttle is not available a taxi is just $8 one way to the parks. We do have guests that walk however it will take 20 minutes. There is a Walgreens in the shopping strip just in front of the hotel, plus several restaurants within walking distance. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    397
    136
    36
    34
See reviews for
408
234
39
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel: adequate, nice lobby, clean, ample parking, nice pool, staff was a little ambivalent, they did what they had to do, no extras.

Room: small, one of the double beds was so close to the wall I hit my arm while sleeping. The bathroom door slides into the wall as there is no room for a conventional hinge door.

The walk to Universal is easily 2kms or well over a mile, so the shuttle is a good thing. The reservation counter for shuttles is only open 7:15 to 12:00 noon, and booking for the same day for early access to Universal, well if you're lucky, no one else booked it...

OK hotel.

If you can swing it, I would maybe try the new Universal resort, it closer and much nicer.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank leblanc0155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express location near Universal. We appreciate the detailed review, and do hope you will give us another try. We have suites that are larger than our standard rooms, and equipped with microwave and refrigerator. The Universal shuttle has added more departures times to the park for our guests. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I want to say that stay at your Hotel for Easter Holiday. I must from the moment i check in the hotel i was greeted by a young lady named Doris. She is a Star. But want really i want to Thank her to tell her they way she was with the kids for Easter Sunday. She hide Easter Eggs in breakfast area and was with the kids enjoying herself. First time i have stood in a Hotel a had this experience. Again Doris you a a Great Asset to this Company i will be back

Room Tip: In the middle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYDIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Lydia,

Thank you for spending the Easter Holiday at our Holiday Inn Express. Doris was thrilled to read your comments! She had as much fun as the kids with the Easter egg hunt. We appreciate the great review! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed for four nights this week. From the time we entered the hotel through our departure this morning we had a great experience. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast which is included was good and better than many free breakfasts I have had in the past. The hotel is not as close to Universal as I had originally thought, but still pretty close and we walked there a few times. Overall, I a good hotel for the price. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Erica,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our hot breakfast, and we are pleased to hear you rated us above the others. We hope to see you again. Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Pros: Near universal studios, free breakfast, free parking, free shuttle to universal studios

Cons: Breakfast gets crowded (no chairs/tables available if you get there late), rooms are small, shuttle is run by another company and needs to be scheduled separately.

We stayed during the busy Easter Week April 2014 -

Overall, we were happy with the hotel because of the value and proximity to Universal studios. It was near universal and even on the days we "missed" the shuttle (i.e. the shuttle arrived earlier than scheduled and missed us), we were able to take a cheap taxi to the park. The front desk staff were very helpful whenever asked for help.

The rooms were very small for 2 adults and 2 small children, but were clean. The rest of the facilities appeared adequate. The breakfast was a plus, the typical continental fare and they had scrambled eggs and sausage available.

There is a Wendys next door (walking distance) which was a life saver for Frostys late at night.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevators would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for spending your Easter Holiday week with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the stay and we hope to see you again. Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel was nice and the location wasn't bad. We originally wanted to stay at the other Holiday Inn closer to Universal, but it had no rooms available. We stayed there overnight during the week of Easter. When we checked into the hotel the frontdesk staff was very nice. We checked out our room and were pleased with it, not big but the size is fine for the two of us. I gave it a 3 out of 5 being nice and the shower had great pressure. We called the front desk because the tv didn't work. They said someone would be up shortly, they never should up. So after 3 hours we called again and they would send someone again. I fixed the tv myself, the cox ail cable was loose. Next there were no outlets to charge your phone. I had to unplug lamps to charge our phones. The worst part is the hotel is next to a In Home Suites, which is a cheap hotel that charges weekly and gets questionable people because it's cheap. My girlfriend witness a drug deal happen by the hotel sign. Then the dealer proceeded to walk around the Holiday Inn parking lot and looking in cars. Definitely will not be staying at this facility again, may just cancel the trip instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. We sincerely apologize that your TV issue was not corrected immediately, as this is not the service we strive to deliver. As far as the outlets we will be adding additional outlet modems in the near future. Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here one night - planned on staying three nights. Unfortunately the room was next to the elevator and the ice machine, so I got very little sleep. Since the hotel was full, I didn't even try to change rooms, especially since I was already annoyed. I checked out and went a mile away to the Crowne Plaza. The room cost was only a couple dollars more but the service was spectacular. (I'm a Gold IHG member, so I know IHG properties quite well).

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the elevator! ... or ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AskDickWagner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We were disappointed to hear the room did not meet with your expectations. We apologize and had we known we would have done our best to change your room to a another location in the hotel. We are happy you were able to find another IHG property for the remainder of your stay. Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#113 of 339 in Orlando
646 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Florida Center
Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn
#54 of 339 in Orlando
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Address: 5605 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7960 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites @ Univ Studios)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Orlando
#155 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Closest Holiday Inn Express Hotel to Universal Orlando Just steps away from Universal Studios and 10 minutes from the Orlando Convention Center, our central Orlando hotel offers both comfort and convenience. If you are looking for lodging near Orlando theme parks, look no further than our charming Orlando hotel, conveniently located at the intersection of Florida s Turnpike and I-4. Easy access to popular Orlando attractions like Walt Disney World Resort and SeaWorld Orlando and Aquatica. Cruise International Drive, also known as I-Drive , for the best shopping, restaurants and entertainment in Orlando. Prime Outlets, Festival Bay, and Mall at Millenia are all five minutes away. Also, we are only 15 minutes away from downtown Orlando. During your Orlando business trip, you will be impressed with the accommodations our Orlando hotel provides. Our Universal hotel is conveniently located near the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center and is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Orlando, FL. While vacationing in Orlando, enjoy several hotel amenities including free high-speed Internet access, pool heated (seasonally) and hot breakfast buffet. Book your reservation today and enjoy our great Orlando hotel deals and rates. Must be 21 years of age with valid credit card at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Holiday Inn Express Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing