We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Ranked #172 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Thank you, Lucas and all of the staff that provided caring service here. We will definitely return someday, soon I hope.
The rooms are beautiful, lobby and hallways very clean. Pool and breakfast look great.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the elevator are also nearest to the vending. Rooms with an even number don't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFloridaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for the great review! Lucas delivers great service. Thank you for mentioning his name. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights recently while on business. Staff was very friendly and hotel was very clean. The hotel was well maintained and has been kept up very well. Room was also very clean. Breakfast buffet was clean and well maintained. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Mark,

Thank you for spending your 2 nights in Orlando at our Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate the nice review and our team will be thrilled to read your comments. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Loved staying here! So clean and comfortable, great location, awesome staff and delicious hot breakfast! Will definitely stay here again! Traveling with 3 kids, 1 of which is a toddler. (We are from Tampa so not a long drive!) We have stayed at several different resorts and hotels in Orlando and this was definitely one that we will come back too.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Margaret,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express and we look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Most of the hotels including this one in the contract with Super Star Shuttles. My spouse and I had one problem after the next with them and were not able to get a solution from the shuttle management or the hotel. Our fist morning there, we got up early and were in the shuttle ticket line (behind 1 person) when it opened at 7:15. We needed to catch the 7:30 shuttle. The ticket lady spent 15 minutes on the first customer because she put the wrong order in the system and then had to refund it. At 7:30 she said oh if you need the 7:30 shuttle you're too late. We said we'd been second in line since 7:15. She said, well I was helping a customer. Which wasn't even true because she was screwing up a customers order. Talk about complete incompetence. If they are unable to get customers onto the 7:30 shuttle they need to stop offering it. When we addressed this issue to the front desk, hey were rude and unresponsive. Our next incident happened as we tried to catch the shuttle from seaworld to universal. The shuttle was supposed to depart at 5:55. We saw it from a distance and ran to catch it. We arrived on the shuttle at 5:52. We sat down and waited. At 6:10 we asked the driver when he was leaving and he said not till 6:45. So we called super star shuttle management and they said they couldn't do anything about it. The driver was lazy didnt want to run the shuttle for only two people and the management did not care. So we had to sit there until the 6:25 shuttle rolled in and we changed buses and took that ine instead. Super star shuttles is the picture of incompetent management and the hotels that contract with them are likewise incompetent for allowing these poor business practices to continue. As long as the offered shuttle service is superstar, I can bot recommend staying here and I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpost04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello,

We were disappointed to read your comments about the shuttle service. Normally the shuttle is a smooth operation and runs at the set scheduled times. I apologize for the lack of response from our team as this is not the service we strive to deliver. The shuttle is operated by Universal Studio's and I will share your comments with their management for immediate improvement. Thank you for staying with us, and please be assured we will follow up with Universal on your experience with the shuttle service. Have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel overall is very nice and clean but the main highlight is the staff. We stayed at the intercontinental in New York just prior to our stay at the HI express Orlando and the staff there were not helpful or welcoming so it was nice to actually have some staff that care about their guests. Ruthie was lovely and helped us out with getting our passports from New York as we had left them in the safe there. She rang the hotel and made sure they had posted them and let them know that we were not happy with the service we got from them. As soon as we had started to tell her about our horrible experience there she did all of the above without us even asking, she was amazing and overly helpful. My mum got quite sick and the staff there all knew so one staff member Kristina put together a little bag of chocolates and tea bags with some balloons for her that were in our room when we returned later that day, it really made my mums day knowing that someone else cared about how she felt. Lucas one of the night staff was always friendly when we returned in the evening asking us about our day and giving us good tips. Marie was also lovely with her dinner tips and just to have a chat too. All of the staff at this hotel were amazing I could go on listing all the nice things that they did for us. The rooms are quite small but the beds are comfortable and everything is clean and tidy; we didn't spend much time in the room only for sleeping as we were out all day at parks so we were happy with what we had. The breakfast is free so I assumed it would just be some toast and cereal but you get everything. Eggs, bacon, scones, pastries, toast, muffins, donuts, cereal and more. The breakfast staff are also very nice and were happy to get me anything I asked for. The pool is quite nice its very modern and clean for an outdoor pool. The bus service for universal does come every 15mins or so but it does fill up pretty quickly at peak times so get in early to book a seat, however the bus driver didn't mind us standing so we just crammed in which saved us walking. When we asked the staff to call us a taxi they don't call a meter taxi its more like a private car service which just charge you a flat rate. This worked out to be cheaper than a taxi with a running meter and the cars were a lot nicer and the drivers are very friendly. Overall I was so happy with my experience at this hotel and the staff definitely made it memorable. After our experience at the intercontinental which is meant to be 4-5 star we didn't expect much from a holiday inn as their reputation isn't as high as the InterContinental's is, but in my opinion this hotel is of much higher quality than the intercontinental. It really goes to show how much of an impact staff can have on how good or bad your stay is. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would stay here again. Thank you to all of the staff at this hotel we will remember you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lydgrace02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for the very nice review. We appreciate that you shared in so much detail. Ruthie, Kristina, Marie and Lucas were very happy to read your review as was the rest of the team.
We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you in the future. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great location, great value, and the customer service I received was outstanding!

Great location, it is very close to the Universal Studios & Islands of Adventure theme parks. You could walk to the attractions (if you wanted to). The hotel also has a contracted shuttle service to get you to and from the parks.

The hotel is a good value! However, be prepared for a small-ish pool by Florida standards & small washrooms/bathrooms. The rooms were very clean. However, in my opinion, your not here to hangout at the hotel or in your room. Therefor, the room was great. The hotel also offers a complimentary breakfast. Just remember to leave the staff a small tip. After all, they clean up after you ( and your kids ).

Now for the customer service, I had a small problem with the air conditioning in the room. The staff went beyond what I would call reasonable to ensure the matter was handled quickly. I was so impressed by they way they handled it, I would gladly stay there again!

Thanks for a wonderful stay. I'll be back soon. Thanks again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank TravelinTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi Todd,

Thank you for the great review. Our team will be thrilled to read your comments. I am pleased to hear your AC issue was rectified in a timely manner. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Overall ok place. Average rooms (perhaps slightly smaller)
Bed seemed slightly comfy.
Reasonable cost.

Just as good as the lousy DoubleTree down the road, and it is cheaper and you do not have to pay for parking.

Did I mention powered eggs? Bleah.
Saving grace is it is nearby Junior's Columbian Burger, FTW.

Room Tip: Ask of for a higher floor. You may be able to see Downtown Orlando. Oh Joy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr-H-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Katy,

Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express location. We appreciate your comments. I do want to clarify regarding the eggs. The scrambled eggs are not powdered, and actually come prepackaged and we heat and serve. Thanks again and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Closest to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#129 of 340 in Orlando
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando

Address: 5605 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7960 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites @ Univ Studios)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Orlando
#152 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £83 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Closest Holiday Inn Express Hotel to Universal Orlando Just steps away from Universal Studios and 10 minutes from the Orlando Convention Center, our central Orlando hotel offers both comfort and convenience. If you are looking for lodging near Orlando theme parks, look no further than our charming Orlando hotel, conveniently located at the intersection of Florida s Turnpike and I-4. Easy access to popular Orlando attractions like Walt Disney World Resort and SeaWorld Orlando and Aquatica. Cruise International Drive, also known as I-Drive , for the best shopping, restaurants and entertainment in Orlando. Prime Outlets, Festival Bay, and Mall at Millenia are all five minutes away. Also, we are only 15 minutes away from downtown Orlando. During your Orlando business trip, you will be impressed with the accommodations our Orlando hotel provides. Our Universal hotel is conveniently located near the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center and is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Orlando, FL. While vacationing in Orlando, enjoy several hotel amenities including free high-speed Internet access, pool heated (seasonally) and hot breakfast buffet. Book your reservation today and enjoy our great Orlando hotel deals and rates. Must be 21 years of age with valid credit card at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Holiday Inn Express Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing